Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

23Hoyt Reviews List

23Hoyt

The restaurant scene in Portland is among the most vibrant and interesting in the country. 23Hoyt's crave-able menu (with the best burger in town) still fits within the realm of "gastro-pub" with familiar offerings that exceed expectations on your first bite.
The comfortable cafe, bar and dining room features several seating areas including extensive outdoor cafe tables on bustling NW 23rd Avenue, in Nob Hill, the best boutique shopping neighborhood in the city.
See more 23Hoyt details
258 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(258 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 258 reviews
5 stars
(98)
4 stars
(98)
3 stars
(36)
2 stars
(18)
1 star
(8)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(115)
  • neighborhood gem(105)
  • special occasion(66)
  • romantic(65)
  • good for groups(63)
  • great for brunch(55)
23Hoyt Reviews List
Review 1 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Birthday brunch at 23 Hoyt

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Three of us had brunch at 23 Hoyt on Saturday. The service was excellent (Brandon) and the food was of very good quality too. I really like the atmosphere; I have eaten here many times, both lunch and dinner, and it is consistently good."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/01/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Went here for brunch this past weekend and had great food, excellent service, and $2 mimosas!!!"
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The omelette was well constructed, nice fluffy preparation. I requested the Hoyt omelette and the server ordered the Farm omelette. Between the server hardly ever showing up, long durations between visits, the bartender talking with female Bar patrons and not preparing drinks that have been ordered it was a very long and frustrating event."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This was a great find on 23rd. My mother lives just up the hill but we were visiting from San Francisco and just picked the restaurant from their menu on the web site. The food was fantastic, as well as the service. We plan on going back when in town."
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

too much salt

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"one of our favorite places --but not so good this time --trout and steak dishes were all way too salty--waiter did not check on how we liked the food until much too late--we were treated right in the end--comped the entrees and given dessert--so make sure to tell them to go easy on the salt and enjoy."
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/02/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The food is delicious!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Whenever we visit, everyone finds something new and delicious. The decor is very pleasant and it has parking nearby--always a plus in downtown Portland. My only minor negative comment is that the meat portions are huge while the vegetables portions are meager. More veggies per entree, please!"
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dinner 12/30 6:30 PM

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Service was very slow. Server was pleasant but not very attentive. Food was very good and properly prepared."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

so-so food, poor service

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We went on New Year's Eve, for which they offered a prix fix 3 course menu. The appetizers were tiny and bland, the veloutee soup was gritty and bland, and the main courses (beef and fish) were so-so at best. The worst part, though, was the service. Our waitress messed up our champagne and wine orders multiple times; had we not been on the ball, we'd have opened up a bottle we did not request. As it was, we sent back glasses of champagne different from what we'd asked for. It was a mess, and to make it worse, the waitress who didn't know what she was doing was rolling her eyes at US! I will not return, and advise others to stay away. Nothing good about this place."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Take it or Leave It

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We were seated immediately and the wait staff was attentive and personable. The food was excellent and reasonably priced.
Our issue was with the policy of no substitutions and no splitting of dishes. A restaurant of this caliber should not have a problem with either of these requests. The french fries were, admittedly, very good but diners should have a reasonable option.
We are certainly willing to pay a reasonable fee to cover the cost of the extra labor and/or food. Just bringing an extra plate is too tacky!
"
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went on NYE, so this may not be representative of the usual meal.
1. That being said, there were easily 12+ tables open, yet they chose to seat us just inside the door, where it was absolutely frigid. After several requests, we were moved to one of the many open tables upstairs.
2. Our first two courses were perfectly bland. Under seasoned and forgettable.
3. Entrees and dessert were better but did t make up for...
4. The absentee service. Either they were understaffed on the holiday or they were just bad at their jobs. Water, clean dinnerware, etc took ages to arrive.
5. Which brings us to the end - the check. We were paying cash but needed change. We waited for 10+ minutes for the server to return and take it before having to leave w/o change because of another engagement. Terrible."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mostly pleased

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Generally a good dining experience. Unfortunately, one of my guests ordered a kale salad and they ran out. The server seemed distracted and inattentive. The quality of the food was otherwise quite good. I had dined here once before this time and was pleased with the food and service."
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2005
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

jmack

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Our server, Josh was the best. When we noticed a cold draft from the nearby entrance we asked to be reseated. Josh offered us a choice of two tables with a smile. This great attitude continued through our whole evening there. The pacing of the courses was very slow and Josh apologized. We enjoyed the excellent pinot noir he recommended for us. My wife had the seafood stew and I had the brick chicken, both were very good. Initially the background music was too loud for our taste but we seemed to get used to it. All in all, very good if you are not in a hurry."
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2002
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A large event upstairs filled with kids had the place off rhythm. We had a series of delays and were finally served lukewarm food. The staff fixed it all quickly and were generous in comping our entrees. But it all seemed unnecessary. The food was quite good and we'll go back for a second try."
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Birthday disappointment

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Our experience was so negative that the manager comped our $80 dinner which took one hour to arrive. No one opened wine my daughter had sent for 20 minutes. The brick chicken was almost too salty to eat. The server seemed uncomfortable as if he had no control. Maybe the chef is under the influence?"
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

A disappointment

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We were really disappointed all the way around with our dining experience at 23 Hoyt. The service was slow, even though they were not very busy. The music was too loud and inappropriate for dining...very distracting. There was a cold draft. The fried oysters were too bready. The pork chop was over cooked and dry. I probably won't go back there."
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Christmas Eve

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I loved the concept and theme of the 3 course Christmas Eve by the chef. The food was good but not spectacular. The restaurant was wonderfully decorated. I didn't like the cocktail I ordered and had to exchange it for a glass of wine. That's probably not their fault though but I hate paying for something I didn't like and I'm not usually picky. I wish our bill had been less considering our overall experience. I'm not sure I would return to try their brunch or lunch, since the reviews are mixed."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The burger was over cooked and the fries were soggy and limp.
The atmosphere was pretty.
Overall just average. Many other better options in the neighborhood.
"
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/24/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Neighborhood gem!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This restaurant continues to be one of the top in Portland, I have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. This visit I ordered the marinated olive blend which is lovely and I had their salmon-rare which exquisitely was flash fried on the skin to make it crispy then finished off on the grill, with spinich and hazel nuts, Oh it was Soooo good! My friend ordered the beef and was throughly pleased. A great bottle of Turley Juvenile Zinfandel from Napa Valley rounded out our perfect meal, OH, BTW our waitress was superb! very friendly, helpful and attentive. The entire is so festive this time of year with their great Holiday decorations inside and the lighted trees outside. A neighborhood gem- Highly recommended!"
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Super helpful and attentive to food allergies

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food and waiter lukewarm

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Took 2 out of town guests for a nice meal. Menu was fantastic and we ordered quite a few different starters. The salmon and Jalapeño fritters, as well as the fried oysters came barely warm which was odd as they were both fried items and tasted great so I do not think they were reheated for the order, but who knows?
We then ordered 2 different steak dishes, and the Steelhead and they ALL came lukewarm????
Flavors were very good, but seemed odd they were not hot. Couldn't really send them back though as they would have had to completely remake them and it was already 8pm.
Service was slow although they were not very busy and the waiter was sort of rude, making weird gestures when we ordered like he was judging us. He turned up his nose when I ordered the oysters and when I asked why, he said "fried oysters and steak?" sort of mockingly. Not sure I would return again.
"
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mediocre Experience

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have gone to 23 Hoyt a few times with not so great experiences but decided to give it another try at the suggestion of a friend for brunch.. This time the service was terrible and the food was very mediocre. To begin, I ordered a latte and 20 minutes later, it was still not here. When it did arrive, it was one of the worst lattes I have ever had. It seemed our waiter forgot about us and the hostess came to our table more than once to see how she could help. When the entrees did arrive, they were barely warm and the potatoes were not even fully cooked on any of the 3 orders. I am not sure if I will be back. It's too bad because the location is great and the ambiance is very welcoming."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for 23Hoyt
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>