Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Marquee Lounge Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Marquee Lounge

Fresh food menu and craft cocktails, offering dinner, pre/post-show fare, and brunch that imaginatively reflects the Creative Alliance’s eclectic showcases.

Chef Jeremy Price works with local Maryland farms and organic food providers to bring the best and widest selection of local, fresh ingredients to his cuisine. The Marquee Lounge’s ‘local meets luxe’ menu offers tantalizing comfort food that’s laid back, top-notch and even a bit swanky.”
40 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(40 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(19)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(27)
  • fit for foodies(19)
  • vibrant bar scene(11)
  • late-night find(8)
  • romantic(7)
  • special occasion(7)
Marquee Lounge Reviews List
Review 1 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Get a drink, not the food

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I would not recommend Marquee Lounge for anything beyond a drink. While we have had appetizers at the lounge before that were good, the dinner last week, May 15, 2015, was not good at all. We arrived early for a show to have dinner. The bar is very nice, has a great ambiance, and the service was very good and friendly. The menu had some nice entree items, three to be exact, and we asked for recommendations, which I really did not trust. The server did not seem confident in what she was saying. We both ordered the bouillabaisse. It was not hot, it was lukewarm at best. There was not much broth at all. I was very disappointed in the food and dinner. It was disappointing for the amount of money you spend. While I love the Creative Alliance, I will not eat dinner there again. The show was great though."
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pleasant Surprise

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Booked dinner res for convenience - going to a show at adjoining venue.While the menu was limited, the food was excellent. Everything we had was finished in a creative way. The entire space is anchored by a spectacular bar with a hand painted mural the entire length of the wall behind. One wall is thick, natural wood and another wall is exposed brick. The vibe is way cool. The service was super friendly. I am looking forward to my next opportunity to eat the Marque Lounge! It's a neighborhood gem that should not be missed when you are in the area!"
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Movie goer

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Server was friendly and had good knowledge of the menu. Food was served in a timely manner."
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Convenient for shows

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food service was spotty and slow tonight , this is not usually the case , a good place to dine prior to the shows at the Patterson , a neighborhood place and one i will try again."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went before a show at the theater. It was difficult to find our server. They seemed inexperienced and overwhelmed. Our food order got mixed up, was very delayed, and then my food was barely warm on my plate. We ended up being a few minutes late for the show. Very disappointing for a place that seemed like it would be ideal for pre-theater."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Unimpressive

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Slow service and the staff is not exactly rude, but they sure aren't overly friendly. The only reason we selected this place was because we needed to see a show at the adjoining venue and thought it would be most convenient. It was convenient alright, but even so, we were still late to the show due to slow service. Food is good but portions small and sparse."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

marquee lounge

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food, ambience, not enough servers on a crowded night. But the slight wait is well worth it."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Location for the Marquee Lounge

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have been to Creative Alliance five times, and three times I've eaten at the Marquee Lounge. Parking can be difficult near there, so I like to take advantage of eating close by. All three times, I have been very satisfied with my food. The atmosphere is pleasant and the huge mural over the bar adds a festivity to the place. On this past Saturday night, Creative Alliance was celebrating Brazilian samba. Some of the entrees featured Brazilian food. I didn't try it. Instead, I opted for the mushroom tart and frisee salad and I was happy with my choices. My date had the Patterson burger which he enjoyed. All the dinners were serenaded by one of the bands playing that night. The ceilings in the restaurant were festooned with pinatas. It was very festive. My server was prompt and courteous."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Would definitely return

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our Valentine's dinner there. The food was absolutely delicious although the She Crab soup seemed a little bland, but still yummy."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Meal and a Show is a Winner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Marquee Lounge is a very comfortable venue with an interesting if modest menu. Service was good after settling in but was a bit hassled at first as crowd flooded in before the show at the Creative Alliance.
The meal was first rate and the wine/beer selection good. DInner/drinks/munchies at the Marquee makes the Patterson at Creative Alliance even more of a go to spot.
"
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A nice meal at the Marquee Lounge

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had wonderful food at the Marquee Lounge. The charcuterie plate was just delicious. However, the server's behavior left us feeling like she certainly had better things to do, and the dessert was so late, they had to pack it to-go. Still, I would go again."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Leave lots of time!!!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Convenient for dinner before a show at Creative Alliance IF you're willing to come at least 2 hours ahead. Since, as our waitress explained, all the orders come at once, you can wait 30 minutes for your food. We arrived at 6:30 and didn't get our meal till 7:30, so Had to hurry through it.
Menu is very limited due to small kitchen, so sometimes it's hard to find something, especially for vegetarians, since the salads are unimpressive.
Still, the space is beautiful, the bartenders friendly, and it's so convenient if you're going to the show...makes it worthwhile.
"
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Lovely but understaffed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was great, the ambiance was lovely, but it took FOREVER to get our food. We came before a show in the theater and enjoyed the lovely bar and gallery next door. Luckily we gave ourselves plenty of time because it took a really long time to get our food. We ordered an appetizer first (mussels) and it was 45 minutes before we got them. We ended up ordering our entrees before we ever got our mussels because we afraid we'd run out of time to eat before the show. The mussels and my chard dish were delicious and the bartender was very pleasant (but extremely busy), the kitchen however, was very, very slow."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Convenient pre-performance neighborhood spot

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a convenient place to dine before a performance at the Creative Alliance. Right off the theater lobby, the ambiance is inviting and includes a gorgeous mural that highlights the bar. We've eaten here before, and the current menu seemed much shorter than in the past and included only two entree selections. On the other hand there were lots of sandwich, salad, and small-plate options, and local-sourced ingredients are used. We both chose the burger, which was great. They have a good beer, wine and cocktail selection, making this a great place for a night-cap, too. When booking our reservation we were warned to book at least 1.5 hours before the show. That is indeed the case -- service was slow and patrons arriving later had difficulty."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dinner and a Show!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had tickets for a show at Creative Alliance and stopped at Marquee for a bite before curtain. It was a great decision! Kelly, the manager, was awesome! She had us seated, with a couple of specialty cocktails, in no time. The drink list was impressive. The Thai soup and nachos were some of the best I've had. Service was excellent, especially considering how busy the place was! Can't wait to go back."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marquee Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Comfortable, good ambiance

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The Marquee Lounge is a cozy bar area at a local community arts venue, with a vibrant mural over the bar and a friendly atmosphere. We were pleased to see that the menu offered several interesting sounding vegetarian options. Unfortunately, none of them tasted as good as they sounded in the menu--they were bland and the flavors did not always work well together. The service was slow, but they were busy and at least we got through with dinner in time to get good seats for the musical performance. I would definitely go back again, but possibly not for dinner."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Marquee Lounge
Based on the average of (24) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
24 out of 24 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic