Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Abbot's Cellar Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Abbot's Cellar

The Abbot's Cellar is dedicated to food and beverage pairings, with a focus on craft beer. Pristinely sourced, simply cooked cuisine, paired perfectly with craft beer and wine.
And proudly a Bay Area Top 100 restaurant for 2013 and 2014.
71 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(71 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
5 stars
(36)
4 stars
(26)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
3.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(36)
  • neighborhood gem(23)
  • hot spot(15)
  • special occasion(12)
  • good for groups(9)
  • romantic(8)
The Abbot's Cellar Reviews List
Review 1 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2007
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2007
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/06/2013
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Untimely end to Abbot's Cellar; chef to Monk's K.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This past week was the unfortunate end of The Abbot's Cellar, a wonderful beer-centered restaurant in the Valencia gourmet ghetto and a special favorite of ours. Fabulous food, excellent service and comfortable ambiance to be sorely missed. Part of the crew and chef will transition to The Monk's Kettle, a sister bar/restaurant at 3141 16th Street between Guerrero and Valencia, and we hope the fare will transition also. We had the tasting menu of seared scallop appetizer, seared and sauteed seabass with mushrooms (done perfectly and delicious) and a carrot cake dessert, paired with a flight of beers, which on their own would not have leaped out at us, but which went exceptionally well with each course. We also had the duck breast (prepared med rare, but still a bit too rare) and their famous sticky toffee dessert, not to be missed, if it moves over to Monk's.
Our favorite spot was the chef's counter, right in front of the kitchen area, where we could watch the crew preparing the food and pick up pointers on how to prepare fish, etc. better at our home, as well as kibbitz with the chef. They had famous cookbooks on the counter to browse, and we even ordered one from Amazon! Always fun!! Hope the next iteration is as enjoyable as this one was."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We will miss this place!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent food, beer & wine. We are so sad they will be closing their doors."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The food is as good as the beer!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I learned the Abbott's Table is run by the same people as the Monk's Kettle and was immediately interested in visiting. Took a group of beer loving friends here and we were not disappointed. The beer selection was superb and our waitress clearly knew her stuff giving great descriptions and recommendations. And we were equally impressed with the food, don't think of it as a beer-themed restaurant but as a good restaurant that applies the same interest to it's beer selection. I will be back!"
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2007
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

What a great place, sad to see it go

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a great time here Friday night. My husband ordered ala cart and I got the beer pairing dinner. We both loved everything we got, and our service was excellent. It's a shame this place is closing at the end of this month. If you haven't been, get there before January 31, 2015!"
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Abbot's Cellar is an excellent restaurant. We had the tasting menu. The food was great, and the beer pairings were absolutely sensational. The wait staff did an outstanding job -- very helpful when we needed them to be, but not at all intrusive. And they were very knowledgeable about both the food and the beer pairings.
I would say the restaurant was very active, but not unpleasantly crowded or noisy. In contrast to many San Francisco restaurants, my dining companion and I could have a conversation in a normal manner (i.e., we didn't have to shout across the table to hear each other speak.)
I love the concept of craft beer pairings with the tasting menu courses.
We had a VERY good experience at The Abbot's Cellar, and recommend it highly."
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good but falling short

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"When you walk through the door you are greeted by a vibrant ambiance, a warm wood and textural decor, and the chatter of friends. The tables are a hoot (with the vast beer menu sliding in and out of the wood paneling)! While the beer selection is intensive and adventurous the food is inferior. The steak was good but lacking originality. Grilled veggies and meat -- nothing new. The gnocchi was dense and chewy. The sole was delicious with a crisp crust and horseradish dusted broccoli -- a dish that is worth of this restaurant's reputation. We really wanted to enjoy Abbot's Cellar but were sadly disappointed."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding from start to finish

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2008
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We visited from out of town... It's clear that everyone here loves what they do. From Lorraine our "hostess" to the servers and of course, the chef. Go... Do the tasting menu and enjoy!"
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great beer and food pairings!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"It was our group's first time to this highly-rated restaurant. We all loved the quality and presentation of the food, and the beer pairings were great! The beer list is extensive, and most we had not seen before -- everything we tried we would have again. Great service and recommendations."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: hot spot, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

overpriced but mostly good food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I went for new years eve, which was tasting menu only. it was fixed price for three or five courses and optional beer pairings. I was more impressed with the beer selections than the food, though with the exception of the deserts the food was very good.
miyaki oysters with fennel and lime were a great combination. sweet meats were overpowered by their breading. quail was very good. scallops were a little on the chewy side for my tastes. portions for the secondi course were very generous. my risotto was fantastic, but the duck out came with was disappointing.
desert was embarrassing. we got two deserts : a spiced bundt cake with brown butter which, despite the large amount of butter for the portion, was so dry as to be barely edible, and a chocolate and nut dish which also included a (muffin) cake that was stale. my guess is that the Baker had the night off and either handed the job to a prep cook or made the batch a couple of days ahead. or both.
that being said, the beer was excellent, and the pairings a mixture of apt and rare. the service was also very good, and our waiter handled all of our questions admirably."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Proably never would have tried this place if it weren't for a lovely gift card from my brother...but I'm so glad we did! The most incredible food ever! My only regret is not going for the four course pre fix. I made the financial choice to skip the $85 price tag of the 4 courses each paired with a specialty beer. I won't make that mistake next time! Don't be afraid of the price...worth every penny!"
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Impressive on many levels

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Turned a wine-only drinker into a beer enthusiast. It's also a very versatile venue - great for a date or big family dinner. The service is exceptional. Expert servers and a very cool hostess who goes out of her way to accommodate special seating requests and puts the guests at ease."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Our Waiter was Terrible

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was delicious. Beer was good. Perfect setting.
Our waiter was so into sharing his beer knowledge that he pretty much ignored his obligation to check back in to see if we wanted anything. Twice asked the bus boy to get our waiter!
The poor service runied our evening. Finally asked for check and went elewhere for dessert and drinks. Our bill was over $400. And would have been more except for the waiter."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Upscale food and beer pairings

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Upscale food and beer pairings with knowledgeable staff, great beer selection and a regularly updated tasting menu."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wonderful food, great service. The waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the food and beer pairings."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Abbot's Cellar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

just ok

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Quite overpriced for ok food. Great beer list but food was not notable."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Abbot's Cellar
Based on the average of (54) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
30 out of 32 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
3.3 / 3
Energetic