Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Central Bistro Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Central Bistro

Central Bistro offers freshly made "comfort food' and we advertise the fact that it's 'where the locals eat'. And they do — because the food is reasonably priced and the quality is reliable. In fact, our menu is made with fresh ingredients, from scratch, every day. We have a casual atmosphere and we make sure you'll get good service so that you can enjoy your time in our restaurant.
42 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(42 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
(18)
4 stars
(14)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(31)
  • romantic(21)
  • fit for foodies(17)
  • special occasion(12)
  • great for brunch(10)
  • great for lunch(9)
Central Bistro Reviews List
Review 1 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 15/02/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful bistro -- too bad they don't give Open T

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 05/08/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was good, nothing to write home about

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I took my daughters to dinner here last week. Overall, the food was good quality, based on local ingredients, but lacked a certain crave-ability. My spaghetti squash entrée was well- seasoned but the chicken was dry. My daughter's burger was really quite small (she was disappointed with the size, and she's 11) and my other daughter's fish and chips were quite soggy. Our total bill was $108 for one salad, three entrees and 2 glasses of wine--fairly steep for a casual night out with the kids. Yet, I would have been happy to pay the price if I thought the value was there, which it wasn't."
Dined on 30/07/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 29/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food..service and ambiance made it just okay

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 17/07/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 17/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Something's Changed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Although we had a good meal, I couldn't help notice the menu is smaller with some of the best items missing, such as the muscles, and the steak frites. Overall, I think the food was fine and the location and service were great."
Dined on 06/07/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 19/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 19/06/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 19/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great meal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Not much to say aside from great service and excellent food. We had the short ribs and the spaghetti squash with chicken, both were very good (the ribs were excellent)."
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

None better

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Central Bistro never disappoints! From the sunny staff to the fun food combinations. You MUST try the mussels! They prepare them two ways and my biggest dilemma is trying to figure out which one to order. Comes with crusty grilled bread and the broth is so good, you'll be reaching for the spoon to get every drop!
Brunch is fun and casual. Whether Winter, warm and cozy or Summer, bright and crisp, their brunch is flavorful and varied (which they do with the menu at the change of seasons!) Go there with a friend, you won't be disappointed!
"
Dined on 23/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 15/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Super friendly staff and great food!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This little place is off the radar but super fun and consistent. The food is fantastic and a great value, the staff is familiar and attentive. I would highly recommend this place..."
Dined on 03/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 07/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 07/03/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was great! Food was super tasty and presented well.
Fairly good wine selection. Staff were very knowledgeable and gave great recommendations
"
Dined on 07/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Portions are getting smaller each time I come. Lacked flavour and presentation. Service was so-so. Good Martinis! Still, it may be time for me to part ways with Central Bistro."
Dined on 28/02/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

valentines day

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2014
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went here for valentines dinner. My gf was very happy as the restaurant was quiet not filled with loud music or ppl. Food was excellent had the braised beef rib I pulled it apart with my fork. Drinks were excellent as well. Food took a bit of time to come but it's a very nice place so I didn't really even notice until afterwards. I would definitely return and recommend too try at least once."
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful dining experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Central Bistro never disappoints! From the service when you enter the staff is helpful and available. Dinner started with their famous steamed mussels- so flavorful and the broth was so good that after we had finished, we found ourselves spooning up the extra broth so not to miss a single drop! Mains were delightful, I had the peppered Tuna and my husband had the Chicken Saltimbacca. Desert was simple but tasty. We continue to go there time after time because Central Bistro serves every meal as tasty as the last. Don't ever change!!!"
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Excellent food, friendly staff, a great pleace to have an evening out."
Dined on 05/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dine out 2015

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 01/02/2015
 2013
Dined on 01/02/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The mussels cooked with white wine for the appetizers were really good."
Dined on 01/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Late night find for English Bay area

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We tried Central Bistro out for Dine Out Vancouver 2015. We were overall very happy with the choice. The food was cooked perfectly and the service very good. It felt a little cramped especially since the tables are very close together but overall I would recommend this place if you are trying to find a late night gem or are in the English Bay area."
Dined on 28/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Enjoyable dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/01/2015
 2011
Dined on 24/01/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great food snd service in a quiet environment. We had a great meal! Would recommend to others and eat here again."
Dined on 24/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 25/01/2015
 2014
Dined on 25/01/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent service, succulent foods, delectable drinks, ambiance atmosphere, nice live band!"
Dined on 25/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Weeknight Dinner Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I have always loved Central and this past week was no different. The food is always incredible - rich, local and delicious without being overly fancy. I brought friends from out of town, they had the signature short rib on recommendation from the server, I had the pork loin (having sampled the short rib on many an occasion). Both were outstanding. Service was attentive and pleasant as usual, and I appreciated the server's honest opinion when I asked about the wine I was ordering - she told me there were better ones and made suggestions. My friends were impressed, and we left very satisfied. Thanks for another great experience."
Dined on 20/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Enjoyable bistro-- marvelous mussels

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Mussels were, as usual, delicious. The veggies were OK, but pricey-- need flavor and variety"
Dined on 14/01/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had not been to our favourite bistro since our last romantic time downtown ..(children do stop adult adventures ) ..very important night out for us and Centra did not disappoint. Great wine ..delicious risotto ..awesome baked tofu bits ..and comforting dessert ..server Darcy totally looked after us ..waiting for our next visit"
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our second time for dinner to this great little place and the food and the ambiance was just excellent."
Dined on 02/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Friendly service, good food. Happy to go back any time. Glad this is our neighbourhood."
Dined on 20/12/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

No so great.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My family and I did not have a great experience at this restaurant. I have sent the details directly to the restaurant so a response and course of action could take place."
Dined on 13/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Central Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Value!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a casual neighbourhood restaurant that cares about its customers and the food it serves.
I found the music to be too loud and of the wrong type - good jazz or possibly even some French popular songs would have been more suitable for dinner time. Attentive service, good value.
"
Dined on 09/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Central Bistro
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
11 out of 12 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic