Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

American Tap Room - Rockville Reviews List

American Tap Room - Rockville

This is American Regional Cuisine at its classic, pub-inspired best. The food is fun and what we like to call “approachable”. You’ll also enjoy some twists on the classics with taste-inspired ideas like our Dirty Caesar Salad and Greek Turkey Burger. At the American Tap Room we believe in using local ingredients as much as possible and, yes, everything we serve goes well with beer.

Ranging from weekend brunch, to a casual lunch outing or an after-work gathering in our bar, each dining experience is uniquely enjoyable.

Enjoy your time with us on our outdoor patio, inside by the fireplace, or by booking a private event.
See more American Tap Room - Rockville details
99 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
(99 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 99 reviews
5 stars
(16)
4 stars
(39)
3 stars
(23)
2 stars
(16)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2.8 / 5
(Good) 2.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(26)
  • neighborhood gem(21)
  • great for lunch(19)
  • kid-friendly(14)
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • great for brunch(11)
American Tap Room - Rockville Reviews List
Review 1 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Marginal

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2006
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2006
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We showed up for our reservation right on time, but no table available, so we sat in the bar instead. About the only thing that was good was the beer...the food was simply atrocious, even for "pub grub" and so heavily salted that my two teenagers didn't finish their dinners. After we complained to our wait staff, we heard crickets...no discount, no apologies,nothing. Full bill...well, sure, that will build future customer interest...
Just stay away..."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2003
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2003
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice local brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I believe ATR may just have started doing a brunch service at the Rockville Town Center location because the restaurant was very empty when we visited. The brunch, however, is very nice. There is a good variety of well-prepared and tasty food and the price is reasonable. The pancakes were very good, as were sausages and the omelette bar. The more lunch-y foods like the blackened tilapia and salad were also tasty. The service was adequate: even though there were few people in the restaurant, our coffee was rarely refilled and finished plates were infrequently bussed."
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/21/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The waiter recommended the NY Strip over the Ribeye. I was going to order the NY anyhow, which was better than most, but my friend ordered the Ribeye in spite of the waiter's warning... and it came overcooked. This is in part to do with the very thin cut. He didn't return it primarily because he didn't want to throw off the timing of the dinner. I didn't push it. But if I had ordered it I would most definitely would have sent it back. This is not a fluke... the waiter already knew there was a potential problem here. Why wouldn't a reasonable restaurant address this issue? The steak, which is not cheap, couldn't have been more than 1/2 inch."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2007
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The MD crab soup was lukewarm, watered down, looked like frozen mixed vegetables in tomato juice and had a very few small shreds of crab."
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

ATR

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was very good. Service was terrible. Waited about 10 minutes, no waiter. Finally had to go ask for someone to come to table. Waiter was not at all knowledgable about beer selection. Had to continually waive him down for water refills, drink orders, etc. wasn't even crowded. May go back and sit at bar."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/23/2015
 2004
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Okay

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The menu and overall food quality has gone way downhill over the past couple of years. Food was barely average."
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

kitchen issues

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Didn't get 4/6 orders coirrect, we mentioned it was a birthday, didn't ask but brough a piece of cake and charged us $7.00 for the cake. Asked for my ice tea to go, said they ran out of to go cups. Disappointing. Have been there two other times and the experience was much better. Maybe an off day?"
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Failed to Meet Expectations

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It pains me to write this, as this has long been one of our family's favorite place to go to celebrate or just have a night out. The format of the menu has changed, and it is quite difficult to look through - reminds me more of a specials list you'd see on a table, rather than a menu you are trying to read. In addition, the volume of the music was quite loud, making it difficult for conversation. The beer selection is greatly diminished from the past (this is a Tap Room right?) And it feels as the though lighting has changed as well, as we felt like we were in the dark. They were not busy, but communication was not what it should be and it took an inquiry to the front to determine if we were going to have a sever as we had waited quite some time and no one stopped by. I will say, that once Courtney stepped up as our server, she did a good job. I ordered the wasabi salmon sandwich. Note when they say wasabi paste - they mean it, it was like a huge squirt of toothpaste or playdoh on the sandwich and I strongly suggest you order it on the side, and smooth on what you want with a knife. Note that the kids dessert, which used to be part of their meal, is now an additional cost and no longer part of the meal. There have been so many changes here and I am quite saddened by our experience this time and not sure we will be so quick to return."
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Review

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was my first time there and I was pretty impressed with the food!"
Dined on 10/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

once we got seated...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were told by the hostess when we walked in that they don't always honor the open table reservations but they would get us eat it as soon as possible. So we sat and waited for 40 minutes past our open table reservation time. This obviously negates the benefit of OpenTable. Had we known it would take this long We would have gone somewhere else. The only reason we walked in the door is because we were able to get an OpenTable spot. Food was good and the server was great"
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice dinner out. I'll return again.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a very relaxed meal and were well taken care of. The menu was broad enough for everyone at our table."
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Enjoyed tonight's meal very much! Service was great and was able to sit outside considering great weather! House Cabernet was good. Many other drink and food specials over happy hour. Look forward to going back. Bar area energetic over happy hour too!"
Dined on 10/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was decent, attentive, our party wasn't an "easy" one. Every drink stayed filled, food arrived in a timely manner (and was pretty yummy). Not expecting Trivia to be going on, enjoyed listening to the questions (couldn't really miss them, it was super loud and echoing over the empty dining room), it is what it is, it's a tap room first, restaurant 2nd. I'm not sure if the hostess was having a bad day, but I can tell you that eye rolling is NOT a way to greet customers and continuous walk-bys accompanied by nasty looks from staff, not a way to garner repeat business. I bumped my 5 top, to a 7 top (which I called ahead about), and arrived with 8 ppl (surprise guest) for which I apologized profusely for doing. The restaurant had 0 tables seated. Not one. And staff acted as though we had committed an atrocity."
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2013
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not bad, but not my first choice

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The staff was pleasant and service was prompt. However, the food was just okay with some odd flavor combinations. Steak and cheese egg rolls were good but very greasy. Several dishes came with the same sriracha-mayo style sauce which got a little boring. The fish and chips were on par with low-end pubs I've eaten at in Ireland. The strip steak was good, but over-seasoned. Unfortunately, for a place with Tap Room in its name, our server knew next to nothing about beer and had to get his manager to answer basic questions about their selections. The menu was not specific about the selections either, simple stating the brewery name and nothing else.
Overall, it was a fine place to eat, but I would not consider American Tap Room as a first choice (or even second choice). There are several other places with better food and more selection for drinks in the same area."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

I can make a better sandwich

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food really was nothing I couldnt have made at home. The wait staff and hostess were very kind and accomodating, though the person who actually served us the food was rather sullen. For the price, the food should be better."
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good service, ok food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our steak came out overcooked twice. They have us a discount for the trouble, I think we will stick to salads and burgers here."
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

They made the customer happy!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have visited American Tap Room many times. This time, I needed a special request and the manager and chef made it happen and perfectly so."
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious burgers, fries, salad...and reuben

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2008
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/29/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for American Tap Room - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>