Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Blackwood Reviews List

Blackwood

Blackwood is the Marina"s new and Chestnut's only Thai-American fusion restaurant --with two fireside communal tables out front that give way to an interior of pillow-equipped banquettes and marble table tops.
We offer staple Thai-ness (pad Thai, crispy crusted tiger prawns), we also have some awesome unexpected-ness like sides of Millionaire Bacon (as seen on "united states of food"), the BW Burger (seasoned Wagyu w/ white cheddar, cilantro aioli, and sesame Thai salad on a brioche bun), stonepots for lunch, and a grilled Wagyu flank steak dipped in homemade 151 rum sauce, named the "Last Mid Night", Sea bass dish named "Deep purple sea".
We also offer an impressive 16-beer, three-sake, quagillion-wine list, plus we're serving breakfast every day ('til 4p), meaning seven days a week, you can start your day with a mimosa that's bottomless.
See more Blackwood details
94 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(94 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 94 reviews
5 stars
(43)
4 stars
(42)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(43)
  • neighborhood gem(39)
  • good for groups(19)
  • great for lunch(15)
  • hot spot(15)
  • great for outdoor dining(14)
Blackwood Reviews List
Review 1 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good but slightly too sweet most of the main dishes except the Noodle soup is very good."
Dined on 10/10/2012
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/29/2014
 2012
Dined on 5/29/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/29/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great appetizer."
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food but very busy

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We ate at this restaurant on a Saturday evening in July and while the food was fantasitc is was very very busy. We had a reservation via Opentable however not sure there was any point as we still had to wait like everyone else for a table.
Once we were seated the service was very good."
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2014
 2014
Dined on 2/04/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/04/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

So Good

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/29/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/29/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Third visit here and still as good as the first, fresh, tasty, interesting dishes and great service.
Can't wait to go back.
"
Dined on 6/29/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2014
 2012
Dined on 11/13/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/13/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I would Blackwood!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Moderately priced, surprising flavors, beautifully presented ... I'm always delighted, really. Three separate occasions I've brought guests who were always equally glad to discover this casual gem."
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My beau and I came in for a Fathers' Day dinner together. We loved it because from the first bite of his food he reminisced on a time he went to Thailand. The food gave him an essence of that time when he was there. I'm thankful that I was able to share the dining experience with him and every part of the decor was his taste and liking."
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

we love it here!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Always a favorite "go to" in the neighborhood. Delicious Asian Fusion, relaxed and friendly service."
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The servers were pretty busy when we dined at Blackwood. I assume that's why it was difficult for us to get their attention or even ask for water. Food was a hit or miss. You either lucked out on ordering something tasty or did not luck out by choosing something bland. Ambiance was ok, it felt like being at an ordinary thai restaurant on Clement Street or Irving Street with a few upscale decor. Overall I'd rate this place to be okay. I may reconsider coming back here or at least, choose wisely what to eat if I do decide to eat here again."
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not "authentic" Thai, but great atmosphere.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If you're a foodie and love authentic Asian cuisine, I do not recommend this place. It is however a good introduction into Thai food if you've never had it before. It's like a simple, very toned down version of what authentic Thai food tastes like. The atmosphere is beautiful, especially their front outdoor patio. The service is not good though. We sat at our table for over 20 min, ready to order and had no idea where our server went. The restaurant was 20% full the night we went as well so I'm not sure why our server wasn't very attentive. They have good brunch though! I'll stick with their brunch."
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

TOTALLY enjoyed my meal. VARIED MENU!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

It's BACON!!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"If you go for brunch get the Millionaire's Bacon! It's the best in the whole wide world!"
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hit every time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everyone I've ever brought to Blackwood has enjoyed their meal, the location, and the service."
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great spot to catch a early lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Convenient location, weekday early lunch beat the lunch crush. Food is good, service is good and very attentive. Over all if you are in the area this should be one of your regular spots."
Dined on 3/25/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great happy hour appetizers

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went for a date night on happy hour and got a bunch of appetizers for a great price. I would say it's some of the best food I had while visiting San Fran! Great atmosphere as well."
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good Food, Even for our Kid

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to Blackwood because of Yelp. It received good reviews so we thought we'd give it a shot. We took our 10 month old with us and he ate a few of the noodles from my dish. I ordered the Scallops and my husband had the pork shank. They were both fantastic. We will definitely be dining here again."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excelent!!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I order the stone pot and it was wonderful!!!The portions are enough and prices affortable.
Certainly I will be back!!!
"
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I would definitely return.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was very good and I loved the way they were plated. Service was quick and friendly. I haven't been in that location for awhile but it felt like an upgrade."
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good service. Small portions so not as good of a value as it seems. Some dishes surprisingly bland (like the chicken noodle soup that looks awesome). We were not happy with an added 20% tip that was not declared in advance (or when bill arrived) for 5 people."
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2014
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Started with a thud

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I might have rated this restaurant higher but the service was offputting. I arrived before the other 2 people in my party for an early (6:15pm) reservation. Over half of the tables in the restaurant were empty. Instead of seating me they told me to sit in a chair next to the front door/waiter stand. I asked if I could be seated as I wanted to order a little something as I had not had lunch and they said they could not seat me until my party was all there. Creepy.
We ordered the bacon appetizer that was spicey good but the asparagus was overcooked. My friends ordered the dinner stone pot which was flavorful 3.75 * and the sea bass that was mediocre. The star of the evening was the After Shock chicken dish that I will have cravings for in the future 4.0*. I might order it to go in the future."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tasty and delicious food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I just love Blackwood. The food is delicious and it's not over-priced like some other restaurants in this neighborhood. The service is excellent and the presentation of the food is outstanding. They have a good selection of wine as well, and the exact same wine costs less than it does at other restaurants in the neighborhood! It can get busy at weekends so it's best to reserve a table. The outdoor area is nice, with heaters and long shared tables. I haven't had brunch there yet but always walk by and it looks great. Top notch. Highly recommend this place."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved Ir

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2007
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"the foos was amazing and vwey well presented, service good, we were not,hurried even though people were waiting. Wine list is interesting, not huge but very acceptable.
All in all a freat palce and we will definitlwy be back.
"
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

LOUD but delicious food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"First, I have to start with the fact that Blackwood was loud! So loud that my husband and I both looked at each other right when we walked in the door and wondered of we had made a mistake. And yes, it was crowded at times, but I've been to tons of noisy restaurants, but you had to yell at the waitress so that she could hear your order. This is not because of music, but because there is no sound dampening in the dining area. So, if you are looking for a quiet, romantic, Thai place, you need to go somewhere else.
Now to the food. I had the East Feeds West, and it was absolutely divine. The pork shank was falling off the bone with a tiny bit of char on the outside. The pickles and broccolini were perfection, and the coconut sticky rice was the perfect sweet touch.
My husband had the King Salmon which he also really loved.
So, in the food vs noise battle, we would still return!
"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The hot pot is beyond compare

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2005
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The reason to go here is because of the hotpot. While everything I have eaten has been delish - the hot pot stands out. It's a giant black clay pot mounded with rice crisped and browned by the heat of the very hot clay. The rice is topped with a variety of veggies and a softly fried egg. Use your chopsticks to stir the mix into a fragrant combo of well cooked fragrant morsels. We drive all the way across town for this dish - because it is well worth it. The 3 separate dishes of ice cream are an easy dessert to share - the black sesame is so unusual."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent service, Asian fusion menu and drinks

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Excellent waitstaff service, great Thai and Asian fusion style menu items and drinks"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Blackwood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Find!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2010
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I loved the meal. Best Birthday dinner I've had in 5 years."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>