Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Buonanotte - Toronto Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Buonanotte - Toronto

Buonanotte Toronto carries on a Montreal legacy born of the simple notion that food and entertainment can go hand in hand. Buonanotte continues to fulfill its duty as a "beacon of nightlife", while still maintaining its devotion to culinary excellence in Italian cuisine. Buonanotte is the place for those wishing to experience the charm, style, flair and grace of Toronto with unique cultural influences from Montreal. Located in close proximity to the TIFF Festival Tower, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CBC, Princess of Wales Theatre, Roy Thomson Hall as well as numerous premier boutiques and hotels, Buonanotte satisfies every visitor"s senses and cravings.
66 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(66 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
5 stars
(18)
4 stars
(29)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(33)
  • hot spot(28)
  • vibrant bar scene(24)
  • fit for foodies(20)
  • special occasion(20)
  • notable wine list(18)
Buonanotte - Toronto Reviews List
Review 1 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 16/03/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 07/02/2014
 2014
Dined on 07/02/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 07/02/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 06/03/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 06/03/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 04/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

No A/C

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A/C wasn't working during a hot summer night but the staff tried to make it up to us with a free spritzer. Overall the food was a bit salty but the ambience is nice! Love how they have an in-house DJ during dinner."
Dined on 18/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

NEVER AGAIN!!!!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"As soon as we walked in, they told us we had to be out in 2 hours. Which would be fine, but they should have told us when they called to confirm the reservation, not after we walked in.
And the seats were so uncomfortable. We asked to me moved to softer cushioned seats as on of our guests was pregnant and could not sit on the hard wood surface, they gave us a hard time. Eventually switched us.
The food was nothing special. The portions were so small on the pasta. That we had to go to Whallbergur after so the guys can eat.
I think the place has a lot of potential, but they are talking advantage of their popularity and being snobby. I don't think they will last very long if they don't treat their guests right.
"
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 13/06/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 13/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service is excellent! The staff is very friendly and attentive. Love the Pizza"
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/03/2015
 2012
Dined on 28/03/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 28/03/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2011
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 22/05/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Relative to other Italian restaurants downtown, the food was good but not the best, and it was overpriced. The vibe is good if you're kicking off the night to party and you want to grab some dinner first."
Dined on 20/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/05/2015
 2009
Dined on 16/05/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 16/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A maybe.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I chose it for the location to Second City. The main courses were excellent if a little salty. The caprese starter was quite bland. Service was friendly but a little too familiar. One of the male servers had so much body scent on my guest almost gagged. The merlot by the glass was $25! One should be warned. My guest feels she was conned. I thank you for the lesson as I do not normally check the prices.
These are simple things to fix. Our service industry needs to pay more attention to these things."
Dined on 16/05/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great experience! Would recommend!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our first time here! We really enjoyed the exceptional wine selection and enjoyed the caprese. The salmon was amazing as was the lobster ravioli! Would definitely recommend it and would go back to try their pizza and other menu items. Also, the tiramisu was delicious! And service was excellent! Loved the the throwback music for the couple hours that we were there :)"
Dined on 15/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 15/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 15/05/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 15/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Okay enough restaurant, not sure I will go back again."
Dined on 08/05/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Has potential

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Very attractive and very friendly wait staff. Inventive and high quality food and not over-the-top-large portions. The freebie offered here was 3 slices of crusty Italian bread with a very good olive oil for dipping. They also offered us a house-made chili olive oil for the pasta to make it spicier. The space is modern but feels a little cafeteria-ish - I felt they needed white table cloths for a fine dining atmosphere. The fine print on the menu said there was a minimum charge of $35.00 per person on a Friday or Saturday night, which I thought a little arrogant -- we were there at 7:00 on a Saturday night and the place was about at 15% capacity."
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious gnocchi and proper pizza

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've eaten here several times, especially enjoying the pizza. I brought my partner here for a special dinner, this time we ordered the gnocchi which was stellar."
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

amazing bday

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"recently tried Buona Notte for the first time with my friends for my bday. Amazing service, food, staff went above and beyond! highly recommended..and I dont usually write reviews :P"
Dined on 28/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Took my girlfriend here for her birthday before a play at the Royal Alexandra Theatre. Reservation was for 6pm, place was empty but prepped and candle lit everywhere. Hostess took our coats, and immediately seated one of the managers (Adam). Was brought over water by our waitress, and placed order for wine. Gf asked about the risotto (chef's choice), which had artichoke and bacon. When asked if we could substitute the bacon out or with something else, the waitress said the risotto was made beforehand in a large batch... Which I didn't expect to hear because I thought something like that was made to order (not a big deal but sounded like it was prepped ahead of time like mac and cheese lol). Anyways, she ordered Tagliatelle and I got the ravioli. Both came out quick! Smelled and tasted delicious. My ravioli corners were a bit undercooked, but the overall taste (very buttery and cheesy, which I like) was phenomenal. Gf really enjoyed her pasta too, and mentioned many times how great it tasted.
We ordered dessert, and on the way to the washroom I spoke to a manager there to get our dessert spruced up for the birthday occasion - he was prompt and . Came out perfectly with sparkler and everything. Tiramisu was VERY good - definitely order it.
Great clean place, nice atmosphere, colors and decor was spot on, service was great! Portion sizes could be a bit bigger I think, but if you get multiple courses you will be fine. Thank you Buonanotte!"
Dined on 27/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 21/03/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent service, fantastic food, great ambiance. Although we knew beforehand, our only complaint was that we were asked to leave at 9.30 on a Saturday night to make room for the next seating. We would have loved another $160 bottle of wine but we didn't have time. While we understand why this was asked of us, it seems rude."
Dined on 21/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Bad service, acceptable food

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service was really bad, I believe the server was new which explains the mistakes, but doesn't explain the complete lack of attention. We had a hard time ordering additional drinks.
Pizza was great, mushroom pasta not so much. Tiramisu was a dissapointment.
"
Dined on 13/02/2015
 2013
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was good....until it got busy. Then our server got assigned to another section and we didn't see her at all. After a good chunk of time, we had to wave someone down for the bill. Looks like you get better service if you part of a big group; but otherwise the food and drinks were great."
Dined on 13/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent cocktails. Salad and meatball apps were quite flavourful. All liked mains. Bronzino, pizza and pasta"
Dined on 13/02/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent modern style restuatarnt , limited menu selection , entrees and appetizers come in reasonable portions and are good. The wait staff specially young female waiters hired , while eager are not up par , for the prices and expectation set by the restuarant.
wine list is overpriced ."
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious dinner....

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was entertaining two business colleagues from out of the country, and picked this restaurant because of the interesting menu. Food was delicious, pizza as a shared appetizer was awesome. Pasta dinners all exceptionally tasty, but, one guest had ravioli, and while very good, a plate with but 5 raviolis on it looked very skimpy for $28.
Would definitely return (just not for the ravioli) and would recommend it."
Dined on 04/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great ambience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was expensive and just decent but the ambience was nice and service good."
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Spend your money elsewhere...for much better

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Here's what I wrote: I hate to say this (as we're in fortunate places to enjoy dinners out frequently), but offer it as constructive feedback as there's potential for the place! We were the party of 6 last night (Jan 16). Was very impressed with the interior decor (great work - amazingly stylish! A great large group event venue). Then things went downhill. Server was super friendly, but overall service was so slow: food came out quite late, which was surprising as the place wasn't busy. Food quality was very mediocre (especially considering the price): it's no where near the quality of other restaurants offering dishes at that price ($30/plate). The only thing I liked was the bread that the caprese salad was on. It doesn't seem like you've landed the dinner thing yet. Many of the urbanspoon reviews reflect this! Let me know when things have changed as I'd give it another chance. Hope this is helpful!"
Dined on 16/01/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Buonanotte - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding Italian restaurant with lounge appeal!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/12/2014
 2007
Dined on 10/12/2014
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Everything about this restaurant was fantastic! Great ambiance (music, energy, staff), outstanding menu with good selection, excellent wine list, great service. I will most certainly be back to this restaurant any time I am back east in Toronto."
Dined on 10/12/2014
 2007
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Buonanotte - Toronto
Based on the average of (32) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
21 out of 24 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic