Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Limon Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Limon

The vision for Limón, Denver’s eclectic Latin American bistro, began during Chef Alex Gurevich's trips to the Latin American region. Continually in awe of and impressed by the richness of the culture and cuisine, he envisioned a place in Denver where people could gather to experience the warmth and liveliness of Latin America. Limón's space was built with this concept in mind. It is rustic and inviting, comfortable and chic. Burgundy walls, exposed brick, wide plank wood floors and antique casks set an undeniably warm tone. The restaurant and patio offer distinctly different settings where guests can enjoy the food, the ambience and the energy that represent the Latin American lifestyle.

Limón is located in the revitalized uptown district of Denver and serves inspired Latin American cuisine that blends various styles of preparation but uses fresh, authentic ingredients.
41 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(41 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
(16)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(27)
  • neighborhood gem(27)
  • romantic(9)
  • special occasion(9)
  • great for outdoor dining(8)
  • hot spot(7)
Limon Reviews List
Review 1 for Limon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Limon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Limon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Quaint

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Limon was pretty small on the inside but I think that gave it a lot of character. I appreciated the small menu because I don't like being flooded with options. We had the plantains and tacos-both delicious. My one complaint about the food is that you can't mix and match tacos like some of the other taco places. The service was sub-par but in her defense I think she was the only one working and it did get pretty busy."
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Limon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/26/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/26/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Limon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unexpected gem!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a fantastic dinner at Limon. Service is friendly and knowledgeable and every dish that we tried was delicious. Nothing too exotic or unrelatable but each item was interesting and had an interesting flair. Try the wok-sauteed beef, the empenadas, and the chili relleno! It's a lovely, warm atmosphere and a great little place to have an excellent meal!"
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Limon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Limon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Latin American Gem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"If you enjoy Latin American food, Limon is the place for you. Especially if you can't decide which Latin American cuisine you prefer. With a menu ranging from the tropics to South American favorites, Limon offers a tour that keeps things delicious and interesting. This was our first visit but we were only able to sample a few of the many intriguing small plates on the menu. We intend to return to continue our culinary tour through the menu."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Limon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Li on is my favorite place to eat!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love the unique menu, the small plates and ypthey service is always excellent. Thus is by far my favorite of anywhere in Denver."
Dined on 4/01/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Limon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great place to enjoy dining on the patio! Food and drinks were amazing!"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Limon
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Meh

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food and the service was subpar. The tamale was just ok and the steak and fries were decent. The Ahi Tuna Tartar however tasted and looked more like canned tuna. It was most certainly not worth the price. The entree (the tuna tartar) was left untouched and sitting at the edge of our table for 2 hours...Our server clearly didn't care to ask how we liked our meal, but did ask if we saved room for dessert. Huh? Oh and we had to ask for for another round of drinks, because an empty glass clearly wasn't clue enough. Won't be going back to Limon. Hopefully others find the experience more enjoyable, but we certainly did not."
Dined on 3/19/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Limon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Mediocre

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2010
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It wasn't that anything was bad, just nothing spectacular. The seafood stew was delicious but the other tapas we no more that decent. We went down to Denver for a date night and to try a new restaurant. The ambiance was nice, service was fine, and the food was there. I doubt I would recommend to a friend looking for someplace special. If you're in northern Colorado and looking for amazing tapas try Next Door in Loveland!"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Limon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Mixed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was slow and they were very short staffed. The food is pricey and they are not kid friendly.
In all the food was good, great flavor. I might go back for a date night but never again with kids.
"
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Limon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

From NY and eat out a lot

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food: Salads can nice vinaigrette but were just a plate of spinach. Entrees were good. Had some of the best Creme Brullee flavors I've had in a while. Not true Peruvian but a decent Mexican-American spin on it.
Service: They didn't keep our reservation. They had one standing table open. Ended up waiting 15 minutes at the bar till a table opened up. They said they accidentally gave our table to someone. 15 minutes is not that big of a deal, but it's still insulting because that's the point of taking reservations.
Ambiance: Fun decor. Open room but far from better spots in Denver
Overall: like the food, but it's always a huge deterrent to go back when your reservation is lost by the staff and you have to stand waiting. Not sure if will return"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Limon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

stepped it up

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We really enjoyed the food this time, while always good, you really stepped it up a notch. The flavors are wonderful with lots of different choices from seafood to meats. The service was very attentive and recommendations spot on. We will be back. Thank you!"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Limon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Second trip to Limon

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Enjoyed trying more plates on this visit since we were a party of three instead of a party of 2. Service was great, recommendations were good. Look forward to going back!"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Limon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I love Limon.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Limon is a wonderful quaint place to dine, the food is fabulous and the service friendly and very professional. This is my favorite place in Denver!"
Dined on 9/13/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Limon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The service was wonderful. The food was delicious.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food portions were small but packed a great taste."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Limon
Based on the average of (24) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
20 out of 21 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic