Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Blokes & Birds Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Blokes & Birds

Blokes&Birds is a public house. But more than that, it manifests our personal affinity with English Pub Culture. Take a dash of world travel, a love of brilliant food & drink, a healthy curiousity & throw in a consummate appreciation of good company and that will give you a good idea of where we come from.

To our regulars, always feel welcome and always be yourselves. We’re your comfort spot and your place to welcome friends of your own. To new friends, we aspire to be the exciting first date that feels surprisingly comfortable & pleasantly familiar. In the end, we hope to inhabit the intersection of being home & being out—where conversations flow & good vibes float freely around the room like old friends. Blokes & Birds may not be an English pub in the strictest sense, but we hope in our own way that we’ve captured the soul of one.
51 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(51 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
(17)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(21)
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • great for brunch(13)
  • vibrant bar scene(10)
  • great for lunch(8)
Blokes & Birds Reviews List
Review 1 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/23/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Favorite First Date Spot

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Blokes and Birds is never packed and always has great drinks. Food is okay - nothing special. But it's a great first date place because it is on the more quiet side."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good brunch place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Nice place, very good food. We were there for Sunday brunch before a cubs game. Service a little slow, but very friendly."
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Enjoyed but could have had a better experience ...

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I brought my parents for brunch and was super excited about it. We had a late reservation and they were out of the biscuits and gravy and another menu item, however they state brunch goes until 3pm and we were there at a noon. Also there were two hostess but only two waiters for the whole restaurant. It was a game day so I feel like there were a lot of people in and out. I would think that the restaurant would want to make sure they had enough wait staff or the hostess should have pitched in."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I never write reviews but I had high hopes for this restaurant after reading others. It was pretty disappointing the food was average at best and the service all around bad. I went with a friend for an early dinner last Saturday the crew hovered together at an empty table and treated us as unwelcome guests."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our experience at Blokes & Birds was great!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2014
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our experience at Blokes & Birds was great. but the place was a little loud due to a large party day drinking. The service was a little slow for how little people were in the restaurant, but the food was excellent.
They have bottomless mimosas for $13 which is a deal because one mimosa alone is $8, so if you plan on having more than one drink - go bottomless.
I had the prosciutto eggs benedict and it was outstanding. My friends had the chicken and waffles and blokes breakfast, both were excellent. They also had someone singing with a guitar and playing music, which was fun and added to the experience.
I would definitely come back here again!"
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Corporate Cool

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2006
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Seemed a bit too much of a heartless, corporate execution of a good vision and the execution is done well...just lacks a little something. And it may not be a corporate gig at all - I just felt the atmosphere lacked integrity or sincerity. The menu looks good but all is heavy which I find tiresome - even the chopped salad is slathered with very tasty but fatty dressing. The drink list is very good. Service was very good. I just wish the atmosphere had been more fun then I'd maybe go back...and if they had some lighter options...and by lighter...I'm not talking healthy by any means."
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

So So Brunch

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Really like this place, and although I understand it was brunch, many items weren't available and our food took almost a full hour to come out. And then some of the food had items missing. They may have been short staffed but it felt like we only saw our server maybe 5 times in the almost two hours we were there. Also, although the musician they had playing was very talented, we all felt that it was a bit too loud for a Sunday brunch at 12:30."
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dinner was good but then the Karaoke

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I was very excited to find a place that had decent meals, prices and an option for Karaoke in the bottom lounge portion of the bar.
Upstairs: We arrived there kind of late for our reservation; the staff was very accommodating and friendly. The service was really good, the staff was attentive. The food was reasonably priced and delicious. Around 10:00 we headed downstairs for Karaoke
Downstairs: The downstairs was a cute lounge with TV's set up so you can sing along with the person on stage. I was excited to have a fun night of goofy singing and drinks. There were many people who were lined up to sing so it seemed that it would be a fun night... then things went downhill from there. Very quickly, it became apparent that the DJ had his favorites or "regulars" many of the same people sang over and over and many people who signed up did not get put on the song list. When the DJ was addressed and asked why some people did not get their turns, he just said they were on the list but had to wait. You could tell that there were many professional singers there, which could be fun but some of them actually got on stage and took the microphone from people who did not sing as well as they did.
Overall, I would recommend this place for food and drinks but not for Karaoke. Too bad something that is supposed to be silly and enjoyable has been turned into something a bit less fun and shame on the DJ for being part of it."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a great brunch spot!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Mimomas are always perfect and glasses are filled to the T each visit!
Food is great and always a favorite in wrigley!
"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

new favorite place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Loved the live music, the singer was amazing! Had a few signature cocktails and they were great. For dinner originally ordered the short rib but unfortunately the restaurant ran out, I appreciated the manager coming to apologize and offer my table shots. For dinner I ended up getting the steak sandwich and it was cooked perfectly and one of the best iv had. We had an issue with one of members not getting there food till after we all finished and that was unfortunate, i do feel as if something should have been dome about that however the restaurant seems to get great reviews and I think this was a one time mistake. All in all I will be back to try some of the other items."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Saturday Brunch!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Came here for Valentine's Day and was amazing! We were a party of 8 for brunch and all had the bottomless mimosas, are server was super attentive and made sure are glasses were full.
They had live music which was nicer then music blaring in your ear when making conversation. I was very happy with the food and service, don't miss out on the crab cake Benedict!
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Thanks but no thanks

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friends and I were able to get a 7pm reservation on a Saturday evening... for good reason. The food was fine - a little greasy, burgers were a little overcooked, a friend who ordered gnocchi hardly even touched it. It was the service that really ruined the entire experience - and from the moment I walked in, no less. I walked in and the hostess had her back to me and was chatting up another patron. I stood and waited patiently until the gentleman she was talking to motioned to her that I was there. She turned around, glared at me, asked my name, and then huffed because "how could I not see that my friends were sitting in the back corner?!" Our waitress came by and asked us for our drink orders which we got promptly. Then she didn't come back for our food orders. And once we did finally place our food orders, it took an hour (A FULL HOUR), to get our food. Now, we had show tickets at 9pm just around the corner. One would think that you needn't a full 2 hours to eat a burger, but apparently you do. It took multiple attempts (asking the busboy and other waiters) to get our check. When she finally brought it, she essentially threw it at us and ran away (we were all sitting there, credit cards in hand at the ready). So my friend took the bill up to the bar to get it paid. When she noticed, she got upset asking us why we didn't mention we had a time limit. I suppose we didn't realize that it needed to be stated that dinner should be complete in less than 2 hours. The ambiance is great - it's a near replica of Hutch down the block. Too bad the service and food quality isn't on par. Seems like a no-brainer that Hutch had no reservations available and this place was wide open. I won't be going back."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

So-so brunch spot.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Went for brunch and the service took away from the food. Server was a bit flustered and ticket times went over 20 minutes for breakfast entrees. Also, they ran out of bloody Mary's in the middle of Sunday brunch. Granted, about an hour and a half later they had them but is was a negative detractor to what is a staple for brunch. Nice atmosphere and did enjoy my meal, just wish the service was efficient and attentive."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bad service and poor food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The service was slow, the waiter was rude, and he never refilled my water glass. My food was bad, but others liked theirs. The music also started early which was not ideal for my group since we are soft spoken people. I would not go back, after reading up on the restaurant I am very disappointed."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A mixed bag

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Basically a bar with good food, skewing towards "pub grub" but with some good entrees that are of a higher quality and well prepared. Attentive and friendly staff. As we went Saturday night there was a very energetic bar scene going on across the room. Nothing rowdy (at least while we were there) but high noise levels. Overall a good option but your best off not going on a weekend night."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pub in Wrigg

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"First of all, this was not really a pub experience. The bar area is very modern, quite in keeping for any upscale neighborhood and a refreshing change for the area.
The prices on the food reflect that. It was all good fare, but at a somewhat elevated price - nice breakfast and lunch menu, with something for everyone, but just a little more dear than expected.
The blokes breakfast does not include toast, which omission will set you back another dollar as a side... And is recommended to complete the dish.
The hash was delicious, but swimming in butter. It would have benefited from a blood sausage addition, I can say, but only because I was able to add it!
A good reason to visit is the beer list, which is pretty decent: deep in good craft beers on tap, and with the option of trying four at a time as a flight, well worth the time to investigate.
All told, not sure how often I would go out of my way to visit, but I will definitely drop in again when in the neighborhood."
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Blokes & Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Online menu not accurate

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I always look ahead at restaurant menus in order to choose where to eat, and I was disappointed to find that the online menu for this place is much larger than the selections they actually offer. There are less of the Indian-British food :( Despite this annoyance, the food was actually really good. Good beer and quiet table for the two of us, so it worked out."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Blokes & Birds
Based on the average of (30) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
24 out of 25 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic