Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

GRINGO grill + cantina Reviews List

GRINGO grill + cantina

Named one of USA Today’s Top Ten Southwestern Restaurants in Tucson, GRINGO grill + cantina takes the best of locally sourced ingredients to create Southwestern comfort food. Come try our GRINGO burger – Sonoran flavors accent an American Classic with mesquite smoked bacon and jalapeno jam. Enjoy over 100 different tequilas and gorgeous views of the Santa Catalina Mountains. Open Monday through Saturday for Lunch and Dinner. Daily Happy Hour Specials
See more GRINGO grill + cantina details
69 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(69 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
5 stars
(27)
4 stars
(20)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(36)
  • fit for foodies(33)
  • scenic view(31)
  • neighborhood gem(29)
  • good for groups(21)
  • special occasion(21)
GRINGO grill + cantina Reviews List
Review 1 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent..Emilo great waiter. Super food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Dinner was for 5 and we all got our food at the same time. All enjoyed what we ordered the Amazing hambergers. we had plenty of food 3 of us took home boxes."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

You should try this restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I ordered the fish tacos which had a very generous portion of fish and it was moist and tasted very good. I also enjoyed a Margarita."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food & Friendly Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We dined here on New Year's Eve and the service was friendly and very attentive. I had the quesadilla with chicken and a side of the Mac & cheese which was delicious. My husband had the ribeye, also perfect. The fry bread for dessert was so good! We will be back for sure!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good food - empty seats!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"More people should visit Gringos for lunch. We all enjoyed our meals, but we were the only party in the restaurant at 12:45 on Wednesday. Possibly due to being Christmas week?"
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Party of 4 dined on their scenic patio and all enjoyed great meals and drinks. Service was a little spotty-but that was due to a large group from AARP dining at the same time.We were not in a hurry, so that was not a major issue. All in all, the staff did a superb job in preparation of our food and drinks. Highly recommend this restaurant for good food."
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

El Gringo

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was excellent, although the menu was limited. The wait staff was often in the weeds. The place had the feel of being shopworn, the naugahyde seats were split."
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2010
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Sorry we waited so long to try this restaurant. Menu has great variety. Great patio dining. Food was excellent."
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2006
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2006
Special Features: scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great restaurant, it even has a hotel attached.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Gringo Grill and Cantina must be great, we keep coming back
We've decided to make this one of our regular stops for lunch. First check them out on Yelp and claim your free drink coupon then book through Open Table.
Not a very long menu but so far everything we've had has been executed to perfection. Many of the items, including the sample tortillas with chipotle butter, are served on a small bamboo platter. Another nice touch, the home made mayonnaise!
I may try the Ghost Margarita next time, think VERY Spicy ghost peppers sharing their heat with the tequila. We tried a tiny amount of the pepper/tequila infusion and agreed it was hot. I wouldn't want to drink it straight but in a Margarita, sure.
May Chef John retain his Iron Chef Tucson title for 2015-2016.
"
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We had a very nice waiter & atmosphere

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a very nice quiet dinner, waiter very good, the chairs were a little uncomfortable in that room.
The food was pretty good. I would go there again. There was a a nice outside area.
"
Dined on 4/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good for a large group of friends

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I wish the menu had more choices. I felt it was limited. We all had a difficult time choosing. The Tacos were not anything that you won't find at most upscale Mexican restaurants. The steak, which is what I would have loved to have was $29,99 for 16 ozs. I felt was a bit pricey for a Mexican place. The food overall was not bad, just I thought a bit overpriced for what we got. Service was fine, someone constantly stopping by to see if we were OK and if we needed anything. Not sure if I would return."
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Gringo's Doesn't Deliver

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our service was excellent. Our server was very attentive and very gracious. The food on the other hand left a lot to be desired. My chimi was swimming in grease and over fried. Our friends tacos were good but came with nothing, just three tacos, no rice or beans. She ordered rice and beans on the side, but came in a small bowl all mixed together with either cheese or sour cream, she couldn't tell.
They looked awful and tasted just as bad. Our husbands had enchiladas and they too were not good.
They ordered chicken, but neither man could figure out what the meat was. Theirs came with the same mystery beans and rice. The chips and salsa were okay. The salsa was actually good, but the
chips were tough, even though they had just come out of the fryer. This use to be Miguels and it was
a wonderful place with great food, great service, and white linen tableclothes. Not anymore.
I really don't see how the chef won the Iron Chef contest in Tucson. Glad we were using our dining
card because we only paid for one meal for each couple. If you want a good Mexican restaurant
try San Carlos near the theater on Tangerine and Oracle. It is the best.
"
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unexpected Gem

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was pleasantly surprised by the menu for both the food and drinks. The entrees were a fusion of modern and classic flavors, both vibrant and comforting. I would definitely recommend the quesadilla as it is a wonderful twist on a familiar dish. If in doubt, GO HERE IT WAS GREAT!!!"
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

tainly return and recommend it to friends.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding as usual

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Chef Hohn's place performed in an outstanding way as usual. The service is excellent, the food outstanding and interesting and excellently prepared. There is no more pleasant dining room in Tucson than Gringo Grill and Cantina."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food still hungry

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food is very tasty with a nice Mexican flair. Our service could not have been better. The young man answered all our question about the items on the menu. We were 5 guests and each had a different entree none were disappointed. The only down side was the portions are quite small and there is a $3 charge for chips. We will definitely visit again and would recommend it to others."
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A group of us visited during happy hour, and everything was excellent: The food was tasty, the service was friendly and efficient and the atmosphere was charming and fun. We stuck to the appetizers, which rocked. Try the queso dip, guacamole and quesadillas. You can't go wrong, and the happy hour specials are great. There are $3 Dos Equis; $5 glasses of wine and well drinks; and a $6 margarita. The 2014 Iron Chef works here, too, for some added cachet."
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice evening

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Iron Chef quesadilla was awesome!! The other food, which we shared, was also very good. We ordered the donuts for dessert, which were good, but I wouldn't order them again. They just weren't that "special". Also, one of our party ordered a happy hour margarita, which she said was "weak on the tequilla".
But, I'd go back and refine my choices."
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Although the menu is limited, it does support the Mexican theme. When the outside temp is reasonable the outside patio for drinks and dinning is unbeatable. The restaurant seems to be going through a transition so be careful and perhaps ask prior to going there for dinner."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

SuzieQ37

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great place to bring visitors. Food spectacular- different than your average Mexican fare. Ingredients fresh and well plated. Everything seems to be made with care as if those preparing it are eating it as well."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Perfect for our group of 6

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Best house Margaritas in town. Very friendly and knowledgeable waiter. We enjoyed our dinner . The menu is creative and unusual compared with a standard Mexican restaurant here in Tucson. We will come back!"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

worst experience

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"from the hostess to the food the worst. hostess made us wait despite many open tables. had to get own menu. appetizers-no silverware, water despite repeated requests. ran out of ingredients for signature dish instead of asking what else would like just served completely different dish . 3 of 4 meals inedible-- manager said he knew but couldn't stop it!, the worst ever
,,
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2003
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Worst restaurant ever

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Reservation was made -vut bir acknowledged. Servers we horrible and they were lying to customers drinks took 45 min to get"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Smoked chicken and more

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"As we left the restaurant, my wife said, That's good, I would go back. The menu is a little different than most so check out the menu before you go. We had the smoked chicken which is smoked then fried. Very good."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Really Bad Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service was extremely inattentive. The table next to us sat down, waited for a while, and got up and left because no one came to attend to them. They were there for a solid half hour. Our service wasn't good either. Forgotten drinks, no refills, extremely long waits for any service, extra drinks on our bill that we didn't order.
The food was all right. Not bad, but nothing to write home about.
People who were at the hotel it connected to, were also complaining about consistency of disappointing service."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2014
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Chef!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food presentation was amazing! Best chimi in Tucson!"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Gringo Grill continues to please

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This restaurant continues to shine in both food and service. Our party greatly enjoyed our dinner. Chef John Hohn's dishes are expertly conceived and prepared. The place also has a wonderful ambiance. Try it."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Iron Chef's Restaurant Top Notch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Tucson has another winner in Iron Chef John Hohn's new place Gringo Grill and Cantina. On our third visit, last evening, home runs were hit by staff and food. It's hard to complain when the chef personally visits the table to see that things are OK and also helps serve food that is remarkably good.
The place is beautifully decorated and comfortable. If you want outside seating there is a balcony with killer views of the city. The bar is lively and drinks are well made and generous.
Having now tried most of the items on the menu our party has yet to find anything short of amazing in the freshness, taste, and preparation of the food. All are great, but my chile relleno soared to a new level for chiles relleno. With the shrimp, it was perfectly prepared, presenting flavors that were both subtle and bold. It was, simply, the best chile relleno I have ever tasted, and I have made a point of trying as many chiles relleno in Tucson as possible since that's my favorite dish. Nobody else's comes close.
The guacamole is fresh and tasty, and the fried calamari are unbeatable.
On top of that, prices are about 2/3 of what one would expect for this level of food and service in Tucson.
Gringo Grill and Cantina is a winner!"
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful food and service! Great "find"!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We thoroughly enjoyed everything about Gringo Grille. The Iron Chef Quesadilla was outstanding - both creative and delicious. Chef John was kind enough to come to our table and was very generous with his time in telling us about his food and culinary philosophy. The menu at first seems a bit limited but everything we had was done extremely well. The bartenders were exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable and there was a great selection of tequilas. We will definitely return every time we are in Tucson!"
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was quite good, but unfortunately the service was very bad.
- 30 minute wait for drinks, Martinis not cold and I did not like the glass it was served in.
- incorrect food order and had to be sent back.
The compted our dessert, which was nice of them. They seem to be trying, but as of our visit, not quite succeeding."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for GRINGO grill + cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Find!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Arrived in town and stopped in for a late dinner. GREAT FIND!! Food was delicious, service was great and prices were good!!!"
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for GRINGO grill + cantina
Based on the average of (20) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
18 out of 20 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic