Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Cafe Gabbiano Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Cafe Gabbiano

Cafe Gabbiano is the best Italian fine dining experience on Siesta Key! We invite you to enjoy our carefully prepared authentic Italian cuisine and a world class selection of wine.
135 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(135 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 135 reviews
5 stars
(64)
4 stars
(50)
3 stars
(14)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(66)
  • notable wine list(64)
  • romantic(64)
  • special occasion(62)
  • neighborhood gem(49)
  • great for outdoor dining(29)
Cafe Gabbiano Reviews List
Review 1 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food and service excellent

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Music was good but a little too loud. While the small rooms have "charm" it was so small that you were listening to every conversation from all the other tables. Get rid on just one of the tables would really improve this condition."
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Feels like you are in Italy

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We love this restaurant. This time we ordered from the Savor Sarasota menu and this was a very good deal (appetizer, entree, dessert $29). The Veal Saltimboca was delicious, and I loved the Buffalo mozzarella cheese in the Caprese appetizer. They make their own mozzarella cheeses. I got the wine pairing with dinner and the waiter even gave my spouse (who was drinking coco cola) a nice taste of the effervescent Moscato with desert."
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Friday on Siesta

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Enjoyed an early dinner with friends. Specials were great. Service was attentive (we wanted to talk). Only issue was one red wine by the glass was not up to par."
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"4 different appetizers & entrees, 3 desserts; all delighted with our choices, however all agree the service was definitely NOT up to par!!! 3 stars might be a gift!!!"
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love great resturants

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food very good, service good, outside seating fair-would not sit outside next time. Inside of restaurant beautiful-lots of small rooms-wish we would have known-the experience would have been excellent..
One major complaint. They have the most uncomfortable seats that I have truly ever experienced. I went searching for a seat to replace mine. Another table came in and two diners did the same thing. Then as we were finishing a family came in and the father did the same thing! I complained and was told that they were aware if the issue and are replacing the seats. Couldn't happen quick enough-we are locals and eat out 3 nights a week and won't frequent a restaurant that provides an uncomfortable experience.
"
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Our Dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife and I dined at Cafe Gabbiano's this past week and were somewhat disappointed. While they do have a very extensive wine list there were very few options available by the glass, especially white wine. We ordered a bottle of Italian white wine and discovered the restaurant didn't have any of it already chilled. However the restaurant was very accommodating and brought an ice bucket to chill it. When it was suitably chilled the waiter opened it, offered a sample for approval, and then we noticed the color of the wine. It was much darker than it should have been (it was a 2011 vintage) which indicates the restaurant isn't storing it properly. We ended up approving it as the taste wasn't too different than it should have been but you could tell it would soon go bad. When we were served our entrees, the food was ok. Whenever we had dined at Gabbiano's in the past, the food was much better than this meal. It could be the restaurant had an off night that night, which happens, but the overall experience wasn't as good as previous ones."
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Definitely a spot to visit again and again!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were lucky to find this restaurant open on Thanksgiving for dinner in 2013. On our next trip in May of 2015 we wanted to go back and we were definitely not disappointed. Food is excellent and from the outside you would never know how charming it is inside. Even has a great climate-controlled dining area. Extremely kid-friendly, but also great foodie options for everyone else. We love this place and will be back every visit for sure!"
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have eaten here three, maybe four times. We seem to have terrible luck here every time! Let me start with the good, the food! The fresh marinara is great, the homemade lobster ravioli is fantastic, their veal is superb!! This is the reason we keep coming back.
But the service is spotty! The wait staff is pleasant, the issues aren't their fault... But it seems disorganized! For example last night we made reservations and the hostess didn't notice we requested porch dining so we had to correct her when she started to lead us inside. There we sat with our menus for about 10 minutes. Then the hostess brought us water "in the meantime". 5 minutes later we got a bread basket. 5 minutes after that a waitress came over and asked us if we had wen helped yet. Nope. Not sure why she asked us that? Is the wait staff not told of a new guest they are assigned to? Was she working a different section? Did they forget to tell her she was waiting on us? Did she just notice that we looked hungry and there was nothing on our table? It was odd. Odder still when a twosome was sat next to us, the hostess told them "So and So will be right with you" and then So and So came and took their drink order and brought them water and told them the specials less than 5 minutes later! The wine menu is pretty good, but they always seem to have trouble with our wine! The first time we went there they brought us the wrong wine! We didn't notice right away so our fault. We ALWAYS check now! The second time they did it AGAIN but we corrected them. This time we ordered a different wine. And she brought the wrong one! We sent it back and about 5-10 minutes later she returns to tell us they don't have that wine. So we pick another. I think we got our wine after being at the restaurant nearly an hour! I don't know, everyone else seemed to be having a good time with no issues... Maybe we are just unlucky. Oh, and the AC vent drips nearby, splashing you. I've been to better!
"
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Surrounded by fines wines

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I wish we were wealthy enough to afford some of the fabulous wines on the menu. Bottle prices ranged from mid-thirties to hundreds of dollars. I ended up with a lovely glass of Chianti. We both ordered Scallopine Mamma Lucia, a house specialty, and it was a gastronomic delight. We started with the Mozarella Bar sampler with thr pesto and spec (like prochiutto) preparation. The scamorzza, the third type of mozzarella, was on the tough side, but the Buffalo and regular mozarella were delicious. All of the cheeses and pasta are made in-house from scratch. The wait staff were professional and attentive and many were narive Italians, which added to the ambiance. The back wine room felt a bit cramped. Next, time we will sit on the patio (i.e. air-conditioned patio). Yes, we are definitely returning!! A bit pricey, but much more elegant than many Sarasota restaurants, so worth the extra bucks."
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

a little off the beaten path but worth the drive

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/01/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wine and Italian in Siesta Key

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Italian food is extraordinary, but the wine list is wine spectator worthy"
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2014
 2013
Dined on 9/26/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/11/2013
 2015
Dined on 10/11/2013
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/11/2013
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

love the atmosphere..

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had our anniversary celebration with friends, and a shout out to the staff for making it special for us!"
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A Solid Italian Restaurant Choice

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"There is no shortage of Italian restaurants in the Sarasota area. This one is well above average. On our visit, the service was outstanding and the main courses were quite good. Both starter salads were adequate but nothing special. There's a wide selection of wines at standard restaurant prices."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pleasant surprise

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We thought we had booked for Favios just down the road but I inadvertently booked here. What a great mistake to have made. We and our guests were very pleasantly surprised. Made me look like a real genius. We'll definitely be back. Thanks"
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful Treat

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've been going to the Siesta Key area for 40yrs. never been here before. I wanted someplace to take my Mom and Dad that was casual but nice with great food without crazy prices. I hesitated going here as it was Easter week and being near the village I expected parking challenges and craziness. What a Wonderful surprise. Our waiter was wonderful, the food was awesome!!!. I was only disappointed when I took home my leftovers and my nephew gobbled them up. Was looking forward to a nice lunch. Love that they would cook to order and modify the entree's GREAT PLACE - My nephew went the following week with his girlfriend and was also very impressed."
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We always bring our guests to Cafe Gabbiano.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We love Cafe Gabbiabo. We bring our house guests there all the time. From the impeccable service to the delicious food the night is always perfect from beginning to end. Go and treat yourself at Cafe Gabiabbo. Ask for Angelo as your server. You will be glad you chose this spot for your night out!"
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Terrible Service with a Side of Poor Management

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had an 8 pm reservation, waited over 1/2 an hour for the bread and drinks. The waiter said it would be 15 more minutes for our dinners and they were not served until 9:50. The manager was argumentative when we voiced our concerns over the slow service. This used to be a great restaurant but we won't ever go back."
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, so-so service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had the mozzarella sampler, salad, and osso bucco ravioli. The ravioli was extremely good, very flavorful and rich tasting without being heavy. The tiramisu was also extremely delicious, very flavorful and creamy with being too sweet. A new waiter was helping our waiter and he splashed wine all over the table and did not return to clean it up so we had to do it ourselves. Very annoying and almost spoiled the mood, but the wonderful food allowed us to recover our good spirits. And the waiter who brought water and bread was extremely charming despite his limited English. All in all, quite good and definitely worth a try or a return visit."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent in every way

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Overall, they hit it out of the park! Highly recommended. We took friends to Gabbiano for their anniversary. Our third visit and looking forward to more. The waiter was outstanding, the atmosphere perfect (with several different seating areas, each with a different ambiance). Ovll, they hit it out of the park! Highly recommended."
Dined on 4/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food excellent. The wine room in the back too loud and annoying . Will request different seating next time."
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Italian Food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food here is quite good. We actually ate here twice in a two week period. Our second time was much nicer due to our waitress, Ashley. The water boy was poorly trained and a bit of a distraction. His performance was not a plus for the restaurant. Nice wine list! Good homemade desserts."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

American...Italian

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband is full blooded Italian... in the States one year. We were celebrating our one year anniversary and wanted good Italian food... We had a wonderful bottle of wine from a very nice selection and a delicious antipasto of burrato that was well worth its price. Bread was warm and melted in the mouth.
Then unfortunately we kept eating. We both had a veal dish that was drowning in watered down juices. No flavor.. something you would never see in Italy... the pasta side was underwhelming to say the least.
Waiters and waitresses ran around the restaurant like it was on fire and we felt rushed thru the entire meal.
By far our most expensive meal of the holiday, and the most disappointing.
"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Don't miss this outstanding spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food at Gabbianos is incredible. The chef has a fine touch, the wine selections are wonderful and the personal attention from the staff notable,"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best in Siesta Key

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Café Gabbiano is our favorite restaurant and first place we take our friends to. The food is so good you can't wait to go again. But one of the other reason's is our server, Marco he is the best. very helpful, attentive and his suggestions are always right on !!"
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Gabbiano's on Siesta Key

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We enjoyed going back to Gabbiano's again this year. The staff is very friendly and the food is delicious. Service is fairly quick if you want it to be but they don't make you feel rushed if you want to take your time. The wine list is quiet extensive and the menu varied. If you like veal, I recommend Scallopine Mama Lucca, a house specialty. We will definitely go back."
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good Italian food.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had been here before so we took friends who were on Siesta Key for a week. We each had different entrees. Our friends proclaimed the food to be the best Italian food they had eaten. The house Nero d'Avelo was excellent."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fine Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was excellent, the environment was good, the pricing was reasonable for the quality of the experience and the food was outstanding!"
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"2nd time here, we run the First Watch half marathon every year and Cafe Gabbiano is a great pre-race spot, good food!"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Superb!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our meals were delicious and our waiter was excellent. At first they wanted to seat us in the patio area, but after we requested something more " cozy," they accommodated us with a great table near the wine room. We will be going there again."
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"food was excellent-but service was extremely slow-- seated at 6:15 and never got meals until 8:00 - were told order got lost in kitchen---would give them another try because food was so good and they did give us an adjustment on bill for our inconvenience"
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Very poor service, place seemed to be in disarray

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"When we finally got our food it was tastety and served hot. It took 1 hour form the time we were seated until we got our meal. Our server did apologize, but this type of wait is un called for. All the help seemed to be just running around not knowing what to do next. We have been there several times, but will not go back."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good authentic italian restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Pleasant, knowledgeable service with an upscale menu . No setting to speak of but more suited to indoor dining, conversation and enjoyable food. Imaginative antipasti with house made mozzarella and garnishes. Sauces were fresh and the special veal with egg plant was excellent. Very good wine list. Prices reflect the quality and the service."
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Second visit after one year and it was as nice

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had dinner on Valentine's Day, and despite restaurant being full, service and food preparation were very good. Highly recommend for a quality Italian dinner anytime."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Cafe Gabbiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A disappointment

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Because it was Valentine's day the menu was limited. Service was good but the food was mediocre and the price was too high for what we got.. We won't be back"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>