Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Casa Pepe Reviews List

Casa Pepe

We are pleased to introduce to you Casa Pepe, a charming landmark restaurant serving both creative and authentic Spanish and Mexican cuisine located in Bay Ridge Brooklyn. The famous, lively district of Brooklyn. We opened Casa Pepe in 1980, and have enjoyed the patronage of customers who have been dining with us since opening day. Our many satisfied customers rave about our accommodating, friendly service, our delicious food and the best Margaritas and Piña Coladas in town!
See more Casa Pepe details
22 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(22 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(6)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(12)
  • good for groups(8)
  • special occasion(8)
  • fit for foodies(5)
  • great for lunch(5)
  • great for outdoor dining(4)
Casa Pepe Reviews List
Review 1 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/23/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

No Brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The arroz con pollo is very good and the fried ice cream is to die for. We went for brunch, since it looked inviting on their website. When we got there the waiter told us they no longer serve brunch. I don't know when they stopped but I told the waiter it's still on the website. That was on 11/8 -- it's now 11/12 and the website still says they have brunch."
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It was great.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We enjoyed the guacamole being made in front of us at our desired spice level. Drinks were great and made exactly the way we like them. Our food came quick and well prepared. We enjoyed it. We went on the night of game 3 of the World Series so it was a little loud when the cheers from next the dining room. But that's expected. I'm sure it'll be quiet when we return."
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Casa Pepe

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Not what it used to be. Although the appetizers were good, the Paella was barely edible. We added the Lobster option thinking it'd be a great plate, but all of the Seafood had clearly been frozen. The Lobster had a smell to it, and the Shrimp (normally my favorite item) were just not edible. That said, the service was good, in fact very good, and the Sangria is always great, but the quality of the food ingredients has dropped off significantly, and that will cause me to avoid Casa Pepe in the future. I hope the owners bring back the old history by bringing back the old quality, but until then I'll opt for other choices in Bay Ridge, especially at $55pp before tip (1 half pitcher of Sangria, 2 appetizers, 2 main courses and 1 shared dessert)."
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Low quality food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have always wanted to try casa pepe and Finally got the chance to, lets start with the good our server was ok and did his Job. now the bad, food was down right dated and lacked quality seems like they cut alot of corners with the seafood and vegatables and used the cheapest produce available. paella tasted like vigo rice packet with tons of butter and salt to compenaate. shrimp was tiny and slimy with no real texture. grilled octopus was very fishy and over cooked very off putting. "chef salad" used low quality feta cheese with evan worse canned olives you can taste the metallic aftertaste. had dessert that was no better the coffee was burnt and watered down there was not one thing I ate that can redeem this place. .I can see how this place could have passed for decent in the 90s I would of given food no stars"
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was excellent. We loved their quacamole and I really loved the seafood with garlic sauce. When I presented the $20 open table dining check, I don't really believe the waiter knew what to do with it. He gave me my check but did not deduct the $20. I had to explain what to do with it. He kept saying "We will give it to you" which made no sense. Was he going to give me $20 back in cash or just keep the dining check and not do anything with it?????"
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fantastic Octopus

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2003
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2003
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We enjoyed a excellent dinner. The Octopus brined in Garlic melted in your mouth. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and professional. The portions were sizable and prepared as ordered."
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I like it

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I love this place. I always recommend it for my friends."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've been to Casa Pepe several times and the food is always very good. We'll be back again."
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great for a casual lunch. Food was excellent but I felt the service wasn't friendly enough."
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great group dinner, good value!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good for our large group, excellent food and good sangria. Servers were attentive, food came out quickly, would definitely recommend!"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great spot!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've been going here for years. Food is always great!"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice service and atmosphere. Food is always great

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Dined at this restaurant many times with family and friends for lunch, brunch, dinners and birthdays. Birthdays are always great you get free shots. Food is always great. Service is very friendly. Never had a bad dish at this place"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Casa Pepe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great night!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Has an awesome time. Food didn't disappoint. Service and margaritas were great!"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Casa Pepe
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
0 out of 1 recommend this product
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
1 / 3
Quiet