Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Claudine Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Claudine

Claudine is a French eatery and wine bar, featuring delicious French-inspired fare and wines on tap in a casual setting just steps from Union Square. Lunch features Claudine's famous fried chicken sandwich, kale and meatball soup, and fresh salads, while the dinner menu shows the restaurant's French side. The wine list features wines on tap and an array of bottles from small producers in California and France.
41 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(41 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(14)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(9)
  • great for lunch(7)
  • notable wine list(6)
  • neighborhood gem(4)
  • special occasion(3)
  • hot spot(2)
Claudine Reviews List
Review 1 for Claudine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Claudine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/21/2012
 2015
Dined on 9/21/2012
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/21/2012
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Claudine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Claudine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Ordinary food, curt service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/27/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/27/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I had enjoyed Claude for years (although that has also gone downhill) and thought this would be a promising option. Location is great and I hoped to find a reliably delicious lunch spot for business lunches. This ain't it. Food was completely uninspired and menu limited. I had steak/kale salad, the dressing of which appeared to be Best Foods mayo. My client had a BLT that looked very un-special. Service was curt (they removed my plate before I even finished-- didn't even ask. Overpriced for what it was."
Dined on 7/27/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Claudine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not sure if I would recommend this restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Restaurant reservations for 6PM, arrived at scheduled time, went upstairs and stood there (no one in sight to check us in) until the bartender asked if she could help. We asked if there was a table downstairs outside and were escorted to the remaining table. Most of the patrons, it seemed were there for happy hour and I noticed food on the table for only one group. Fifteen minutes later, the bartender came back down and apologized and said there was a problem in the kitchen with broken dishes which had to be cleaned up. We ordered quickly as we weren't sure how long it would take to be served. The food was very good especially the $19.95 special....choice of soup or salad, choice of one sandwich-type entree (I chose fried chicken sandwich) and a dessert. The lentil (with pieces of beef) soup was served in a large bowl(enough for a meal in itself) so that was a good start....chicken sandwich was great and the dessert, triangular brownie was wonderful....When we got the check was surprised to see a $2.50 charge for bread...I guess I didn't notice on the menu.....sooo would I go back again? Maybe for happy hour where the wine is $1 for each ounce and there are food specials....the service could be better and if there are issues, someone should tell the customer of problems...."
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Claudine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Claudine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2007
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Claudine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/14/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/14/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Claudine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Claudine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Claudine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Claudine: a Real Disappointment

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We've been lunching at Claudine since it opened, and loved the creative variety on the lunch menu: dishes like mussels in a rich, savory broth; croque monsieur with a fabulous béchamel sauce; and roasted pork belly.
But things have changed: now there's a more pedestrian selection of appetizers and sandwiches. This might be OK if the cooking was superb, but in our last visit, although the curried deviled eggs and the Claudine Burger were quite good, my sweet potato fries were limp and unappetizing, and my wife's chicken sandwich was dry and tasteless.
So much for what used to be a real treat. We won't be back."
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Claudine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Claudine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Claudine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of my must-visits when I'm in San Fran

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Claudine's is a restaurant I stumbled upon during a business dinner a few years ago, but now I frequent it at least once (if not more) any time I'm in San Fran. Smaller and quieter than its "brother restaurant" Claude's, the wine list is brief but utterly on point. The menu is seasonal and beautifully done. I always say I'm going to order something else when I go, but I always, ALWAYS end up getting the mussels. They never disappoint and I find myself craving them almost the minute the plane lands at SFO!"
Dined on 4/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Claudine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Limited lunch menu

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Claudine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Faded charm, empty restaurant

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food at Claudine used to be better. I was unimpressed with the sunchoke tartine. The steak and kale salad was unbearably creamy. The Brussels sprouts slaw was overdressed. I hope it returns to its delicate roots soon."
Dined on 3/16/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Claudine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious and Healthy

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I took a colleague to Claudine for lunch, and we had the steak and kale salad and the seared tuna and farro entre. Both were delicious. We highly recommend Claudine."
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Claudine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Disappointed in the menu selection and food. Expected a more traditional French bistro menu."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2009
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Claudine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A Little Treasure

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Small place, short menu, and our waitress was a petite sort. But the place came up big on the food. Tasty dishes, reasonable prices, thoughtfully created foods will bring us back to this little gem."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Claudine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Easy on the Salt!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"everything was super salty. cooks should taste the food before sending it out. you can always add salt, but you can't take it out! it was so loud sitting at the table, that my friend and i had to move to bar seating just to hear each other. the acoustics are bad especially if you're bookended by people who talk loud. we asked about a wine and our server had never even tried it; i think she was the manager too! never going back. not worth the money."
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2004
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Claudine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious fare

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love the pared down menu at Claudine's. Perfect for a light delicious meal with friends. Inside can get noisy for those with hearing/ear issues ;-)"
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Claudine
Based on the average of (20) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
12 out of 15 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic