Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Spice - Chelsea Reviews List

Spice - Chelsea

With over 15 years of experience Spice has become a New York trend. Known for top quality affordable dining, fast service and cool design spice is the Thai choice for dinners all over the island with several locations spread out in Manhattan and now Park Slope. The Chelsea location features a full bar with exotic cocktails to perfectly match our renowned spiced dishes such as our Papaya Salad or Crispy Boneless Duck. The spacious dining room is perfectly lit with antique chairs, large Thailand's architecture pictures and Carrara marble table tops. If you haven't been to spice be careful, you may get addicted! Spice Chelsea located on 236 8th avenue corner 22nd street.
See more Spice - Chelsea details
42 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(42 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
(13)
4 stars
(22)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(20)
  • great for lunch(15)
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • good for groups(8)
  • hot spot(6)
  • romantic(5)
Spice - Chelsea Reviews List
Review 1 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2013
 2013
Dined on 12/31/2013
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/31/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2014
 2009
Dined on 8/22/2014
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/22/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2014
 2014
Dined on 4/25/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/25/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best birthday

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I hosted my girlfriends birthday here and the staff was resilient. They were attentive and very caring about my event!"
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good choice in Chelsea

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were searching for a restaurant near a local playhouse and chose Spice as it was a few blocks away and we like Thai food. We were very pleased with our choice. Our appetizers were good and fresh. The apps and a mango cocktail were great starters for our dinners. I love duck but very seldom find it on a menu. I ordered it here and it was delish--crisp and juicy. Our other choices featuring shrimp and chicken were equally delicious and the portions were generous and came with rice--either white or brown--your choice. We liked the decor-- lighting was low, seating comfortable and not crowded, modern, pretty color scheme. Our waitperson was friendly and courteous.
There is a nice ambiance here and you don't feel rushed, Service is unhurried so leave a little extra time. The food's worth it.
"
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The food was delicious and the drinks incredible.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The entire experience was wonderful. The staff was courteous and very attentive. We are definitely adding Spice to our favs list of eateries."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Tasty Thai

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Spice has a great variety of curries, rice and noodle dishes. The veggies are fresh and the portions are huge. Definitely a good place to share dishes. The prices are very reasonable, too."
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

This place is ok

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2014
 2014
Dined on 6/14/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The prices are good here but the food is average. I wouldn't really go here again. Viv Thai is much better!"
Dined on 6/14/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great food! Environment was a little loud for my liking."
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great thai food at fair price

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Your typical spice experience- you will get great thai food for a decent price & fairly quick service. Drinks are well made. Ambiance is cozy, with modern tho minimal decor. You can never go wrong with any spice location. I have dined here at least twice before, and would return. I have been to the UES location hundreds of times for both take out & dine in, and would continue to do so."
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went with a friend. Dark and hard to see the menu, but besides that, a predictable Thai food experience. Service was extremely attentive, filling up water, even took back a too spicy dish to make it more mild. Tasty food."
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent local Thai

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"There are a few Thai choices in the area, Spice is my favorite. Extremely large menu, very tasty dishes, large portions."
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A neighborhood favorite...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is my go-to spot when I'm not up for cooking. Great thai food, lovely atmosphere, nice eclectic mix of patron. The food never disappoint. Prices are great and I'm always pleasantly surprised at how inexpensive my evening has been. Long live the Three Flavor Salmon dish! I recommend this spot. It's a neighborhood gem."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Spice has a nice ambiance and the hostess greeted my boyfriend and I right away and seated us. We ordered the martini shrimp and ribs for appetizers. Ribs were better than expected and shrimp was average. For my main course I ordered Pad Thai with chicken which was excellent if you prefer Pad Thai with a sweet peanut sauce. And my Thai ice tea with milk was good. I did have to ask the waiter for another drink since she didn't check on us. But food and drinks were brought to us quickly. Overall a nice place and I'd go back."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Spice - Chelsea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Best Thai food in the area

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This stretch of 8th Ave has a few good choices for Thai food--but this place is my favorite. Huge menu, very tasty food, large portions, not overpriced. I'll certainly be back."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Spice - Chelsea
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
13 out of 14 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic