Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

La Catena Reviews List

La Catena

At La Catena you'll enjoy a warm, friendly environment and authentic Northern Italian cuisine. From mouth-watering Appetizers, robust and flavorful Entrees to its sumptuous Desserts, you will not be disappointed. Join us today for lunch, a cocktail in the bar lounge or dinner.
See more La Catena details
57 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(57 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
(27)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(27)
  • special occasion(27)
  • fit for foodies(20)
  • good for groups(18)
  • neighborhood gem(15)
  • notable wine list(8)
La Catena Reviews List
Review 1 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Catena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner with Good Friends

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The service was great. The waiter's suggestions were spot on and the food was very good. A very nice nite out. We have been back since."
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Catena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

ALways Good

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We make a point of going to La Catena fairly frequently because the food & service are consistently good. Also, the low noise level makes having conversation easy."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Catena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food was good

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Loved the food and service was excellent. We we went there to have a New Years Eve dinner. They accommodated us for some food items that were not on the pre-fixed menu for New Years Eve. I wish they had more choices without each choice having cheese in it. I am dairy free and making a selection was hard."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Catena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Catena
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Catena
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Catena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Catena
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great everything!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We enjoy the food, wine and service. It is always great, always a fresh menu."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Catena
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2006
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Catena
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Solid Dining Experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Took a group of 5 here for a business dinner at midweek. Service was very good. Wine was excellent. Food was good to very good."
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Catena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

First time there and it was very nice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service is very good, the food was amazing. I have no complaints."
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely relaxed evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We cherish our Friday nights out, and this place is one of our favorites. Although the ambiance is superb in the restaurant, my husband and I like to eat a little earlier, and we do it at the bar. The place at that hour is usually quiet, menu is the same great menu as the elegant restaurant, the TV is great, the bartender accommodating, and the pour is generous. It is our go-to place whenever we want to connect with the weekend and relax. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family."
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Dining

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent dining experience - great food, excellent service and friendly, relaxing atmosphere."
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was very excellent. Wonderful food and was very relaxed we never felt we were rushed into they gave us appropriate time to finish each course"
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for La Catena
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Having dined here before and enjoyed the food, my recent experience was a disappointment. The waitress must have been new but we got bread and ordered our drinks before we received our menus. The brushetta tasted like salsa on toast and our food was fair. The fish special tasted funny and the steak was a bit tough. overall was not worth the price. I hope this was just a bad night because the restaurant itself is very pretty."
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dining at La Catena

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our dinner for 9 was outstanding. From the moment we hit the bar while we waited for the rest of our party to get there until the moment we left, everything was fantastic. The food was excellent, the service was was excellent and we all loved the evening. I, and the rest of our party, will definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone.
Thank you LaCatena.
"
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for La Catena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Find

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"La Catena is very close the Bridgewater mall but not in it, so not as crowded as mall restaurants. Went there for the first time Saturday night when we couldn't get a reservation at any of the mall restaurants at a reasonable time. What a great surprise! Food was excellent and service even better. And the price was signifigantly lower than the mall restaurants (Maggiore's, Seasons and McCormack and Schmicks). We' re putting this on the regular circuit"
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for La Catena
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dinner was excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I would definitely tell friends about this place. I was a little late for my reservation because I got lost, however, they were very understanding and held my reservation until I arrived.
The food was excellent.
"
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"What a great place for fine Italian food. The service was also outstanding."
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for La Catena
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

If you like tequila........

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Other than La Catena not having a record of our reservation, the experience is fine. We are regulars for the Tuesday night Fajita Rita. Jumbo margarita and fajitas for $20, We order the table side made guacamole (excellent) and share the margarita and fajitas.
The restaurant has an enormous selection of tequilas and a variety of margaritas.
I have a limited appetite for Mexican, so I can't comment on the entire menu, but it's usually crowded, so people seem to like it."
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2003
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for La Catena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for La Catena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"we had a group of 9, and the food was good, but it did take longer than expected. Server was attentive."
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I am not much for descriptions of food and wish I was better because I would love to describe the food. Everything I ate was delicious. Did I say delicious ? I will be grammatically incorrect and say superbly delicious. Bruschetta and three color salad divine. Veal with artichokes in a creamy sauce was plate licking good. My husband had the special pasta with lobster and other shellfish which he said was excellent. Service wonderful."
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I visited for Easter/my husband's birthday this year and it did not disappoint. Professional, courteous staff and the food was absolutely delicious! I've also had two events at this restaurant over the years- a Communion and a baptism, and it was just as great then also. Highly recommend."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"From the time we walked in, from the waitstaff service, from the excellent food it was an outstanding experience.. We could not have asked for more. They even were able to accommodate us with a round table for our party of ten. It was a delightful evening and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for La Catena
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Unfortunately I was underwhelmed.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"For the price of the food and positive reviews online I was expecting a great meal. All 3 meals ordered had no seasoning and were just average. I will probably never be back."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2014
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Elegant Italian restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We brought 3 other members (and their baby) of our foodie family to expose them to a really great place that has an excellent regular menu and a tempting specials menu that we were sure to please every palette. We were not disappointed. My husband's favorite is the often standard (but specially prepared) Chicken Parmesan. It is NOT on the menu, but he loves it and if they're not too busy they will make what you request. The wonderful thing about the normally common Chicken Parmesan is that they make it with a fresh chicken breast with the wing-bone still attached and carefully prepared so that it is tender and juicy. I had the special black tagliatelle with seafood. it was yummy! The restaurant is not really a place for infants and s,all children, but we were there nearly and they gave us a corner table in their splendid bar area where it was more private. Our baby is generally is not fussy and very well behaved so we did not bother any other diners. They have their own parking lot, a lovely bar, and very attentive service. My husband and I like this place for our Friday night 'wind down from the week'. When the 2 of us are there w'll eat at the bar, talk, and watch TV."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for La Catena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great restaurant. Seem to forget about it since location is on RT 22 but food is always good, service is good and the ambience is really pleasant."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for La Catena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good food great service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"ive been going here for a while. Went on Valentine's Day - mediocre appetizers, great entrees!!!, but then mediocre desserts. Here's a tip, use more crab in your crab cake, buy your shrimp from the same people McCormick's and Panatieri's (Martinsville) do and outsource your desserts from someone who knocks it out of the park. Do that and your will be number 1 or close to it."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for La Catena
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

La Disappoitment

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"After seating it was a while before a staff member came over and asked if anyone had taken our order. I said no and she took it in a crude “diner-style” way which was shocking. Our appetizers arrived and we finished them and still had not received any bread. When they came to remove the plates I asked if we can have some bread. Finally one of the staff came with a stainless steel bowl and tongs. How tacky is that for upscale Italian? At least buy a $5 basket and put a cloth napkin in it. I did like the small rolls which were hearty. Later we were asked if we wanted any more butter or flavored oil and I said we still haven’t been offered any. My second glass of wine ended being poured all over the table before any hit the glass. Of course no additional wine was provided to make up for the spillage.
As far as the food was concerned we had one eggplant and one shrimp cocktail appetizer. For the entrée it was one stuffed veal chop and one sirloin steak. The eggplant was tender however I did not like the layer of vinegar red peppers or the mozzarella that was substituted for Bufala mozzarella. The three chilled shrimp, cocktail sauce and fresh horseradish were outstanding.
Both of our dishes came with the same sides, an ice cream scope of mashed potatoes and a few green beans with Julienne carrots. The Costoleta Valdostana (veal chop) was stuffed with Fontina cheese, prosciutto, sautéed wine and wild mushrooms was tender but the cheese was a bit tough and chewy. The sauce on top was over salted. My wife asked for her Bistecca Dimanzo (16 oz. sirloin steak) to be medium-pink and it came out medium rare. We sent it back but it returned charred on both sides so she did not eat much of it because quite frankly the steak was ruined. What a shame since it was $32! One of the servers did offer a free drink to my wife but since she does not drink we said thanks but no thanks.
Most disappointing was the "head-guy" never once came by to ask how things were."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for La Catena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Frugal Buyer

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was looking for a quiet place in the middle of the week to catch-up with a friend I hadn't seen in a while over a good meal with a decent glass of wine. La Catena delivered! A touch pricey, but good specials complimenting a decent menu."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for La Catena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious food and great sercice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I had not been back to this restaurant in years and the food and service were exactly as I remember during prior dinners there. Food was delicious and service very friendly and professional."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for La Catena
Based on the average of (12) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
9 out of 11 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate