Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant

Dining in Ethiopia is characterized by the ritual of breaking injera and eating from the same plate, signifying the bonds of loyalty and friendship. Injera, the traditional Ethiopian bread, is part of every entree. It is a large crepe/pancake upon which the various stew-like dishes are served. The traditional way of eating is with the fingers, which in itself a delicate art. In this manner, a bite sized piece if Injera is broken off to pick up a mouthful of the chosen dish. Come experience our tradition and savor our cuisine!
23 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(23 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(7)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(10)
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • neighborhood gem(7)
  • late-night find(4)
  • kid-friendly(3)
  • great for lunch(2)
Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/20/2013
 2013
Dined on 8/20/2013
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/20/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2014
 2011
Dined on 4/11/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/11/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food, great prices. Favorite Ethiopian place in dc thus far!"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We enjoyed it. For the adventurous foodie...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A bit on the heavy side of greasy. Taste was good. If you like spicy ethnic, this is the place."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Although the food was fantastic and definitely worth a return visit, the service was horrible. We waited quite some time to even have a drink order taken while the server stood against the wall and pretty much ignored us. We were seated promptly, however, and made to feel welcome, but what followed pretty much ensured that I will not return."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

They don't even try any more.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2008
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Meskerem used to be one of my DC go-to restaurants. Despite the consistently mediocre to poor service, the food was reliably good. Now they can't even get that right. Last week I took friends there and our sambusas were barely room temperature, our injera and lentils were cold, our waitress got our order wrong and didn't even try to make sure our glasses (beer, wine, and water) stayed full. On every count, Meskerem dropped the ball and didn't seem to care.
I mentioned that our sambusas weren't hot but the waitress just nodded and walked away rather than fixing the issue. Likewise, when the waitress brought only half of our entrees and insisted that that was all we ordered, it took a while to convince her to get the other half of what we wanted. Why would she even try to argue about that? Just get us more food. Also the portions are noticably smaller than they used to be.
I'm completely done with this place. Never going back and I would never recommend it to anyone again."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I make sure to swing by every time I am in DC. Great food, lovely service. A neighborhood gem, for sure."
Dined on 1/12/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Keep coming back.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I was introduced to Ethiopian food by an acquaintance 20+ years ago, and I remain grateful to him for it. Specifically, Meskerem is one place that I keep returning to, especially when I am traveling with friends who are new to the cuisine. Once they get over any initial reluctance to try something so 'exotic,' they wonder why it took so long to discover this for themselves."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant
Based on the average of (15) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
8 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic