Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Afghan Kebab House Reviews List

Afghan Kebab House

Welcome to Afghan Kebab House!

Afghan Kebab House has consistently provided delicious and traditional Afghan food for over 20 years in the Upper East Side. Given that we are a neighborhood mainstay, our guests will always feel welcome and our staff will accommodate any of your dining needs.

Our chef, Izmar Rouzyi has been cooking mouth watering kebabs and other traditional Afghan dishes throughout the years, since the restaurant first opened. Please join us for an unforgettable meal. We will make sure you leave full, happy and satisfied!
See more Afghan Kebab House details
30 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(30 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
(16)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.6 / 3
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(13)
  • fit for foodies(9)
  • romantic(6)
  • good for groups(5)
  • great for lunch(4)
  • great for brunch(3)
Afghan Kebab House Reviews List
Review 1 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/05/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Bring your own wine....what a plus

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The food was absolutely great and the owner is friendly"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This restaurant has an intimate and authentic ambiance. The dishes we tried were all prepared in a manner that allowed the delicious flavors of the ingredients to come through cleanly. We had a delightful meal."
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/29/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very nice location, delicious food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A surprise find

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We visited the Afghan Kebab House as we saw the menu online and figured there was enough on it for all our four kids to eat. I wasn't expecting much when I saw the outside of the place but we gradually fell in love with the restaurant as the dinner progressed. The food was really good, all the kids found something they liked to eat (always a miracle!), and the atmosphere was low-key but friendly. Its not the fastest service but speed was not what we needed so it didn't matter. And the owner was so kind and attentive that it made the evening seem special. We will definitely visit again and highly recommend it for families."
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2007
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A great meal and a great evening!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Friends from Canada were in to watch their son run the marathon and we chose Afghan Kebab House mainly due to its proximity to where they were staying. What a treat the food was very good and we were able to have a normal conversation as the noise level was quite low. We started with the combination appetizer plate, which was a choice of any 4 appetizers, all conveniently cut into 4 pieces! Very good!! Salad was ordinary, but included in the dinner, so appreciated. We had the tandoori chicken kebabs, lamb kebabs, tandoori shrimp and tandoori fish. All were extremely tasty. The rice served with the meals was outstanding! The green sauce is to die for - a must try. I did not try the brown sauce, which is apparently quite spicy, but others did and said it too was great. BYOB and no corkage charge is another plus. We were served by the owner, who is very hospitable - as I think he also is the cook, service was a bit slow. But meals arrived hot and well prepared. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a casual, interesting meal."
Dined on 11/03/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A cool Place...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Somehow, I stumbled upon The Afghan Kebab house & it has been a favorite ever since. It's a BYOB so that softens the financial blow of dining out all the time. The food is as close to feeling like it's literally home cooked. The people are warm & its cave-like ambiance is just really cool!"
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/14/2015
 2010
Dined on 9/14/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/25/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Restaurant, remember it's BYOB

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Came here with my parents on a Wednesday night. Great food, friendly owner. Apparently it's BYOB, which we didn't know, but will for next time! Not sure if there's a corkage fee."
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Small, ten table restaurant with some of the most solid food, insanely delicious sauces, and unique ambiance. Total gem."
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2010
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pretty Awesome spot!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I arrived for a dinner, and I was happy to see how nice the place looked! Not a lot of diners the night I went, however the food was amazing, and the staff were super friendly. I will definitely be back!"
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Afghan Kebab House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We've been going to this small neighborhood restaurant for years & have never had a bad meal. We've brought family & friends & they, too, love it."
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Afghan Kebab House
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
5 out of 6 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate