Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Winegasm Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Winegasm

Winegasm Eatery is an intimate wine bar and restaurant in Astoria, New York with a bistro like feel, ideal for conversation, while sampling wines and cocktails from all over the world. An open kitchen offers shareable portions that make this Mediterranean tapas menu fun to explore while enjoying a glass of wine or a pitcher of Sangria.

Exposed brick walls complement the intricate woodwork, giving a Mediterranean feel to this eclectic wine bar. Communal tables cater to large parties while smaller groups will revel in the private seating and romantic setting.
32 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(32 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
(13)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • notable wine list(19)
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • romantic(15)
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • good for groups(7)
  • hot spot(7)
Winegasm Reviews List
Review 1 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/12/2014
 2012
Dined on 1/12/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/12/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2014
 2011
Dined on 8/29/2014
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/29/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great time overall and experience was great until the very end. For whatever reason they thought it was too complicated to split the bill. The server had gone to dinner and the bartender was very rude. It made for a very unpleasant 30 mins at the end of the dining experience (unnecessarily) and to compensate for the bartender being rude he kept saying " well just don't tip them". Which was even more obnoxious because we would be tipping our server who gave excellent service not him!"
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Upon my arrival I was greeted by almost every staff member, sat at the bar and bartender was eager to help me find a good choice of wine. Really pleasant vibe with great service. Can't wait to go back."
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Just so disappointing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have worked in the service industry for 19 years. I am understanding and never EVER tip less than 20%. I know how overwhelming situations may become and can even handle being forgotten for a time without a bad review. Until this experience. We were forgotten five times. 5. Out of four tables. Either my server was overwhelmingly stoned or something devastating happened to him and he should have been covered. I would have even forgiven him the forgetfulness were it not for his condescension when I asked for the check 15 minutes after our plates had been cleared away.
Additionally-- The food was bland. The calamari, the cod stuffed peppers, the hummus and the tomato mozzarella piazzita. Bland. Fine but bland.
The wine was all right as well.
I don't write reviews. But my experience here was beyond awful. There was no -gasm of any kind."
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food but zero service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We made a reservation for just after the kitchen opens (5:30), so it was very quiet most of the time we were there. Only as we were finishing was there more than one other table occupied.
The waitress was great at the beginning - suggesting some wines for our fondue and wine flights, and even subbing in a cider for one of my wines when my choice wasn't available.
The food came within a reasonable amount of time and was delicious.
But then we were completely ignored. We would have ordered multiple more rounds of wine, and maybe even more food had the waitress come near us after delivering the food. We had to physically get up to walk across the restaurant and ask for more water after finishing all our food and waiting nearly 30 minutes trying to get her attention - she and the other man there (manager?) were just hiding behind the bar, drinking wine, chatting, and checking their phones. Then we had to get up AGAIN to ask for the bill! And this is not a large restaurant, so there's no way they could miss seeing us if they had just looked over.
I will try once more - I live very close and would love to support them rather than some chain place or loud sports bar, but only if someone will actually serve me some wine!
"
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great place for wine, fondue and conversation

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If you are looking for a covenient place in Astoria to relax with wine, indulge in conversation and indulge in the variety of small plates and fondue...this is the place. Layout is intimate and rustic while having room for groups and a bar scene."
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2011
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/29/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/29/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good if you pick the right dishes

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a really cut spot in Astoria and I wanted to love it. It's small, quaint, nice menu and good wine list. However the food is hit or miss, although we enjoyed our food some of the items could've been better. For example, I know pork belly is fatty but the sliders were a little too fatty. Also the place is cute but they have communal tables, party of two sit across from each other and it's hard to hear one another meanwhile you can hear the people next to you quite well."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Calamari, calamari, calamari - fresh, delicious perfection. Great wine selection. Wonderful vibe. Intimate, romantic for dates and yet warm and inviting for friends to talk and have great wine."
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food, fabulous wine

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent food, fabulous wine, warm and inviting atmosphere with great music."
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice ambiance, delicious food & wines

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our family of four came (wasn't the plan to bring the kids but in the end we had to). The adults enjoyed a lovely wine flight and cheese fondue, while the wee ones loved their two flavors of pizzettas. Our server was superb -- very gracious to all four of us despite it being a more adult restaurant. An all around positive experience; we will be back!"
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Absolutely delicious tapas-like plates. The wine list was very very selective- in a good way. Various wines from various countries. Amazing port dessert as well. Definitely try the steak crossant dish!"
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"it was a pleasant place love the ambiance
I would like for them to have more of a wine selection but overall it was a vry nice place
"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Winegasm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

best little place on earth

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a great place if you love food and if you like comfort foods with a twist. My husband and I love to try new places and the food was great the truffle mac and cheese was OK the pate was out of this world melt in your mouth flavor. The server was quiet and mousy but it was part of the charm. It is the type of place you go if you do not want to rush to go and grab food and the run. It is a place you will want to go to relax and enjoy the place and you company and have a great cocktail with great food."
Dined on 11/23/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Winegasm
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
6 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic