Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Layla Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Layla

Layla is St. Louis' only Gourmet Burger & Shawarma Joint. Located in the heart of The Grove, we focus on serving fresh & flavorful fare in an eclectic atmosphere. We offer fresh ground burgers, fun twists on traditional shawarma sandwiches, hand dipped milkshakes, craft cocktails, local brews, & hookah. All of our beef, pork, bread, ice cream, drafts, & seasonal produce are sourced from local growers and purveyors. Whether your are enjoying our homemade hummus & falafel fries with a local beer at happy hour, one of our gourmet burgers & a craft cocktail at dinner, or a hookah with friends during our late night lounge you are sure to have an amazing experience.
21 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(21 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(13)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(12)
  • fit for foodies(6)
  • late-night find(6)
  • good for groups(5)
  • great for lunch(5)
  • great for outdoor dining(3)
Layla Reviews List
Review 1 for Layla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Layla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Layla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Layla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Layla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Eclectic

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"If the service was a bit faster, this would be a knock out. Friendly staff. Great drinks, gourmet milkshakes, good burgers/fries. I got a skillet with their potatoes, house made garlic chili sauce, shawarma chicken and two over easy eggs - delicious!! Be prepared for laid back & don't be in a rush & you'll have a great meal."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Layla
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Layla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

eating with the family

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We really liked the food. It is very hard to find a place that my two vegtarens can find something they whant to eat ware it's just saldit or berad . where I like to eat. there was food that we all liked."
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Layla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great experience!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friends and I loved Layla. The food and drinks were all excellent and we especially love that they carry so much local meat and tasty craft beer!"
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Layla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Layla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Layla is a great go to place for a casual creative meal. The quality and variety of the food is outstanding."
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Layla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Fantastic cocktails and the schawarma was amazing. Great spot in an eclectic neighborhood"
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Layla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Best burgers in STL?

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"They might have the yummiest burgers in STL. Can't wait to go back and try their shakes!"
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Layla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

amazing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"i have come to Layla 4 times in the past couple months & EVERY SINGLE TIME my experience is phenomenal. to keep it short & sweet: amazing menu, fun & attentive staff (even when my family is a loud annoying bunch), great beer selection, & overall keeps me coming back. it probably is my fav place to eat & chill in STL. thank you staff!!!"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Layla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Eclectic, but great choice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was a bit hesitant to choose a place that specialized in burgers and shawarma, but decided to take the plunge. We were not disappointed. There were four of us and two had burgers and two had shawarma and all were excellent. The shakes are great too. We had an appetizer platter and the hummus was amazing, and the wings were good. The baba ganoush was a disappointment as it was a bit bland; but that was the only disappointment on the night. We enjoyed it so much we went back the next day for brunch!"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Layla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good eats

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great burgers and the vegetarian burger was delicious. They are pricey and I thought we were getting a free birthday dessert since we didn't order it but it was added to our bill."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Layla
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
6 out of 6 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic