Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge Reviews List

Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge

Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar is a casual upscale restaurant, which shares its name with the small Louisiana town of Tallulah, serving notable, indigenous cuisine from around Louisiana, while featuring house-crafted menu items that interpret local flavors in fresh and unique ways. Chef Andy Papson, the hotel's Executive Chef, has been entrusted with overseeing the culinary operations for Tallulah, as well as those of the new Renaissance Baton Rouge hotel. Tallulah serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and includes an outstanding wine bar nestled in an intimate setting that offers guests an extensive selection of fine wines by the glass.
Wine lovers can enjoy sampling Tallulah's extensive selection of fine wines with their dinner, in a cozy setting filled with intimate seating areas or at the bar where butter-soft leather bar stools beckon guests to sit, sip and stay awhile. The restaurant also features an outdoor terrace ideal for entertaining.
See more Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge details
22 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
(22 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
(5)
4 stars
(7)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(7)
  • great for brunch(5)
  • romantic(5)
  • vibrant bar scene(5)
  • fit for foodies(4)
  • special occasion(4)
Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge Reviews List
Review 1 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/11/2013
 2007
Dined on 10/11/2013
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/11/2013
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Poor service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We came for Easter Brunch today. We sat down, started to eat and were immediately given a bill. Our drink order was not taken, service was not even given- we had plates and mimosa glasses stacked and no one came to take it, yet the waitress who brought our bill had no problem tacking an 18% gratuity charge on to our bill for two guests. For what? I tip 20-25%. But to be given a bill upon seating and have gratuity automatically added? Classless. Poor service. We were very disappointed."
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dined on 3/27/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 3/03/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food was well prepared and tasty.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Thanksgiving buffet was well stocked with traditional holiday favorites. Self service allowed us to enjoy as much or as little as we pleased. Dessert featured several choices, too. Overall, the meal was very enjoyable and a welcome change for us."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was very good. Food was average for Louisiana but really over priced for the portions. Too many other good options in Baton Rouge to bother returning here."
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Does not live up to expectations

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had read several reviews about Tallulah, most of which appeared to be fairly good. Husband and I go out for dinner almost every Thursday and usually go to upper-middle to upper price level restaurants. Decided to try Tallulah since we wanted to find some variety.
There was a table of six and a table of one when we got there . Nobody else came into the dining area during the little over two hours we were there, so it was definitely not crowded; however, it took at least ten minutes for a waiter to come to our table. Had to wait and wait for water and to start our order.
My husband had the crab cakes, which were good but not worth the $16--very small and slightly overcooked on the outsides. The Caesar Salad was quite good and a reasonable size for the price. I had the fish almondine and my husband had the filet mignon. It took nearly 40 minutes to get our entrees. My fish almondine was covered in about 3/4 of a cup of toasted almonds that I had to scrap off into a pile to find the smallest piece of fish I have yet to be served in a restaurant. My husband's filet was cooked correctly, but it also was very small for the price. Ate the fish because I was so hungry and couldn't find the waiter to discuss my entree with him. Left almost all the almonds. The complimentary bread never appeared though we asked twice and were told "it is baking". It doesn't take two hours or more to bake small loaves of bread. Never saw the other tables with bread either.
Saw our waiter four times: seating; salad and appetizer order; entree order; and bill. The noise coming from the bar area, which was somewhat separated from the dining area, was so loud it was obtrusive.
The food is not worth the price. Service needs improvement. Overall was not a pleasant evening. Will never be back."
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went for the Mother's Day Brunch. Food and service were very good, but the brunch buffet was set up in one of the convention rooms. There were no cloths on many of the tables making the room look like it was set up for a conference instead of a special event."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Under staffed but good food and service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We spent about 3.5 hours for dinner since the kitchen was way under staffed. But the food was excellent and the waiter went above and beyond to make the experience a good one! I would go back again."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Surprisngly good

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"For a hotel restaurant, this is a very good restaurant. Good food and atmosphere. The only thing on which to improve would be better drink portions. This is worth a try."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Not a typical "hotel restaurant"

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The vibrant Renaissance Hotel is the setting for this restaurant that offers a wonderful dining option for Baton Rouge diners looking for a delicious meal in an stylist setting. Attentive wait staff and a menu of regional favorites complete the experience."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

food was excellent, it was my wife birthday.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"She really love it. Atmosphere was great , food servers were pleaseant."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Valentines

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a romantic and delicious meal. The food was imaginative and the service on time."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic!!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"A perfect evening! Food, service, and menu was absolutely wonderful and the live music was a wonderful suprise, I could have listened to her sing for hours!!!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Thanksgiving Buffet was great!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was excellent but I thought there could have been more variety. And, the turkey was very spicey. But I loved the vegetables and the roast beef was outstanding!
I would return for another holiday buffet and would like to try their on menu items also sometime.
I did not get the name of our server but she was very helpful and attentive."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tallulah Crafted Food and Wine Bar at Renaissance Baton Rouge
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
2 out of 3 recommend this product
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic