Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Florida Cookery Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Florida Cookery

Florida Cookery, fully expresses the food culture of Miami. Unadorned by "influence" statements or backgrounds it accepts the multi-national, multi- regional, multi influence culture that is Miami, rolls it up and unabashedly brings "Miami, to Miami".
18 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
(18 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
(2)
4 stars
(4)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Service 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(5)
  • fit for foodies(4)
  • good for groups(4)
  • great for lunch(4)
  • kid-friendly(3)
  • neighborhood gem(3)
Florida Cookery Reviews List
Review 1 for Florida Cookery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Florida Cookery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Completely overrated/overpriced, beware surcharge

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We saw this restaurant listed in a "10 best of miami beach" article. It must have been outdated or the restaurant bribed the author. The hotel where the restaurant is housed is beautiful in all the ways one would expect of a nice Miami Beach hotel. We ordered the jambalaya for two persons ($55), and though the pan that was brought to our table was impressive looking, the carpet of rice was chewy (perhaps it's supposed to be), and the chicken and shrimp had very little flavor. The andouille sausage, fortunately, offered something in the way of (charred) taste. The profitability margins on that dish must be huge. The real downer was the bill. After we paid, it struck as that the total was way too high. I asked to view the bill again, thinking they must have forgotten to delete a side item that they'd forgotten to bring us (fortunately). No. It was the 18% gratuity (on a party of TWO? Seriously?), in addition to our $25 tip. I expressed shock, and the waiter said he forgot to tell us -- that he always makes it a point to point this out to guests. I had them remove our tip, of course. Slimy way to do business. Maybe it's on the menu, and we just missed it."
Dined on 3/16/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Florida Cookery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Great food but no service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great kitchen, terrible service. Our baby octopus with watermelon Brule was delicious, as was my jambalaya. The service was non-existent. I actually had to get up to find someone to give us water even hough the place was empty."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Florida Cookery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sweet Place to Eat

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Enjoyed our meals at the FC. We stayed at the St. James so it was very convenient to go downstairs to the restuarant for lunch ,dinner and drinks. The meals were tasty but a bit on the small size. The staff was very friendly and service good."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Florida Cookery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderfully hidden spot!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Innovative food in great setting! Lunch in the patio was fantastic. Kids loved the desserts. Serbice was great too!
Thumbs up.
"
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Florida Cookery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The service was very slow and uneven. Sometimes drinks had a garnish, sometimes not. We were hungry when we arrived and asked for some bread right away while we looked at the menu. The hostess promised right away, as did the waiter and manager. Fifteen minutes later, corn muffins arrived. Food was uneven. Salmon sliders were good, but a shrimp appetizer was glutinous and unappealing. The "hot" soup arrived barely warm. A very disappointing lunch experience."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Florida Cookery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Erratic Food Preparation

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Sometimes the food is well prepared but other times it is not.
Not reliably good.
"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Florida Cookery
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
3 out of 10 recommend this product
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate