Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Charcoal Restaurant Reviews List

Charcoal Restaurant

CHARCOAL RESTAURANT NO LONGER ACCEPTS RESERVATIONS THROUGH OPENTABLE.

Please visit our website, charcoaldining.com, email us at 43wrestaurant@gmail.com, or call 303.454.0000 to make a reservation.

Critically acclaimed Charcoal Restaurant in the Golden Triangle near downtown Denver Colorado offers great food, atmosphere and service. Our contemporary European cuisine is created using both classic and innovative techniques. Our unique Bincho style grill ensures food cooks quickly while retaining the most flavor. Our custom designed wine dispenser allows guests to sample many wines by the glass from our carefully selected list. Vegetarian and gluten free options available.
See more Charcoal Restaurant details
73 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(73 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
5 stars
(34)
4 stars
(28)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(47)
  • neighborhood gem(28)
  • special occasion(20)
  • notable wine list(15)
  • great for brunch(10)
  • good for groups(9)
Charcoal Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/24/2014
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful Meal!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friend and I ate there during Restaurant Week. The beet salad was delicious and the salmon was cooked to perfection. Desserts were decadent and our waiter helped us select just the right wine. Will definitely say this is restaurant is a great find!"
Dined on 2/24/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Must . . .

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"to try, and over and over again. Always great. Imaginative and delicious food. Exceptional service. Nice ambiance."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Don't go for Valentine's Day

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I went to Charcoal for Valentine's day. While we understood that the markup for Valentine's day would be higher than normal, the price for what we received was certainly not worth it. The prix fixe was $90 per person plus a wine pairing of $35 ppx. For these prices we were hoping for more on our plate. I was glad that we did not follow the vegetarian menu otherwise we definitely would have felt cheated. We were also hoping that someone might explain each dish and amuse bouche (palate cleansers) as they came out, but the servers explained about half of them and only when we asked.
Having said all of that, we haven't eaten at Charcoal on any other night so I don't know what their food or service is like regularly.
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyed Charcoal!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A friend and I have season tickets to the Curious Theatre company and have enjoyed eating at Charcoal before the show a couple of times now. The food is quite good and it's a quick walk down to the theatre from this lovely restaurant."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Charcoal is a short walk from the DAM, which makes it convenient for a meal after a trip to the museum. I really like the atmosphere, which is cozy but modern. The menu has a lot of variety with many interesting appetizers. I ordered teh grilled flat iron steak an dit was excellent. Others in our group order the spinach pasta and the salmon and everybody was happy. I would go back many times over."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Visiting Denver for a long weekend, found Charcoal on open table and we were not disappointed. Excellent food, good service, bartender was fantastic. Only minor miss up was our waiter rushed ordering, as soon as we sat he gave us the specials of the night and did not ask if we wanted a cocktail or starter, but he was nice. Overall we had a wonderful experience. We will definitely be back."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were the first table of the evening, four of us. It was quiet, but before long the noise level rose to the point where we cut our time short. We were done, so probably best to give up our table to another resv. Our server was nice and not overbearing, showing up when he was needed. The menu is great, offering a nice variety of choices. I liked the duck and my spouse tried the pork loin, also delicious.
We will go back, perhaps for the St. Lucia Day brunch like we did in 2014. And maybe when an activity takes us back to that general area, like the "Brilliant" show at the DAM."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2008
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"what a happy surprise in this neigbourhood! will definitely try it again at different times to see their range. Great food and service excellent. thanks."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

amazing food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I rarely recommend places but on a snowy night last week Charcoal served us one of the best dinners we have had in Denver in many years. Roast brussels sprouts with duck confit and red wine vinaigrette, and a soft poached egg on top, sounds like an unlikely appetizer, but the combination of flavors and richness was to die for. Arctic char with seafood stock (really a rich bisque) with crabmeat was likewise heavenly. My wife had the venison carpaccio (good accompaniments) and tasty roast duck. Apple tart with bourbon ice cream capped it off. Wine list mostly Italian, reasonable price range. Maybe it was dumb luck that the restaurant was empty doe to the snowstorm so the chefs could lavish us with their finest - I'll certainly go back to see if they can repeat it."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Impressed by the tasty creative food combinations

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Fabulous service! Creative menu and pairings. I would most definitely recommend Charcoal to friends and family."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our Favorite Restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Even though we live in Atlanta, Charcoal is our favorite restaurant. We are in Denver a few times a year and always stop in for dinner. On this quiet evening the day after Christmas we were even able to ask for a booth, which is the best seat in the house. My duck with the lingonberry reduction and the risotto wrapped in cabbage (sort of like the stuffed cabbage my Swedish grandmother used to make) was just delicious as was the sea bass my husband ordered. And we always start with the Truffles Frites. The service is also excellent. We highly recommend Charcoal."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Christmas Eve Dinner was Fantastic!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had several of the Apps. Each one was fantastic (Bacon Wrapped Dates, Brussel Sprouts, Candy-Striped Beet Salad & Charcuterie). I will have the Mussels next time I visit. The Black Truffle and Spinach Tortelloni was great, the Grilled Gold Canyon Flat Iron was good not great. The Seared Sustainable Barramundi Sea Bass was perfectly prepared.
Highly Recommended!"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Christmas Eve at Charcoal

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner at Charcoal.
Though I was hoping for more festive specials, the dinners we chose were excellent.
We started with two shared plates: The PEI Mussels and the Smoked Salmon & Gravlax. The mussels were in a green chili broth which was flavorful and delicately spicy. It was truly an original take on mussels that did not disappoint. The salmon dish was plated perfectly offering a variety of options for dressing up the perfectly cooked smoked salmon and melt-in-your-mouth gravlax.
I had the Grilled Gold Canyon Flat Iron and my boyfriend had the Half Duck entrée for dinner. Now, I'm the kind of girl that likes my meat well-done which, in the world of fine dining, is a Cardinal Sin. I am usually disappointed with how the meat is prepared (either pink or tough as leather) but, at Charcoal, I was happily surprised with the flavor and texture of the Flat Iron. It was divine. The Chanterelle gravy is not be ignored, either, with a light consistency and bold flavor.
As for the duck, I can only speak on the loveliness of the presentation as my boyfriend ate it all without sharing.
We finished the evening with a wonderful dessert of warm apple crisp.
The only smudge on the night came when a frustrated hostess had to bus several tables around our own. It was very clear how unhappy she was and, being a former hostess myself, I completely understood. The MOD, however, was not as sympathetic barely picking up even one glass while she ran around bussing and seating which left the hostess loudly sighing and muttering under her breath about the lack of assistance.
It made us more than a little uncomfortable.
All in all, Charcoal is a beautiful restaurant with beautiful, well-made food. We will return.
"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Charcoal is the Trendy Spot to be.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Outstanding venue, very romantic and the food is excellant! A must visit if you're looking for a nice spot to take a date."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amoung Denvers best

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Charcoal is an outstanding restaurant in every way. On our most recent visit we had a Sea Bass perfectly prepared over a crab and gnocchi.The portion was large and perfectly prepared. A half duck was prepared with the breast being rare, with the rest of the duck being cooked. Both were prepared to order. an appetizer was innovative and large. This restaurant could give lessons in perfect service."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Charcoal - we got burned

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We made reservations. We stood at the reception for at least 5 minutes, and no one attended to us. So we wandered into the seating area. We found a wait staff who explained that the menu was a special buffet for St. Lucia's Day. This had not been advertised on their web menu. Main reason we chose Charcoal was because of its advertised lunch menu. But we liked the ambience so took a chance. The buffet was heavy on meat, few greens, and very sub-standard dessert fare (gummy rice pudding and dry biscuit type sweet bread). There were no lemon slices for the salmon. The food temperature was lukewarm. Normally a coffee would be included in the buffet selection, but we paid 3.50 extra for the basic privilege, and paid extra for mimosas. Then the bombshell - 21.00 each for the buffet! Service was intermittent, although always friendly. The restaurant was not busy, but we had to flag down a wait person each time we needed something.
Finally, because no one met us at the reception and checked against our reservation, we were 'dinged' by Open Table as a no-show. Not nice."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great experience, lovely food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Really enjoyed our visit here. Excellent tasting appetizers, drinks, small plates and entrees!"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Brunch at Charcoal

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2006
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I really like Charcoal and will go there again soon, but vegans and egg devotees might want to take note. My brunch companion is a vegetarian and there are only a couple of menu options available. She was not concerned. Her default is to order Eggs Benedict minus the Canadian Bacon. She likes her poached eggs firm rather than runny... and that's how she ordered them. The waitress said this would not be an issue, but my friend's eggs arrived runny. My friend reluctantly sent them back, and alas, round # 2 of poached eggs arrived equally runny. The good news... Charcoal didn't charge us for the plate. I look forward to writing a very positive review soon. The restaurant team tries to accommodate and that's what's important."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was decent, service was lame

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My friend and I were out celebrating an event and thought charcoal would be the perfect place - neither of us had been before.
As soon as we sat down - our waitress took away our wine glasses (what - we don't look like people who afford a bottle of wine??)
We enjoyed the food we ordered (try the Brussels sprouts and the flat steak, avoid the duck - it's not very flavorful), but the service was sub par and she could care less about engaging us or offering suggestions or being proactive about checking in on us. Not cool considering our tab was $130 for a dinner for 2.
Also - we are mid to late 30s and joked about being the youngest in the place (it's true - we were the youngest on a weds night).
I might check charcoal out for brunch, but probably won't be back for dinner given the lame service for the price."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great place, great service!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Excellent menu with just the right amount of variety. The dishes are imaginative and well executed. We were a party of three on a quiet Sunday night, so I can't speak to the noise level, but we had a wonderful meal. Service was great - knowledgeable and energetic; definitely lent to the experience. Notably, the prices here were quite reasonable, too. I would recommend it to anyone dining without small children - you won't be sorry in the least."
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Charcoal Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fine food and service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"First offering of the bacon wrapped dates was too crisp and they were replaced without delay and were very good. Food was very good and service excellent."
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Charcoal Restaurant
Based on the average of (49) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
40 out of 44 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic