Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

City Landing Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

City Landing

City Landing is a contemporary, upscale-casual restaurant located at 255 State Street, serving lunch and dinner seven days a week with Sunday brunch. Forbes Four-Star award winning Chef/Owner Bill Brodsky prepares contemporary American cuisine that meets an energetic and casually sophisticated design, care of Boston's Stephen Sousa. Open airy windows overlook Long Wharf and the Rose Kennedy Greenway; just seconds away from Faneuil Hall, the NE Aquarium and Harbor. A convivial and comfortable setting sees splashes of mint green and rich mahogany, accented by natural quartz stone inlaid with mosaic glass tiles and chic high end lighting. The menu features a large variety of American fare including thoughtful seafood dishes, artisan pizzettas, creative salads and a bounty of carefully crafted entrees produced from locally indigenous ingredients. The bar features small plate tapas, specialty cocktails, local distilleries, local brews on tap, and a reasonably priced wine list.
31 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(31 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
(12)
4 stars
(12)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • great for lunch(11)
  • special occasion(9)
  • good for groups(8)
  • romantic(7)
  • neighborhood gem(5)
City Landing Reviews List
Review 1 for City Landing
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/06/2014
 2010
Dined on 3/06/2014
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/06/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for City Landing
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2014
 2010
Dined on 1/17/2014
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/17/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for City Landing
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2014
 2008
Dined on 2/14/2014
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/14/2014
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for City Landing
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2013
 2013
Dined on 4/20/2013
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/20/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for City Landing
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/10/2013
 2010
Dined on 8/10/2013
 2010
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I picked this place for my wife's birthday.....very disappointed. Nothing was working this night and we won't be back. There's too many other options nearby to waste another attempt."
Dined on 8/10/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for City Landing
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved this restaurant

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went to this restaurant after a show at the Garden and we went specifically as it has rave reviews for its gluten free menu. We were floored by how amazing the food was. Also our waiter was so attentive and allowed us to enjoy our appetizer before we ordered our main dish. We will definitely be back to this location when in Boston."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for City Landing
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Underwhelmed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The staff tried hard but the food was pricey and not great. The chicken dish was too salty and the buffalo meatloaf was great at first but tired over time. The desserts were fabulous and saved the day for our daughters 18the birthday"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for City Landing
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Years Brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"They had an excellent selection and presentation for their New Years brunch. The food was outstanding- I had the pleasure of getting the Lobster Benedict and the Caliente Bloody Mary, and the combination was unbelievable."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for City Landing
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Something is not quite right

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"While the food was ok the service was terrible. Almost two hours to get dinner and the waiter took our 100 dollar bills and never made change pocketing 90 bucks on a 240 dollar tab. It seemed like everyone who worked there was operating in fear of losing their jobs. If you do go to City Landing pay with a credit card and allow yourself plenty of time. Very disappointing experience we will NOT be back."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for City Landing
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Perfectly cooked seafood

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"In a seafood town, it's great to stumble on a restaurant that manages to stand out for its seafood. Our party of 5 each ordered a different fish dish, and everything was tasty. Highly recommend the scallops - seared and served with ravioli. The spread trio is a great appetizer, with pita points and artichoke, goat cheese, and a 3rd spread that escapes me. Server was well versed in the dishes and the wines, and offered wonderful pairing recommendations. Serving portions were just right - filling but not too much. We saved room for dessert off a short list. Highly recommend the s'mores. We were never rushed. Great find; we'll be back."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for City Landing
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Fish

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"the trout, the bass, the salmon and the calamari were all raved about after my family's meal. The service was quick and friendly and the extensive gluten free and vegetarian menus give the trendy folk today a wonderful spot for a nice dinner."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for City Landing
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

City landing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Very interesting and unusual food preparation. Excellent bread."
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for City Landing
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fit for a Queen!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We arrived very early due to the cold outside temperature. The staff took us in and set us up at a very nice spot in the lounge and served us delicious hot drinks, because it was too early to have our dinner. When the time for dinner came we were directed to a beautiful table and proceeded to have top notch service and the most delicious food. The waiters were incredibly attentive, and accommodating. One member of our party had a gluten allergy, and she was very impressed with the gluten free menu. She was mostly thrilled by the prospect of having gluten-free pasta. It was delicious!
The place is just gorgeous inside and sits right off the Greenway. Thank you City Landing for the wonderful experience and good memories!"
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for City Landing
Based on the average of (18) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
15 out of 15 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
3.3 / 3
Energetic