Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Spoon Bar & Kitchen Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Spoon Bar & Kitchen

Spoon Bar & Kitchen is a modern American seafood restaurant owned by five star, James Beard nominated chef John Tesar. The menu focuses on responsibly sourced seafood and highlights quality seasonal ingredients at the peak of flavor and other dishes that are not fish. The menu changes frequently based on seafood availability and there’s a nightly Chef's Tasting Menu with or without wine pairings.

The restaurant has several unique dining experiences including a built in raw bar, with a Chef's Counter, banquette tables and booths in the main dining room, a Chef's Table in the Wine Room and an interactive Kitchen Counter where you can watch the live action in the Kitchen.

Reservations for parties of 2 or 4 accepted online.
26 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(26 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(13)
  • special occasion(8)
  • neighborhood gem(4)
  • notable wine list(3)
  • romantic(3)
  • good for groups(2)
Spoon Bar & Kitchen Reviews List
Review 1 for Spoon Bar & Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/16/2013
 2013
Dined on 6/16/2013
 2013
Dined on 6/16/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spoon Bar & Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/06/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spoon Bar & Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/01/2013
 2006
Dined on 9/01/2013
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/01/2013
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spoon Bar & Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Horrendous Slow Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for NYE dinner. The place was overcrowded. We waited 30 minutes past our reservation time and sat at a table closest to the door. The kitchen could not keep up with the orders. There would be 20-30 minutes between courses and we were there for 6 courses. Food is excellent but not worth the delays. Management did not return phone call. No wonder Spoon closed down."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spoon Bar & Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Probably the best meal I've had in Dallas. Higher priced than I may expect here, as this is usually not a town of $200 tasting menus, but well worth it in the end. Really phenomenal."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spoon Bar & Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing experience - Have been there before

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We arrived for our 8pm reservation and there was no hostess.
We were informed that bartender, hostess and several wait-staff did not show up for work.
We waited over 30 minutes for our drink order - only 6 other tables seated that we could see.
Menu was limited to 2 tasting menus at $65 and one higher and only 4 a la carte entrees available so very limited options available
We were there with clients and kind of rolled with it but the portions on the tasting menu were sparse at best. Meal was not over until 10:45 so it was a looong and unusual experience for us and not the impression we were hoping to make with important clients. We have had MUCH better experiences with this restaurant but likely won't return or recommend Spoon any longer unfortunately..."
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spoon Bar & Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Weeknight tasting is the way to go

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went on a Tuesday night around Christmas and it was perfect. Plenty of people there but did not feel crowded. Noise level was low to moderate so it was easy to converse and enjoy the tastings. The seafood was exquisite; easily the best I have had in Dallas."
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spoon Bar & Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The scoop on Spoon

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I recently dined at John Tesar's gem Spoon with my husband for this birthday. It was a fantastic experience all around. My husband and I are huge foodies (read: adventurous eaters) and John Tesar fans at that. So this place was a special treat. We chose to do the Chef's tasting and leave it in the hands of the pros, best choice ever. Every single dish (without typing more characters than this review will allow) was spectacular in it's presentation and plate composition, incredible taste, texture, and quality, and the service was phenomenal too. We chose to sit in the back booth that faces the open kitchen, because we love to see how the magic happens. Though the kitchen stayed quiet to the restaurants ears we had a backstage pass to watching them truly enjoy their craft, which obviously made the experience even better. We will definitely be back again and again, and suggest to all of our friends. I'll even be blogging with in depth descriptions and photos of it all soon. (www.blakeleylately.blogspot.com)
Thank you Chef Tesar!
ps. Knife is spectacular too!
"
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spoon Bar & Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Service with an attitude

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2001
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2001
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The restaurant was not very busy on a Friday night so expected the staff to be more attentive but the service was less than stellar and came with an attitude."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spoon Bar & Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not that impressed, sadly.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Salt and butter were the main ingredients for all the dishes. Small portions for all courses and over priced in my opinion. You only live once, but I don't have to go there twice."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Spoon Bar & Kitchen
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
11 out of 13 recommend this product
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
3.1 / 3
Energetic