Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks Reviews List

Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks

Bogart"s Bar & Grill is a family friendly, full service bar and restaurant located on the 2nd floor of Muvico Theaters Thousand Oaks 14. We offer classic American Fare and top shelf liquor and wine selections in an upscale casual environment.
See more Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks details
22 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(22 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
(5)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(5)
  • late-night find(5)
  • fit for foodies(4)
  • neighborhood gem(4)
  • vibrant bar scene(4)
  • good for groups(2)
Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks Reviews List
Review 1 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Convenient after-movie location

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Had dinner here after seeing the latest Star Wars at the Muvico Theater, where it is located. Enjoyed the meal -- ahi/avocado lettuce wrap -- more than the movie."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2000
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

COLD!!!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The service was the absolute worst I have ever experienced. I am normally a great tipper. and on christmas day when i was there, I was expecting to leave at minimum 50% (gift to the poor server sho had to work). Instead I left 15% and was sorry i even left that. The food was slow to get to table. We were seated at 6:15. Did not leave until 7:45. Should not take 1 1/2 hours to get a burger. BUT THE BIGGEST problem was the freezing temperature!!!! It was like sitting in a meat locker. It was cold outside. You crave the feeling of wrath at dinner on a cold christmas night. Well this was the last place you wanted to be! I called the manager over and pointed out that EVERY customer was wearing their jackets and hats while they were eating. I asked if he recognized a common theme! He said the the air in restaurant is set by the theaters and there was nothing he could do. NEVER GO THERE when its cold outside. You will be colder once you get inside!"
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Christmas Day Movie & Lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Went there for Christmas day movie and had lunch. Had a great 2 entree and appetizer special. Had a great gourmet meal and price was better than purchasing popcorn and drinks."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Not many people this early. Was pretty full later. Great service, great food. A little pricey."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was great and I definitely want to go back"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Don't over look this place

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've seen negative reviews about the food and service. I've eaten here several times and have no issues with the service. The food is average. I wouldn't go here for a meal if I wasn't seeing a movie here, but if you are seeing a movie and want a decent meal before or after, this is perfect. There is also a full bar. It's unfortunate this place is never crowded but as a customer I can make an open table reservation and know I will be seated on Mother's Day, Father's day and we have even eaten here on Christmas after seeing a movie. The menu is mostly burgers which can be ordered as beef, turkey or veggie, fat breads and salads. Prices are about $12- $14 an item. I LOVE the convenience of this place. I hope it stays open."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just ok

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Bogarts burger was bland with no seasoning or flavor. The pizza burgers were good with the other meats adding flavor. Ordered their signature drink, Wild Berry Margarita. The first was good but the second was completely different, bitter and sour. Could even drink it. Fries were good but their catchup is way too sweet. Really liked the pretzel sticks just wish they offered regular mustard or Brown mustard."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Bogart is great for dinner and a movie.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The only thing that is a constant ,is change.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have been a patron of this particular Muvico theater in Thousand Oaks, CA, since it opened its doors on February 27, 2009. Since then, I have moved from T.O. to Playa del Rey, and most recently, Redondo Beach but I still find the time to make the hour drive to this theater for only one reason ... IT IS THE BEST! Unfortunately, Muvico has been purchased by a company called Carmike, and so far, I am not a fan of the changes that have taken place. But I digress. Bogart's used to be a restaurant where you could sit down and have a nice relaxing dinner before a movie. However, within the last couple months, according to our waitress last Thursday, the menu no longer has actual dinners. The menu has removed its steaks, and chicken entrees with more burgers, snacks, and typical bar food. Additionally, the quality of the food has significantly declined. Instead of having a steak, we had to resort to greasy, fried, and overcooked burgers & appetizers. I do understand that some things must change, especially after an acquisition, however, for this theater to make it through the last few years of the recession unchanged, only to roll out these "cutbacks" within the last couple months, is depressing and disconcerting. The service was not as attentive as it usually is. (Please note that the restaurant was not crowded). The food took excessively long to prepare from the time we ordered, and the waitress was hard to find when we needed our water glasses refilled. Writing this review was very painful for me and I truly hope that Carmike will realize what is important to its customers and allow Muvico to continue giving its patrons the level of product and service they have come to love and enjoy."
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2005
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Convenient!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food is good- not great, but it's very convenient to eat there before seeing a movie at Muvico."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Surprise

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We actually booked this place by mistake, thinking we were headed to a different destination. When we arrived, we found out that this was a restaurant attached to the movie theater in Thousand Oaks. We decided to stay and give it a shot and were pleasantly surprised at the food selection. It was quite varied and the food itself was very good. They had a notable enough liquor and wine selection as well, even have a muscato for my wife. While we won't be rushing back to just eat there, we would visit again, if going to the movies. The service was also outstanding."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Best Place to Eat in Thousand Oaks Mall

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food choices are great -- original but not too far out there -- something for everyone. And the food is very well prepared -- I love the fries! We always eat here when we go to a movie at Muvico or just when shopping at the mall. You can make reservations and be assured of someplace good to eat without waiting."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Better than expected

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Given that it is a restaurant inside a movie theater it was much better than I expected.
The service itself was exceptional.
I enjoyed the food although it wasn't the very best.
"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

GREAT BEFORE OR AFTER A MOVIE

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great food and quick service. They have great food, appropriate serving size and a nice open area and modern decor."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bogart's Bar and Grill - Thousand Oaks
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
5 out of 6 recommend this product
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic