Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Plearn Thai Reviews List

Plearn Thai

Plearn Thai provides delicious Thai in the Berkeley area with dine in, delivery or carry out service.
See more Plearn Thai details
21 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(21 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
(4)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
1.6 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(8)
  • fit for foodies(6)
  • neighborhood gem(5)
  • great for lunch(4)
  • great for outdoor dining(1)
  • kid-friendly(1)
Plearn Thai Reviews List
Review 1 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2010
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Thai Flavor and Spice

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We enjoyed our Easter dinner here. Very quiet as not many in restuarant. We ordered four dishes and rice and tea. Really great flavor and loved the rice served in a heart shape. Would definately recommend."
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not what it used to be

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/21/2016
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My husband and I came here to revisit an old favorite during our courting years of 25 years ago. It was nothing like the wonderfully vibrant restaurant with the very tasty exotic cuisine we remembered. It was just an adequate neighborhood restaurant not much different than what we can find everywhere now. I guess you can't go home again."
Dined on 3/21/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Modest Thai Near Berkeley Rep

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Came upon this place when I was looking for a moderately priced restaurant near Berkeley Rep. Surprisingly good food. Seafood and veggies was very fresh, curries were flavorful. Very empty despite two sold out plays, etc going on just two blocks away. Will definitely eat there again before theater or music performance!"
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Don't Go

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"terrible place - the smell of camphor overwhelms you as you enter; the food is not good. Avoid this place."
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Overwhelmed staff and blah food

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Perhaps because it was Christmas Day eve (we had made a reservation), the staff seemed overwhelmed. It took a very long time for our order to be taken and not until I had motioned the waiter over twice. It was difficult to know who was doing what. It was a cold night and the temperature inside the restaurant was not many degrees above that outside. Everyone kept on their heavy coats. When the food came, it was very mediocre. Tom Yum was without much flavor and barely spiced. The main courses were also very mediocre: the pumpkin curry had little to no pumpkin, the pad kee mao was ok but probably the least interesting I've had, and the third dish--with chicken and rice--was barely spiced. I would not return and wouldn't recommend the restaurant to others. There are plenty of choices for good Thai food in the East Bay."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 10/22/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

really good tasting food for inexpensive prices

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/25/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious food, inexpensive, zesty flavors

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were greeted by a waitress who spoke virtually no English and had no idea what Open Table was. Took repeated requests to speak to someone else to get the manager. We ordered off the lunch special menu. The food was adequate but nothing more and, in the case of one of our orders, was not what we had ordered. But it was the same price, was acceptable and would have been too complicated to suggest a correction. There are two Plearn Thai's in the same general area of Berkeley, one on University and one on Shattuck. Only the University location is on Open Table and this guided our selection. Not sure if we'll try the other location or not."
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Meal; Poor Communication?

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was good and the portions generous. Nice ambiance. Reasonably convenient to BART and entertainment venues. NOTE that, when I arrived at the restaurant at the reserved hour, Plearn Thai's server told me and my guests that she had no record of my Open Table reservation for a table for 6 people at the expected time. Fortunately, there was room for us anyway, and we were seated promptly. This is the first time I've used Open Table for this particular restaurant, so I don't know if that was a one-time glitch or if it's a recurring issue."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Plearn Thai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Plearn

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Interesting, menu tends to spicy hot, kitchen needs more help. Would go back."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Plearn Thai
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
1 / 3
Quiet