Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar

George Lounge is the Godfather of Vancouver’s vibrant cocktail scene. A heated, covered patio transitions into a room of red velvet, blown glass chandeliers and an underlit onyx bar top. The kitchen style island behind the bar covered in fresh fruit, herbs, syrups and infusions anchors the award winning cocktail program. The food menu has been called George's 'secret weapon.’
29 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(29 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(12)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(15)
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • special occasion(13)
  • good for groups(11)
  • notable wine list(10)
  • neighborhood gem(9)
George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing service & food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were here a bit early in the evening for a girls' night, so the vibe was pretty quiet but it seemed to be picking up as we were leaving, music-wise. The drinks, wine, and food we had were amazing and our server was super nice, friendly, and knowledgeable."
Dined on 05/09/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 22/08/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Ladies night!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"3 bottles of Malbec later and delicious applies (tuna tataki and squid- so good) we had a great time. Servers were great and the music was awesome throwbacks the whole time. Will definitely be back!"
Dined on 22/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/08/2015
 2008
Dined on 14/08/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 14/08/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Vancouver Gem.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Never visited before Saturday and we were very impressed. From the wine list to the food to the service everything was exceptional. Our server Torsten was an absolute pleasure and very attentive with many great suggestions. We will definitely be back and would recommend highly.
Thanks
"
Dined on 08/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful service!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 08/08/2015
 2014
Dined on 08/08/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our waiter was quite attentive, and saw to all our needs in a friendly yet unobtrusive manner. My dish (the special of the day -- Salmon) was scrumptious! My husband's (Ling Cod, I believe) was less than what he had expected. It was not very flavorful. It was good, but not great. One difficulty I had in deciding to go here is that George does not post a menu online. I wish it would."
Dined on 08/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

fantastic staff, great food. lovely spot outside.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 17/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 17/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 09/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 09/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 09/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious food and amazing service!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I was planning a night out for some friends and read about George's. The service was fantastic. Our server made recommendations for us which were AMAZING! She was on point with all of the dishes that we had. The food was so delicious as well. I loved the starters and the main courses - we all did! I think we tried half the menu when we were there.
The space itself is great! Located in Yaletown, it was buzzing on a Saturday night. At around 9:45/10ish, the music was turned up and it turned in to a lounge atmosphere which was awesome.
I highly recommend George's if you are looking for a good night out."
Dined on 16/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 15/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 15/05/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 15/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great appies

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 08/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 08/05/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went with group of girlfriends for dinner. Started with a few appies and they were so good, we just ordered more of them for dinner. Tuna tartare was perfectly done and loved the salad it came with-- dressing had lime and a kick of spice. Also loved the lamb bacon salad. The bacon was thick and crispy and so flavourful. The dessert was great too-- we ordered the peanut butter cheesecake which was rich and very peanuty. Would definitely come here again."
Dined on 08/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2008
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 20/04/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2005
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 26/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 26/03/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The service and food was fantastic. Took my partner here for his birthday and we spent two hours here having the best drinks and enjoying course after course of incredible food. What a great spot."
Dined on 26/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

last minute Gem!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were given a different trestaurant o try but was too busy so we jumped on Open Table and this was close and had space for the time we were there. Great surprise! Had a terrific meal with flavorful appies and mains. Great service and ambiance. I would go again if we were in the area and would recommend to anyone."
Dined on 27/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Music!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friends and I enjoyed the music. Not too often you find a place that plays 90's music which we love."
Dined on 28/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pricey but good

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was excellent. The atmosphere was very nice as well. Though the price is a bit high ended, it was a very nice experience."
Dined on 25/10/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Place, Great Night

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2012
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I reserved a table for a big group recently, and I have to say I really was impressed with the place.
The atmosphere is very dark and sultry, but it's also quiet enough for you to casually chat with anyone.
The service was great, and the bartenders made amazing drinks for sure. Definitely try the Rye-n-Gosling drink!
Food was very simple but fresh.
Great place to go, will definitely visit again!
"
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great service & food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I went with girlfriends on Friday, December 19th and it was not overly busy. We got a reservation last minute but it might have been the time of year. Later in the evening there is a DJ so it did get considerably louder but we just moved closer together so we could chat. Has a wonderful all year round outside sitting area. The good was really good...we ordered appetizers and entrees and shared everything as we wanted to try it all. Our waitress, Rihanna was awesome."
Dined on 19/12/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for George Ultra Lounge and Wine Bar
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
7 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic