Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Rose Tree Restaurant Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Rose Tree Restaurant

We believe that an exceptional dining experience begins and ends with warmth, empathy, and a strong desire to inspire loyalty.
We are excited about re-introducing this Delaware County Landmark of almost 60 years with some fresh new ideas, updated decor, attentive service, and inspired New American Cuisine.
41 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(41 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
(12)
4 stars
(14)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(17)
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • good for groups(10)
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • great for lunch(8)
  • romantic(8)
Rose Tree Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Overall pretty nice. Inside had a nice upscale feel to it.
Waitress was probably the best part of the dinner. Attentive and able to answer our questions.
Drinks were very good. Had a beer then a glass of cab with dinner that was perfect.
Food was where the downside was. The taste overall was pretty good, but we did have to send back a prime rib that was supposed to be med rare. The only had an end piece left so that didn't work out so great. My prime rib was fine so I kept that. Easy to eat and was topped with a delicious chipotle butter. It could be a bit too spicy for some but I like spice so it worked for me.
Waitress was great through the whole ordeal keeping a positive and upbeat demeanor through the problem. After the end piece she came back and said we had a ny strip on the way m/r and offered a free drink. The strip was cooked just fine and was enjoyed.
Fudge brownie for dessert. No complaints there. Presentation on the plate looked very good."
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Upon being seated it took 35 minutes for our server to bring us our wine. Note: the place was practically empty. The mussels were good but the scallops far too salty. The waitress was gracious and pleasant."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food, ambiance, friendly staff and clients. Loved the singing of Scott McDonnell."
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Been here several times, have enjoyed every experience here, this one, not so good, may just be a blip, will try again but not so soon though."
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"In a word ... Terrible ... Appetizers were fair .. The pasta special Sunday should have been good.. What was supposed to be house made marina was clearly from a jar and overlooked .."
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2003
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Local best

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The mushroom soup is one of the very best in a region with a lot of good examples. We have also enjoyed all the other dishes we have tried over some five visits. Comfortable and attractive dining rooms, good wine list and beer selection and good service."
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2000
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pleasant surprise

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2006
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had never been there before; it just happened to be convenient to a show we were going to that night (the Burlap and Bean). The food was a couple of notches above our expectations--everything was excellent--and service was indulgent. We were there early on a Friday evening, but it seemed deserving of more business than we saw that night. Apparently they have recently renovated and refocused; if you have never been or only know the Rose Tree Restaurant (not to be confused with the nearby Rose Tree Tavern) from its previous incarnation, it is worth a try."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Overall good food

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was good my only disappointment was the food was bearly warm. Closer to room temp, we ordered scallops and sea bass. The waitress was to inform the chef and never returned with an outcome."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had made reservations for Valentine's Day. Everything was amazing - the food, the environment, the drinks, the people, the look, the feel. Price really were not too bad either for V-Day.
The only thing that I could criticize on is the service. When we initially got there they quickly got us seated, but we did end up waiting about 15 minutes before a server came to greet us.
That is the only thing, after that I would say spectactular."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food was excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was excellent. The lobster and steak were cooked to perfection and the the portions were just right. This is right on our doorstep yet for some reason we have only been there a handful of times. We will be going back."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We really like the atmosphere, service and location of Rose Tree.
It would be nice if the food was better, it's fair at best
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Definitely a Neighborhood Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went for Valentine's Day Dinner. The staff was courteous, polite, and friendly in general. The wait staff however was also exceptionally attentive, keeping our glasses full, warm bread at the table, and made spot-on appetizer and dinner suggestions to satisfy the taste pallets of a surf&turfer guy, a meat and potatoes only teen, and a seafood salmon loving woman. I'd be remiss if I didn't mention that their desserts were out of this world. My son highly recommends the hot brownie drizzled in Caramel. I'll be back for their Vanilla Creme Brule.
Definitely worth giving a shot!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was disappointed with Rose Tree Restaurant. I ordered the short ribs and they were over seared and under seasoned. My husband had the seafood risotto (recommended by our server) and although it tasted okay, the portion was extremely small and left my husband unsatisfied. The service was sub par, not because of the waitress, but because she was the only waitress in our entire section and was obviously spread too thin.
I would not go back."
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Neighborhood Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our family has been dining here for years, and are seldom disappointed. We recently enjoyed
brunch here which was lovely, complete with live jazz. The music was really great, and not too loud, which I was concerned about, but no problem, it was great!
"
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great dining experience, good food, good service, good location"
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great restaurant!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The mashed potatoes that came with our entrees could have been a little hotter but other then that totally reccomendation. Would definitely come back again."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"First time there under new ownership, lots of empty tables and open seats at the bar but service was incredibly slow. Bread had to be requested and when it came 2 pieces were hot and other 3 hard as rocks and frozen in middle. 3 of 5 got their dinners then 5 minutes later other 2 dinners arrived. Crab cakes were hot but mashed potatoes freezing cold. Prices high for what you get. I thought the new owners were going for a younger clientele, but the decor does not suggest that. Place looked shabby, it was Nnew Years Eve and it was not festive at all. The ladies room had one half dead hanging plant, at least some holiday touches would have been nice. Very disappointed."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I hadn't been back here for some time ..... food and service had gone downhill over the years. Then I heard things had changed .... new name, new owners, new chef, new menu, renovations, so we went for lunch on a Tuesday. What a pleasant surprise. Our lunches were delicious, the rooms were brighter, our waitress was just the right amount of attentive & very nice.
We had wine, cream of mushroom soup, crab & corn chowder, asparagus & beet salad, and vanilla ice cream with hot fudge & brownie :-). All great! We'll definitely be back.
"
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Perfect for leisurely lunch for two old friends--low noise, nice food, attentive service, but not hovering or intrusive. We'll be back!"
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice upscale restaurant...

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We ate at the Rose Tree for Thanksgiving and did not opt for the traditional dinner but something from the menu. Three of us had the filet and one had the scallops. The filet were cooked to the requested medium and were delicious. The scallops were huge and 4 of them were enough to satisfy me. The service was good and the restaurant was nicely decorated and warm with the fireplace going, it was a nice experience."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Rose Tree Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Each individual in our party had a different entree and the meals were all enjoyable. I was disappointed that the crab cake was served with only mashed potatoes. Perhaps a small portion of a vegetable or cole slaw would nicely round off the plate. I'm not a big eater and did not order a salad or side veggie. Of course, the Turkey special was fairly priced for alI the food served, and that would have satisfied any hearty appetite. Our server, Lauren, was pleasant despite being quite busy and the quality was excellent."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Rose Tree Restaurant
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
8 out of 11 recommend this product
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate