Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

La Bocca Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

La Bocca

Tony explains that the name la Bocca was inspired by his love of Art & Italian culture; this can be seen as soon as you step into
La Bocca, details to color, artistic pieces, stone walls builds and ambiance that'll make you feel as if your in a Bottega eating a block away from the coliseum.



Along with the ambiance La Bocca's goal is to deliver quality plates with the simple ingredients of using imported fresh products from Italy; anything from butter all the way to tomatoes and pastas you'll find your palate pleased on enjoying classic and new Italian plates here at La Bocca.
31 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(31 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
(12)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(15)
  • good for groups(9)
  • neighborhood gem(9)
  • great for lunch(8)
  • romantic(6)
  • special occasion(6)
La Bocca Reviews List
Review 1 for La Bocca
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Solid Italian

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2008
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Although an out-of-towner, I have had business lunches here 2-3 time a year for several years. Quiet at lunch. Pleasant, casual decor. I think the food is well-prepared and often remarkably good. The chef is wiling to make off-menu items, which is always a good sign. The wait staff is male and European and a little formal (apparently some people find one or more of those traits off-putting, not a problem for me)."
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for La Bocca
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Dining Experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"High quality food with nice presentation. Excellent and friendly service."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for La Bocca
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent in Every Way

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is our second visit. We will be back. Food is fabulous and service excellent. Friendly staff"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for La Bocca
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My favorite Italian restaurant!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My husband and I have dined at La Bocca several times, when alone on a date, as well as with our kids, extended family and friends. Not once have we been disappointed. The food is authentic Italian, and often, if wanted, it comes with an explanation of Italian tradition! I am a pasta lover more than anything else, and they have all been to my liking. In addition, the lamb and pork is delicious, and the cold antipasti plate is a favorite amongst the appetizers. The wine has always been very enjoyable, often recommended, and never particularly expensive. Finally, the staff is great! They are knowledgeable, generous and very warm. I always feel very welcome, and I recommend the place to everyone I know!"
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for La Bocca
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Experience...Again

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The restaurant was packed and lively and the service was completely on top of it. The space, which was redesigned a few month ago adds a warm and appealing feel to the restaurant. There were 3 of us and an 8 week old baby and we had a variety of dishes (linguine with clams, chicken scarpariello, and a pasta) and all were delicious. Asked for a recommendation on a bottle of wine with no boundaries or limits and was given an exceptional super-tuscan for $40 (the least expensive bottle I have ever been given in a restaurant when providing no limits!) . Two of us had desserts which were quite good and the bill was surprisingly inexpensive for 3 course dinner for 3 and a bottle of wine. We eat out often in White Plains and we find LaBocca to be not only the best italian but consistently the most enjoyable dining experience. If you haven't tried it, you should; it will quickly become a favorite!"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for La Bocca
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Awful service but good food

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2007
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Maybe because it was New Year's Day and there was a private party there, but the service was really slow. When the food finally arrived, some of it was cold. It was our first time there and we will consider going back because the food was good when it was hot."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for La Bocca
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Slow and Unsteady

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Having been at this restaurant a few times before, my date and I were quite unhappy with the service at La Bocca this time around. We had simple orders--a tricolore salad and simple pasta dish for her, the special seafood salad and rigatoni alla nonna for me--yet it took over 2 hours to get through this meal, not because we were savoring every bite, but because it took 40-45 minutes to get each course. The restaurant was 3/4 full, so it was not that there was an overload on the kitchen or waitstaff. Just as bad, however, was that the seafood salad was virtually tasteless and drowned in olive oil, and one of the sausages in the rigatoni dish was inedible, with a taste and texture resembling something that should have been thrown out a day or two earlier. This is not the norm for this restaurant, and I'm willing to give it another try. But seriously unhappy with this night's meal."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for La Bocca
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Very expensive. Food and service not great. Would not recommend to anyone"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for La Bocca
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

LaBocca never disappoints

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Tony and his team serve up outstanding authentic Italian cuisine. Don't miss the antipasto for the table - it is a meal in itself. My husband commented that he thought the braciole and gnocchi were the best he had ever had. The restaurant renovations and expansion is really nice. I particularly like the table for 8 that is located as an extension of the bar - could be fun for a group."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for La Bocca
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Was there for Thanksgiving. The service was good. The food was excellent! But at $11 for a short glass of wine I suggest that they look into this. $44 for four glasses of wine? Otherwise an excellent establishment!"
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for La Bocca
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was not great! I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone else. Too expensive for food that was not good. Sorry!!"
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: late-night find
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for La Bocca
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

WOW

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2007
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This has to be one of the best meals I have had in ages. No one in our group had any complaints. Went for Thanksgiving and had choice of turkey with all the trimmings or their full menu. The staff was very nice. Would return in a heartbeat. Our new fav."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for La Bocca
Based on the average of (19) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
14 out of 17 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic