Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City Reviews List

Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City

Ruby River Steakhouse is a Utah original, born out of the desire to create the most flavorful steaks West of the Mississippi. Hand-cut in-house daily for freshness, and twenty-one day aged for tenderness; once you’ve dined with us you'll experience the passion and quality that is Ruby River. We are honored to have been voted Utah's Best Steak by City Search, City Weekly, and Best of State time and time again.

We offer more than high quality steaks. Indulge in tender chicken, fresh seafood, fall off the bone ribs and mouthwatering desserts, or one of our seasonal specialties all while enjoying a handcrafted soda or gold medal beer from our brewery. It's the perfect complement to any meal.

Ruby River is laid back style with a country romance. It's a place to relax with family and friends that feels as comfortable as home. So, sit back and relax with us for your next celebration or when you just want a night out with friends.

What a steak ought to be!
See more Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City details
60 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(60 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
5 stars
(19)
4 stars
(20)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(20)
  • good for groups(18)
  • kid-friendly(14)
  • fit for foodies(10)
  • great for lunch(9)
  • neighborhood gem(7)
Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City Reviews List
Review 1 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/23/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Lack of service, inexperienced waiter, bad drinks & server asked too many questions."
Dined on 3/22/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a wonderful time and the food was great. Def will be back soon!"
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2016
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good place for steak

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We have eaten at the Ruby River a number of times over the years and it continues to be one of the better places for a good steak in Salt Lake City."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2009
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Christmas Eve Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"It took awhile for our appitizer to come. Our meal consisted of salad, steak & ribs. My vegetable was asparagas and it was disappointing, very small pieces and limp as well. All in all, it was a pleasant dinner."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The biggest issue was the poor quality of the ribeye steak we purchased. It was full of grisel and kind of tough, not what I have experienced before. Among the many steakhouses that we frequent it was the poorest meal, especially for the price, that we have experienced that we can remember. The reason we tried Ruby River for first time in many years was because we received gift certificates. I would not recommend it to a friend."
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Ruby in SLC

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Went here for a birthday dinner, had amazing service. Bartender (Monty) was very pleasant and made sure we had what we needed. The manager (Paul) brought a birthday dessert. Extremely good service and a good time."
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mbs

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The waitress was excellent. Great service and speedy."
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bad experience that night.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We did not have a very good experience that night. Some of it was the service and some of it was disappointment with the food. The fact that they were our of Prime Rib was really a bit much as the last time we were there they were out also. We had guest from out of state and we thought we could depend on Ruby River but I guess not any more. I have already emailed Ruby River regarding our experience. Thank you."
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The entire evening was jeopardized...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We made our Open Table reservation routinely; when we arrived, a very snippy hostess informed us that we had no reservation, because they had two large parties and several other people waiting. When we showed her our online reservation confirmation, she told us that "Ruby River does not take reservations! Open Table has it wrong."
I asked to speak to her manager, at which time she suddenly decided to seat us immediately. The evening was saved by a very personable and competent waitress (coincidentally named "Ruby"!) who took our orders, put us at ease, and provided the service that saved the day. We tipped her well, and left in a much better mood than we had in the first 15 minutes of our visit.
I never did see the manager, but didn't push further to see him/her, either."
Dined on 10/26/2015
 2008
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great service & food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Been before Good - This time VERY Disappointing

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went this time service fair to Poor and Food Poor.
I ordered the 16 oz Prime Rib Med Rare.. When it came Over a 1/3 of it was fat and Grissel and super rare.. My Baked Potato was downright cold.. I started to wait to see our waitress who did not show for longest time. Due to going to Symphony, I finally ate what was there that was eatable as needed be able to leave to get to Symphony. I did want to speak to Manager on way out but was told not available. I hate to see a good restarant go downhill as I am afraid this one is starting to.
"
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Mundane ambience

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is an acceptable restaurant; hardly spectacular. Services was good, but slow. However, the food was above average (cookie cutter restaurants).Ruby"
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great fun

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was an awesome experience. Ruby River has great food with a good price. The service was quick and friendly. Fantastic place!"
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Poor service disappointing steak

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I wanted to spoil my fiancée and he had never been to Here before and I had been to the old one in Jordan Commons and I loved it. Well it was no where near to the same place. For starters our waiter hardly came to the table, I asked him for a water and he never brought it. Half of my dinner I went without a drink. My fiancées soda was not refilled. Then we got our steaks he got the Fillet Mingon and I got the Porter House. Our steaks had no flavor. Literally NO flavor. Mine even kind of tasted like roast. Also my Jacketed Baked Potato tasted old and my sour cream and butter had fallen off my potato so it didn't even soak into the potato. I couldn't believe that this was the same restaurant that I loved so much the first time."
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We are a tough table.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I were craving steak one night. Our old 'go to' favorite for a little splurging used to be Market Street U of U, which has closed, so were left wondering what to do next. That is when I remembered Ruby River! We have had a few good experiences there in the past, but it has never been on our list of "regulars". We had such a great night last week! Our waiter was SUPER friendly and took a lot of joking around in stride. (Doesn't one HAVE TO give a little harassing in this state when you order a drink?) Our poor 22 year old, non-local, waiter was taken off guard, but unscathed. My husband would be considered "particular" about his food and I have 18 years of cooking professionally in my history. NO complaints here. It was hot- thank you, Ruby, for embracing the sizzling platter! Never a cold meal again! I just wish they would bring back the gratin potatoes. I am glad to say that Ruby River will be on my list for great steaks and a fun experience on a regular basis."
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

What a way to cap off our trip to the west

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We ended our western vacation in slc so we wanted a steak dinner. Ruby's was great nice western style steakhouse food was great, a minor mistake on the order and the waitress corrected it quickly. (Sour cream on a potato that wasn't supposed to have it) We all had steaks and they were cooked perfectly which I can't remember when that last happened. A wonderful ending to our western vacation. .... Next time we are in salt lake we plan to stop in at Ruby's what a gem."
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I reserved a table for two at 6:30 for our 40th wedding anniversary. We arrived 30 minutes early thinking we may have to wait for our scheduled time. The host was able to seat us right then. The service and food was great. we will will return."
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great if you like over-seasoned food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My 14 year old daughter loves Ruby River so we go fairly often. For my taste the food is seasoned much too strongly. I have them withhold seasoning from my steak, but nothing could save the snow crab on the Steak Oscar. Ruby River is popular, though, so lots of people must like the seasoning. Also, we've always had good service."
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Nothing remarkable or memorable about this place--the steak wasn't that great. Really like an upscale Texas Roadhouse. Won't be going back."
Dined on 3/29/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

food was fantastic.first ti

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pretty good place to eat

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My girlfriend and I went to Ruby River for my birthday because I wanted a good steak and a beer. It was a good restaurant that I would recommend to friends. Service was great and food was pretty good. I will say I had a little higher expectations for the steaks. They were good but not great. I ordered medium rare and got medium and my girlfriend ordered medium and got medium well. Not so bad that it was worth a complaint or anything but not up to the standards of other steakhouses I have been to."
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was the first time I have been to a Ruby River Steakhouse and it was wonderful. The food and service were both great and the order was spot on!"
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"my wife and I were extremely pleased with the food at your restaurant, our first visit we had the sampler ( onion, steak/ avocado egg rolls and wings) followed steak & mashed potatoes for me and steak and steamed veggies for her,
We returned the second night just for the sampler we didn't order full meals because the sampler was great and was a meal in itself.
"
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

busy busy busy

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"we made a reservation, and still ended up waiting about 15 minutes. however, the food was great and the portions were huge. i recommend both the avocado steak egg roll appetizers and the steak soup."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had to order off the dinner menu to get a ribeye steak. Mine was made to order. My friend had to send hers back twice because it was overcooked. She ordered it medium rare and the first one came out medium. The second one came out medium well. Three times was the charm. Our server was friendly, however, I did have to wait for a refill, which is a pet peeve of mine. Appetizers are over-priced. We ordered the coconut shrimp (over $10 for 5 pieces of shrimp). Really hate when there are an even number of people dining and they have an odd number of pieces to share. Also, our server didn't bring out any plates on which to put our appetizer, so we ended up eating off the serving plate.
Other than that, it was fine.
"
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

amazing steaks

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our first time eating at the restaurant. It was the best steak I have ever eaten. They were cooked perfectly and the flavor was amazing. They literally melted in your mouth. The jackets baked potatoes are really good too. Service was great, online reservation and they got us in and out rather quickly!"
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

1st Place for Valentine's Rush

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've visited other restaurants on Valentine's and more than not am disappointed. It seems the food and the service drops during the holiday rush. Ruby River was great. The service was excellent. Our waiter Ralph was very entertaining and even when he was busy other staff stopped by to make sure we were taken care of. The steaks were the best that my husband and I have ever eaten and comparable to places like Ruth Chris but at a much more affordable price.
Thanks for making Valentine's day nice.
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Service but mediocre steak

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was friendly and prompt. They made sure our kids were taken care of. However the steak was pretty mediocre. It was fine from a family perspective but the steak was no better than Sizzlers."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

My dining experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were in the mood for a good steak and so we decided to go to Ruby River. We're glad we did. The food was excellent and the service very friendly. If you're in the mood for a great steak dinner try Ruby River!"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Reservatio

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant had no record of our online reservation, but, fortunately was still able to seat us."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Bo

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Staff was super nice. Sadly the food was overly covered in butter. They deep fried the sweet potato and it had a word taest/smell. We would rather pay for better quality food."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

a reservation was worthless....

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Did not get the table we reserved for our party. Instead they crammed us into a booth. If open table reserves you for a table, you should get that table. The hostess would not budge...."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The staff was GREAT.. The atmosphere was GREAT... The food was EXCELLENT"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Comfortable atmosphere, high end food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"It seems a lot of the restaurants today are moving towards a very formal high end dining atmosphere, even to the point of coming off as necessarily "hoity toity." Steakhouses especially have always been on this trend, but Ruby River was specifically recommended as a place where the atmosphere is much more casual and friendly, while keeping to the high end quality of food and service. After visiting for the first time, I fully agree.
The environment feels like what I'd expect from an authentic steakhouse, with a more homey country feel, but without the usual forced tackiness. Our waitress was friendly and patient, and was eager to give her recommendations on what to order. After an appetizer of Calamari, my boyfriend ordered the recommended New York with Gorgonzola and I ordered the King Crab. All of came out exactly as we ordered and tasted amazing.
Calamari I've had in the past has seemed very bland and flavorless, and had to be drenched in lemon and provided sauce to be worth eating. Here the squid as well as breading was full of flavor, and went well both alone as well as with the addition of lemon or sauce. The New York was, as described in the menu, incredibly seasoned, and the cheese only added to the flavor. While both he and I found the flavor well balanced, I could see where others might be overwhelmed by it, and would recommend trying another milder steak if you don't usually enjoy a whole lot of intense flavor. The King Crab was the best I've had, especially for a restaurant that is not specifically seafood-focused. There was a ton of meat, all of it rich and hearty as king crab should be.
Neither of us had had creme brulee in the past, so we decided to try the raspberry creme brulee. The only thing I can complain about is that I wish they'd given us more of it. It was delicious.
At the end of the meal, we were both very full and very happy. To top it all off, the prices were incredibly reasonable for a steakhouse and for the amazing food quality."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Ruby River Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
10 out of 11 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic