Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Courthouse Grille Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Courthouse Grille

You Be The Judge at The Courthouse Grille. Our guests experience superb service in a warm atmosphere. An updated and expanded menu still features Chef Ernesto's favorite Italian dishes along with new offerings from exciting starters and salads to gourmet burgers, pizza and sandwiches.
33 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(33 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
(15)
4 stars
(13)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(18)
  • good for groups(15)
  • romantic(15)
  • neighborhood gem(14)
  • fit for foodies(9)
  • great for lunch(9)
The Courthouse Grille Reviews List
Review 1 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love the menu and entertainment"
Dined on 11/15/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Family favorite"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Always a favorite choice"
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great night.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our waitress Angie was super. The food was prepared correctly. The atmosphere was great no little kids running around or crying."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Valentine's Day Fun

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I had dinner for Valentine's Day. We hadn't been there in a couple of years, but had a great time. The food, atmosphere, and wine were all you could ask for during a romantic evening out. The Beef Tenderloin Filet was outstanding. Their French Onion soup is among the best I've ever and don't forget to check out Debra Jimmerson for entertainment on weekends. She is outstanding."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great service Great food will recommend to everyone."
Dined on 1/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great exprience for a first time. Will be back!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very enjoyable. Service was good, food was WONDERFUL. Great ambiance, friendly staff, ample parking, variety of menu options, great experience!!"
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Bar is nice

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The bar is a great spot with live entertainment on the weekends."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Lonely diners

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I made a last minute reservation and we dined rather late. We got there around 8:30 and we were the only two people in the restaurant. It was definitely a private dining experience but at the same time it was weird. Food was fine, service was fine, ambience was fine. Maybe that's why it was so empty, nothing was outstanding, just...fine. I can't really add any recommendations like fit for foodies etc because I would need to be there when it was busy to get a better feel for it. I will be back to try it again though."
Dined on 10/06/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Special Date

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for our one year anniversary. Was a very special day. The food was awesome and so was the service. Beautiful old building wonderful character."
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

As always, Fabulous!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food is great and the service is wonderful. We love this place and go 2-3 times a month! This Plymouth restaurant has plenty of parking, unlike the ones a few blocks away that are downtown."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We enjoyed the Courthouse Grille very much!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was our first time dining at the Courthouse Grille restaurant. We recently attended a wedding there and the food was so good we decided to try a night out with friends.My husband said the Prime Rib was outstanding! Our friends enjoyed the fish fry and Macaroni and Cheese as well. My caesar salad was over dressed, but the shrimp in it was delicious! We will definitly come again"
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I come here often and whatever I order is always great. The service is always perfect. They're friendly and helpful. Love the fireplace! Will go back again this week. Thanks, Sam!"
Dined on 1/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This s a very good, old style place with Ernesto's imprint on many dishes. The menu is huge, the liquor list is extensive and the wines are good and affordable. There is no shortage of saturated fat and salt! Calamari would be much better without the zip sauce, but the Slider appetizer was delicious. The Veal Parmesan was also very good. Great place for kids--there are plenty of choices for them."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Solid Place

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We dined with friends at the Courthouse Grille and had an enjoyable experience. The food and service were very good, everyone enjoyed their dinner selection and had absolutely no complaints. We do plan on returning regularly."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The dinner was good. Our server appeared to be new, so service wasn't the best. Halfway through the salad they came back to tell us the Prime Rib we ordered was all sold out, so we had to re-group and pick another entree. This was a bit annoying. The place was extremely busy with three private parties and dinner guests. I liked to see them so busy. It 's good for business."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Delightful ambience with average food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Two of the four of us ate from the Special-of-the-Day menu; it wasn't very good food but we felt no need to complain. The veal/boursin cheese meal was a hit, but the Ernesto's lasagna was not. The salad was nothing special. The soup, however, was delicious and piping hot. The service was terrific!"
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Courthouse Grille
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious food at a reasonable price

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I had been to Courthouse Grille a few years ago, and I remembered the food being good and the prices being very fair for the quality and portion size. My second trip confirmed those thing. My wife and I split a bowl of the French onion soup. It was very rich and flavorful. It has a little different flavor than any other French onion I've had - in a good way. For main courses, we had the Pecan-Crusted Walleye and the Veal Cherry. Both came with salad, veggie and potato, and both were very good, but the walleye was definitely the better of the two dishes. It was nice and flaky, with a very nice texture and flavor from the crust. The veal was tasty as well, but the walleye was on a whole 'nother level.
My only complaint was the service. Our waiter was clearly over-seated. The frustrating part is that we could hear other servers offering to help him, but he kept turning them down, even though he wasn't able to keep up and provide good service to his customers. We had our bread and oil (which is delicious, by the way), then our soup and salads. However, 10 minutes after our soup and salads were cleared from our table, out waiter came out to tell us there was an issue with our main courses so they would be delayed another 10 minutes or so. I have no doubt that he simply forgot to fire our mains. This should in no way reflect on the restaurant, in my opinion. This falls squarely on the shoulders of our server, who turned down help when he shouldn't have. In the end, it may have been for the best though. We were so stuffed from the soup, bread and salads that it was nice to have a 20-25 minute break before having our main course. Had we been in a hurry, it would have been an issue, but we weren't.
I will definitely go back to The Courthouse Grille if I'm out in the area again. Their food is very good, and their prices are quite fair. Our bowl of French onion, walleye and veal, plus 2 pops cost us $48 + tip, which I think is very reasonable."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Courthouse Grille
Based on the average of (15) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
12 out of 15 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate