Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Epazote Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Epazote

Epazote Restaurant is a New Mexican restaurant
44 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(44 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
(19)
4 stars
(16)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(20)
  • fit for foodies(15)
  • good for groups(13)
  • great for brunch(6)
  • romantic(5)
  • kid-friendly(4)
Epazote Reviews List
Review 1 for Epazote
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Local Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great local mexican restaurant with french technique. This is one of our go-to neighborhood spots."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Epazote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

BEST Mexican on the Upper East Side!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We are now regulars at this much needed Upper East Side Mexican with a French twist. Love coming here. Everyone is so nice especially Martin the head waiter. Best Guacamole around! Looking forward to our next visit!"
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Epazote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was great. We had the tacos. Looking forward to trying more stuff on the menu."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Epazote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"for Birthdays
hanging with friends
A quiet place as well.
Outdoor dining even in the winter (sweet backyard)
The service is amazing. So accommodating.
The price works as well!
"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Epazote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

GOOD BRUNCH

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went for Brunch got the eggs ranchero, my girlfriend got the chicken quesadilla. Both get 5 Stars for being absolutely delish. The chips, salsa, guacamole actually would get 10 stars if that were an option. Legitimately the best of each I've ever tasted and I eat out way more than I'd like to admit . My girlfriend said her only complaint was that it was a little cold in the restaurant, but overhall perfect for brunch specially $15 for 4 drinks love it
.
"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Epazote
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2007
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went for brunch - very ordinary. Huevos Rancheros was truly disappointing. Two eggs on two tortillas with a smear of beans and a ½ teaspoon of sauce dropped on top. And this had been recommended by the server. Service was slow and we were among the only five people in the place."
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Epazote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

best in UES

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife and I went here for her birthday dinner and we were not disappointed! We ordered the duck taco and shrimps quesadilla . Both were very delicious! The chef uses fine ingredients and the food is not overly greasy or padded with fatty stuff like cheese and sour cream. A very nice blend of fresh ingredients. The portions were perfect to split between two people. The service was outstanding and the ambience has a very festive, but slightly formal vibe to it. We will most definitely be returning."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Epazote
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Imaginative Mexican fusion

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Half full and moderately quiet at 7pm; packed and noisy by 9, with a crowd at the bar. Great cocktails, table side guacamole was delicious, best lobster bisque I've ever had. quesadillas have excellent fillings and are good for sharing to get a variety."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Epazote
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Real Mexican Food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"First, they have Dos Equis Amber ON TAP. Very unusual to find that, a a nice surprise. Second, their margaritas are perfect, classic cocktails, not huge, sugary, slushy, kid drinks. Small but excellent. Third, we loved the food. Of course the guacamole was great. We followed that up with an order of the sea bass ceviche with watermelon, and the tuna ceviche with passion fruit. Both were wonderful, just the right amount of tart zing, and perfect sized pieces of fish that melt in your mouth. After that we had the chicken mole (very good classic) and the veal cheek tacos. Taco portions are small, but after all that guacamole, chips, and ceviche, I found the serving size to be just what I wanted. Heartier eaters might want to order them as a appetizer. The veal was meltingly tender and perfectly spiced. The corn tortillas were just right, like something from a taco truck in Austin. If you really only like Tex-Mex, they do have Enchiladas Suizas on the menu, but other than that this is more modern Mexican. If that is what you are hankering for, this place nails it. I thought it was better than Empellon Taqueria, and it is both less expensive and easier to get to!"
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Epazote
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

so-so

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/05/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/05/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Ambiance was lacking - there was a weird vibe there. All you can eat tacos is a bit misleading as their taco choices seem non-traditional. Only one has cheese and you cannot customize any of them at all which was a huge disappointment. Ordered the enchiladas - just okay nothing to write home about."
Dined on 1/05/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Epazote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Neighborhood Gem!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This new Mexican bistro with French flair gets it all right! Whether you want to begin with a margarita or a nice Spanish rioja, make sure you have the guacamole made table side to accompany your drink! The salads and quesadillas are excellent, as are the salmon and the enchilada suizas. No matter what you are in the mood for, if it's Mexican, it's done right at Epazote!!"
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Epazote
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice addition to the neighborhood

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"A cozy upscale Mexican place, decorated with pictures of the Mexican Dia de los Muertos. The food was very good, although not consistently so. Excellent chunky tableside guacamole; an odd queso fundido dominated by potato; mains all uniformly good, although sides could be better thought out (my fish and the portobello mushroom it was served with seemed to have arrived from different restaurants). Cocktails are strong and clever. Service was cheerful. Definitely glad to see this come into the neighborhood."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Epazote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Superb

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2000
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2000
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"What a great addition to the neighborhood! Authentic, creative presentation of Mexican food at its best. Will return often!"
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2000
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Epazote
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Friendly Mexican restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My first visit and the place was not so noisy as some reviews have stated. The food was interesting and the service was more friendly than ultra professional, a bit like you were in the home of a good Mexican cook, if not a fancy chef. I'll go again."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Epazote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Neighborhood Gem!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Just discovered this great neighborhood Mexican with a French twist. The food was delicious from the chunky guacamole, to the delicious salmon with a side of sweet potato and chorizo, to the jalapeño chocolate ice cream, which had a nice kick! The staff was friendly and efficient, and the setting is sublime...just go! I promise you will not be disappointed!"
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Epazote
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent new Mexican spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Looking for an interesting Mexican place on the Upper East Side, we found Epazote and didn't realize it was a little over a month old. We went here for my birthday (brunch) and we all loved it. Their version of an old-fashioned (tequila, mezcal, mole bitters and agave syrup) was terrific, and then came the food. Loved the guacamole, the posole - not served everywhere in New York - and the queso fundido, as well as two different quesadillas.
Our waiter could not have been nicer or more helpful. When we raved about the cocktail, he brought over the bottle of mole bitters for us to try - loved that. Will be returning for sure."
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Epazote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Sunday night dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went for special roast pig Sunday dinner. Had queso fundido to start and then an extremely generous portion of suckling pig, rice, beans, marinated onion, salad and salsas. Service was excellent, restaurant empty ( it was a cold and nasty night), so noise level was perfect! Good margaritas and a pleasant room. I would certainly recommend this special dinner to anyone. Dinner with drinks, beer, service, etc. was about $50!per person."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Epazote
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Chunky guacamole

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Tacos and beans were very good. Guacamole was to chunky the gentleman making it had two spoons and needed instead a morsel to crush it."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Epazote
Based on the average of (26) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
14 out of 18 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic