Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Il Ristorante Rosi Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Il Ristorante Rosi

Il Ristorante Rosi on Madison Avenue is the second New York location for Parmacotto. This new location is a more upscale and it represents the simple, honest, classic Italian cuisine. The restaurant offers a counter for guests to take home fine Italian produce as well as a sit down dining area with a full menu for both lunch and dinner. The interior is designed by Oscar award-winning Dante Ferretti and is evokes ancient Pompeian villas.



55 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(55 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
(22)
4 stars
(14)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(7)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(21)
  • fit for foodies(19)
  • great for lunch(18)
  • special occasion(11)
  • notable wine list(8)
  • romantic(6)
Il Ristorante Rosi Reviews List
Review 1 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Closed!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We arrived for our reservation a few minutes early. However the restaurant was closed. I'm not sure if they were renovating or if they have gone out of business, but we were very disappointed to arrive after walking several blocks to a closed restaurant."
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"How is this restaurant listed at "$$" rating when it's quite expensive? "$$$" would have been more appropriate. The Orecciette pasta is good but not excellent, serving on the small side. Risotto is superb. All in all, it's still worth the visit."
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

ALWAYS LOVELY

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/29/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2005
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Problems...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was my first time here. I had 3 friends with me and they were very nice about letting us come earlier than our scheduled reservation and I appreciated that. However, all 4 of us ordered a pasta dish and 3 ordered the same one. I ordered a different pasta dish and all 4 of them were 'lukewarm'. My pasta dish was very very good with a pasta shape I'd never seen and in a pesto sauce however, I was surprised that on my first bite, it was almost cold! It hadn't taken long to get our food so I don't think it was due to sitting there a while before they brought it out. I was hoping the other dishes my friends ordered were hot but they all had the same problem --- lukewarm! I don't know why but... It makes me not want to return, even as good as my pasta dish was. We all hated to send all 4 dishes back to be warmed up and especially since we were in a little bit of a hurry so we didn't. Next time, if I return, I definitely will let them know..."
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I loved my meal"
Dined on 6/08/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2007
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Salumari Rosi Rocks

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Had an exceptional meal to celebrate my 50th birthday! My friend , a foodie from Texas said Cesare Casella's restaurant was on his "must have when I visit NYC" list. We made the right choice."
Dined on 8/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/14/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/15/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/15/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/15/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2005
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great wine, good food, disorganized service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to Rosi for a late lunch after shopping. There were 3 tables in our section when we arrived; two when we left--I'm guessing about 4 tables in the front section. We had a few appetizers which were good, I had the fish of the day and my husband had the pasta special, which he described as "ok". He tends to be more the Italian food specialist and his opinion of the food, in general, was "average" while mine was very good. The glass of Prosecco we started with and the house wines by the glass we had were excellent! Where they fell short was on service. Maybe it was because it was later than the traditional lunch hour but everything was extraordinarily slow, overall. Although our waiter was very pleasant, he totally forgot, or the kitchen totally forgot to give us our appetizers (salads). We waited an extraordinarily long time for them and when our first item was served, it was our entrees! So they had to be sent back. We had to wait again for our appetizers and then again for them to re-prepare our entrees. Something tells me these mishaps may be par for the course there because the staff (including greeter) seems a bit disorganized all around, although admittedly this is conjecture on my part. And/or, there may be some serious miscommunication between the kitchen and the servers. Rosi would not be a return for us."
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Never again

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This place is a joke. We went on a Tuesday night to avoid noise and crowds. Every course was
a disaster. They were out of the two wines were wanted. The appetizers took 35 minutes -- and
they were cold platters. And it went downhill from there. Worst of all, every staffer walked by
the table without paying any attention. They must have been embarrassed. I expected to see
Gordon Ramsey any minute.
"
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Pasta dishes. Was very Enjoyable.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not the equal of its UWS sibling

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Arrived at this restaurant after securing only available reservation time of 8.45pm on a Saturday night to find it almost empty. Have enjoyed the UWS Salumeria Rosi many times and expected the same quality of service and food, but were sadly disappointed. Pasta alla norma was soggy and bitter tasting. Staff were clearly interested in getting us out of there as soon as possible so they could close for the night . Wont' be returning."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

What can I say about Cesare Casella?

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have gluten sensitiviity and don't eat bread and pasta, but went off the wagon for the Orecchiette and glad I did. I've always loved everything that came out of Cesare's kitchen since Beppe, BUT his pastas are superlative! Just perfect."
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/29/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/29/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service always excellent and welcoming."
Dined on 4/29/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Terrible

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We get in the city a couple of times per month and since NYC is the greatest food city on earth I'm always aggravated on the rare occasion when I have a bad experience. We ate at 4 pm on Sunday so maybe the restaurant was between shifts but if a place is open for business then it better deliver. When we first sat down the waiter said we couldn't have cocktails for some crazy reason but relented after we insisted. The service was spotty, the salumi was very good so at least the parmacotta portion of the place is worth a visit. The pasta dishes were oil laden and tasteless. Their wine choices were limited. We've been to Rosi on the UWS so this was a great disappointment."
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Service was excellent , food was fabulous !

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistent Excellence

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is a small restaurant hidden behind an attractive Italian delicatessen--includes a small lunch area for informal dining and a more formal and intimate room behind. I've been here for lunch twice, and both times the food was outstanding and the service attentive and helpful."
Dined on 4/06/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mediocre food in a pleasant setting

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were disappointed with the food here, especially given the hype . The salad was no better than what you would get in a diner, the fish was ok, but nothing special, served with cannelini beans that were bland and not sufficiently cooked, and my wife's chicken was dry and overly salted. We are sophisticated New Yorkers from the UES who are used to paying high prices for quality. This was a major disappointment. Pleasant ambiance, good service, mediocre food."
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Family Valentines Day gem.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We dined with our two teenage children for valentines day and had a wonderful time. From the excellent food to the excellent service. They were very accommodating to all our needs. Would definitely return and recommend to a friend."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were visiting NYC and looking for a quiet and casual restaurant for Sunday night dinner in the neighborhood where we were staying. Rosi was perfect. The food was excellent. The restaurant is cosy and the service was great. We enjoyed it and will definitely go back the next time we are in NYC."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Rosi is a beautifully designed restaruant, and the staff is welcoming and very
efficient but non obtrusive.
The meal (lunch) couldn't have been better, from the sampler of appetizers to dessert.
I'd return in a heartbeat.
"
Dined on 1/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Amateur hour

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The amateur cooking was matched by the amateur service. They serve better carbonara on the autostrada. The manzo dish we tried described brussel sprouts but we could only find one sprout. The beef was served on a bed of warmed up canned tomatoes."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Il Ristorante Rosi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good but not great Italian in a predominantly residential UES area. Food is good but not great. Some excellent wine values on an otherwise expensive wine list. Better choices a little further east."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Il Ristorante Rosi
Based on the average of (20) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
13 out of 15 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic