Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Villa D'Este Reviews List

Villa D'Este

Villa d' Este, serving you with traditional Italian Cuisine has been owned & operated by the Oropeza Family since 1978. Villa d'Este is known locally as one of the best family restaurants in San Francisco. Offering menu selections of pasta, poultry, veal, vegetarian, seafood, and beef. Come and indulge in our seven course dinner including antipasto, mixed green salad, soup, pasta bolognese, entrée coffee and Spumoni ice cream. We also have serve A La Carte which comes with a mixed green salad or soup. We offer live music on Fridays and Saturdays! We are open for Dinner seven days a week at 4-10 p.m. We serve a Champagne Brunch on Sundays from 11am-2:30p.m. Interested in entertaining your guests as a private party? We also serve banquets and off-site catering. Call us or come by to learn more! Enjoy a full bar with great cocktails and get to know us!
See more Villa D'Este details
81 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(81 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
(31)
4 stars
(29)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(36)
  • good for groups(32)
  • special occasion(29)
  • romantic(17)
  • great for lunch(13)
  • kid-friendly(13)
Villa D'Este Reviews List
Review 1 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My daughter and I had great time. I liked setting and the service was great."
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always a pleasure to have a nice venue
here.
"
Dined on 4/04/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2005
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2010
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2010
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"You can always depend on the Villa D'Este for those kind of special events. Dinner, lunch, parties or a social event always pleased with the service and food."
Dined on 3/07/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/21/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Stay away.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"A simply awful dining experience started with them not having the shrimp cocktail. Moved into a bland, sad looking antipasto plate and easily the worst attempt at garlic bread I have ever encountered. It was dry, bland and cold!
At this point we were about 45 minutes into our meal. We spent the next 30 minutes totally ignored by our server. We were asked by a different server if we would like refills on wine and the kids drinks, but that was it. I finally questioned our server (1.5 hrs after we placed our order) in the timing of our entrees and he immediately became defensive. All he could say was that the kitchen was busy (I saw a restaurant that was about 60% full). He could not/would not give me an estimate on when they would arrive so I told him I would take the check for the appetizers and drinks we had. He left in a huff and never returned. We left $40 on the table and walked out.
"
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always more enjoyment

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This is the place to go enjoy dinner. Whether it be a quite peaceful 2 person, or a friendly group
or an event such as lunch or dinner, yo won;t be disappointed.
"
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Just a fun, old school place. Good food and friendly, attentive service."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Sure, my mom and I took a friend of ours who has never been at this restaurant.
Live music was a big plus here, as our guest thoroughly enjoyed this a lot.
Our food was very well, except our guest steak was a bit on the tough side, but he
was taking it home to enjoy the next day.
"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Good place to go if you're not into being served

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Villa d' Este had been recommended by a friend whose family has gone there over the years. We (group of 4) were really looking forward to it: we love "old school" spots that you still find around San Francisco and beyond. I'd love to be writing a wonderful review, but I just can't. The service, which consisted of a grandfather and his son, and a middle aged woman they must have pulled off the street was deplorable. From drinks at the bar, to being seated, to water, to having our order taken, to having plates removed from the table between courses, all had to be requested. There was no baseline or minimum level of customer care. Which is really too bad, the food is decent, kind of what you expect, and the atmosphere is fun. We won't go back, we'll go to Val's or The Basque Club or the Garden Club, or.......anywhere but Viila d' Este. The owners should be ashamed of themselves."
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/27/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Italian Food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The food here is good but could be very good if more attention were paid to presentation. The shrimp cocktail was most disappointing because the shrimp were slightly better than canned shrimp and the cocktail sauce was bland. Also, it was served with saltine crackers just like in a diner.
The soup, salad, and entrée were very good and the bread was excellent but needed more butter served with our 2nd helping.
All in all a good place to dine at a mostly-reasonable price.
"
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/23/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS PLACE

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disaster

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2004
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2004
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We ordered veal parmigiana, veal scallopine, veal sweetbreads & calamari steak. Every order was inedible. It's sad to see a lovely restaurant that we like deteriorate so much."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Terrific!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Good food and service and excellent value. Our family of ten had a wonderful evening."
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Neighborhood gem is a local Favorite

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Lovely setting with Art Deco decor . Especially enjoyed the pianist and vocalist throughout dinner. Nice bar on entering the restaurant. Very good food, pleasant conversation, wonderful service all made for a very relaxing New Years Eve."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Family Owned Place with Great Food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I've been going here for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners for almost 30 years now. The food is great and you never leave hungry. Very family oriented dining. Love this place!"
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We've been going to Vill D'Este quite a few times over the years. It has steadily declined and this was our worst experience. The food would have to have improved to be mediocre. No choice of salad...ceaser or nothing. Ordered a Rob Rou cocktail and could not taste the scotch. Mashed potatoes still had the ice cream scoop shape. fish was barely luke warm. They could have used the potatoes scoop for the ice cream but appeared instead to use a teaspoon. Smallest scoop I have ever had.
Good reservation, pleasant staff. not going back"
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Quaint Italian resturant - service was good but the food does not measure up to expectations. The clam chowder was watery thin, and the clalmare was rubbery and extremely tough to cut. Veal dishes were good.
It was a friday music nite - Christmas music with pianist and vocalist with diners invited to join in and sing along, which made it a noisy nite - don't know how it would measure up and a "normal" nite.
"
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/16/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/02/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Charming old-school dining

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Remember the time when you didn't rush through dinner, and restaurants didn't try to rush you to be done so they can turn the table? Nestled in the "outer" part of SF right on the MUNI line, this restaurant almost expects that you'll start your meal with a cocktail -- either at the bar or at your table. Then if you order the dinner version of your meal, you get what amounts to a 5 course meal. It's not the trendy restaurant in town, and you won't find hipsters there. In fact, you might end up being the youngest person dining in the place. But this is a place to have a relaxing meal with friends, with good food, and be on your schedule."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yes, always pleasure to dine here.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Dining here is always a nice way to entertain guests. Enjoyable, nice wine selection, and food always fresh!"
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A very retro establishment, an affable owner-host.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/22/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Piano bar & karaoke not expected

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We didn't expect a piano bar & singer. She was a good singer. But when they started letting everyone up for karaoke, it made for a somewhat entertaining, but mostly annoying dining experience."
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2000
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Supper Club special night

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I cannot tell you anymore, except you need to try this on the first Monday of the month for dinner. You will not be disappointed."
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2005
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful vintage restaurant

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I took a friend and my daughter to Villa d'Este for a birthday celebration. I wanted a restaurant in this location because of another commitment in the same area. I think the reviews I read were right on. The food is fine--more or less, family-level fare, but generous portions. The services was excellent. There was a pianist and an accompaniest singing old songs, and I Foodies with expectations should avoid this place. I understand that they also have a cabaret night once a month. There is a bar there, too, with subdued drinking and conversation. I was a little surprised that for a Friday, it was this low-key, but this may be how the place usually operates. My friend was Italian, and I think he liked it very much. I would definitely go back. I thought the entire experience was very pleasant, and the atmosphere, well-suited to unhurried dining and conversation."
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/29/2014
 2009
Dined on 9/29/2014
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/29/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Absolutely enjoy going to Villa D'Este ! It's my favorite spot."
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2003
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2003
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Retirement home or restaurant??

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Upon first walking in, there was no one to greet us at the host stand or at the bar that was left unattended right next to the exit... But the smell of the place was horrible. It literally smelt like a retirement home cafeteria. When someone finally walked up to greet us, I told them our name and party number, they looked at us like we were crazy and seemed surprised that we were there, even though I made the Open Table reservation. The place looks like it was built 100 years ago and the wall paper was peeling off. I was so embarrassed that I made the reservation and brought my friends there... but I relied on the Open Table reviews.... The food was okay. Obviously frozen at one time, but it was cheap, so what do you expect? I am surprised this restaurant is still open."
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Villa D'Este
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Family dinners enjoyed every time we visit

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Delicious food, comfortable dining, and wonderful staff."
Dined on 7/27/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>