Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Cafe Joul Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Cafe Joul

Cafe Joul, a French-American bistro, has been a perpetually popular staple in the Sutton Place neighborhood since the year 2000. A convivial, neighborhood atmosphere combined with the high-quality cuisine of chef-owner Bertrand Vernejoul have created a large devoted following.

***If party sizes larger than 8, please call the restaurant directly for reservations.
81 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(81 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
(38)
4 stars
(33)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(61)
  • great for brunch(33)
  • fit for foodies(25)
  • romantic(19)
  • great for lunch(17)
  • notable wine list(12)
Cafe Joul Reviews List
Review 1 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Gone...but not forgotten

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It breaks our hearts that this East Side standby has closed its doors, at least for now. The cuisine, the chef, and the waitstaff welcomed neighborhood regulars and first timers with open hearts and full plates. As good as French bistro food gets in this tough-on-restaurants town."
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Long-time neighbor

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Have enjoyed Joul for years - lovely, kind people. Never a bad meal, never a bad experience. Food that is consistently good. Menu evolves slowly, which is great - you can enjoy your standbys and try new dishes. This is a place you can count on."
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A classic gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent food and service, as always. Our waitress remembered that several weeks ago we had asked for a wine from the list but which was out of stock, and told us that they now had it. Where else can you get that kind of attention? I strongly recommend dining here."
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Really good food; stay open!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2006
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very Pleasant Bistro

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Café Joule is a nice bistro, very welcoming with attentive, friendly service. We've been there many times before. The hamburgers are a particular favorite. This time I had the seafood encroute. A large casserole came with a thick covering of puff pastry. Inside was a tasty broth with a four large pieces of lobster, fish, white beans and vegetables. The server described it as a favorite and filling. I couldn't finish it. The white sausage appetizer was also good. The wine list is extensive. Ambience is French/Continental, and the background music adds to the experience. I'd go just to have a bottle of wine and enjoy the soundtrack."
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mothers Day brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We enjoyed a delicious brunch which began with included drinks. The basket of pastries was awesome and I would've been happy just having them. We ordered the brioche French toast ( the only part somewhat disappointing, tasty,but the crust was a bit too crunchy), croque Madame , and the scrambled eggs. Looking forward to many more meals here."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Cozy..Elegant..Special

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I give this quiet little eatery 5 stars !! We were greeted and given window table . Compliments to a very pleasant & professional staff.I had the 9 oz steak and my friend had the Lemon Sole & each dish was presented beautifully...and ofcourse it tasted so good.Kudo's to the chef & staff @ the cafe !! Thank you for a wonderful dining experience....see you soon"
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2004
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A gem

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Everything is great about this place. A wonderful find with amazing food, service, ambiance... You name it!"
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Neighborhood Bistro

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Cafe Joul is our go-to place in the East 50s. It's quiet, understated and totally unpretentious. This family-run jewel has great burgers, salads and omelettes highlighted on its well-balanced lunch menu. For dinner, nightly specials (Arctic char is a family favorite) and the always good salmon and steak alternatives keep things interesting. Great food at a great price make Cafe Joul a value leader."
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful Neighborhood Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wonderful feel to this spot for meeting a friend or friends, brunch, lunch or dinner. Great, but not over attentive, service and very good food. Love the place."
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our Favorite Go-To for Dinner & Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been to Café Joul numerous times over the years, most often for dinner, and each time we leave having enjoyed a truly excellent meal, great/friendly service, a charming ambiance and the pleasure of being able to visit alone or with our guests and actually hear each other speak. The atmosphere can be lively at times, but this is a wonderful spot to go when you don't want to be overwhelmed or aggravated by deafening music or annoying high volume conversation. We have sampled most of the appetizers and entrees, and would gladly order any of them time and again. We often invite guests to Café Joul, and no one has ever been disappointed. We were most recently there with a guest for Easter Sunday brunch, and it was absolutely the perfect spot, and hopping! We look forward to many more meals there, including on nights when they show old silent movies on a screen--one of many special features that add to the charm of Café Joul."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Blah

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Saturday Brunch was pricey for what was available and what was available was just okay. The coffee was sub-standard. The service was lackluster. The ambience was nondescript."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

capt mike loves it

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My favorite neighborood spot. Casual; great food; friendly warm service. A pleasure!"
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Like a culinarily-talented friend's home

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2006
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our family and friends' favorite neighborhood restaurant. Staff makes us feels welcome and the food is always fresh and deliciously prepared. Mahi special was heaven last night. Mussels and wild mushroom ravioli with truffles are both downright addictive. Thanks Heidi and Bertrand and Cafe Joul staff, for 16 consistently delicious years in your sweet bistro, our home away from home! The luckiest neighborhood in NYC!"
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have always loved this quiet, adult, restaurant. This was my first visit back in over a year, and the food and service have maintained their high quality. And the burger is still the best anywhere!"
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

AMAZING food. Transported to France. Very HIP.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Shared food with friends, so I was able to taste several things. EVERYTHING was amazing. The lamb meatballs melted in my mouth, as did the bass.
Loved the ambiance. Felt like I was in a cool Paris restaurant that landed in Gotham. Great place to go with friends or on a romantic date.
The waiters were on top of things and very friendly.
I also loved the music. FINALLY...and place where you can hear great music, but it's not blasting you ears out so you can actually have a conversation without shouting (or hear strangers shout in our ears).
The wine was great as well.
Two thumbs up. I'm definitely going back!"
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely and local

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Cafe Joul is just up the blockwithin easy walking distance. Brunch is usually crowded which I think is a good sign. The atmosphere is warm and cozy. It is quite charming. The food is excellent, truly made to order. But that does take some time. The staff is excellent , but not overbearing and always smiling. The noise is moderate, but not so loud that you have to shout. We enjoyed the experience and will return."
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good experience - neighborhood gem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"THe staff was very nice and they and the chef accommodated my needs of making small tweaks to their dishes. They let my friend and me stay there for hours and put no pressure on us to leave."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Favorite neighborhood restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We're never disappointed, whether we order specials or from the regular menu. The chef is French and prepares magnifique cuisine. Not fancy, very welcoming and reliably pleasing."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food. Very relaxed

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It's a great place to have some really good food and relax, talk to friends, just enjoy the moment. The food is always just delicious and there is never a rush. The service is friendly & attentive, not pushy or rushed. The lsmbmeatballs were amazing as was the beet salad. It's all good!"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sweet Neighborhood French Restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It was a pleasure to eat in this tiny bistro-like restaurant. The food and service were very good. I had venison ossso bucco whitewash delicious. Its a it our of the way fro us but we met friends who live in that neighborhood and it was worth going there."
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Really very pleasant, relaxed cafe atmosphere. The pate was light and aromatic, the burgers were nicely done with excellent fries. Great Parisian-style bourgeois food."
Dined on 1/27/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have gone to Café Joul for delicious French food whenever we're in NYC. This time our visit was a disappointment. I love pan seared foie gras and have always gone to Joul for it. I checked their website to make sure it was still on the menu and it was. But when we got there, we were told that it had been removed. I expressed my disappointment and was told by the server not to blame her, that the management had not yet updated the website even though they hadn't had it for several months. She offered a free drink but then ended up charging us for everything we drank. She brought my husband the wrong beer but again charged us for the bottle he hadn't ordered. We ordered my other favorite, crème brulee, The sugar on top was burnt and bitter. We paid the bill and left. We probably will look for another French restaurant the next time we are in the City."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Another excellent dinner at Cafe Joul

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Every time I come to Cafe Joul after a long absence, I get amazed by how great the food is. Every single thing we ordered was absolutely perfect. I really loved a new dish of lamb meatballs, and a special of foie gras salad with hericot verts and grilled peaches was a huge hit at our table. I managed to have some of my favorite bibb lettuce salad, and yellow beats and jicama salad (love having dinner with lots of people: many opportunities to try things...). Flourless chocolate cake and super thin apple tart finished our dinner. Four bottles of excellent earthy Bordeaux were consumed.
I hope for the next trip to CJ very soon!
"
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent Neighborhood Restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food is very good at this lovely restaurant and everyone very nice and accommodating. It's a pretty place and I would recommend highly."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Spectacular evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Every detail of our special dinner was superb. The veal medallions were excellent, service impeccable. Cafe Joul is a wonderful experience."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

My secret go-to for a quick excellent meal.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Although from a distance the standard bistro appearance may look a bit long in the tooth- one step inside and those wide wooden plank floors and local artists work on the walls - combined with energetic young wait staff- suggests a fresher approach- and the food delivers. Think updated bistro menu with a unique flare.
CJ's has been in Sutton Place for over 10 years and is one of our absolute favorites. End of week and weekend nights can be tight, so be sure to reserve. Brunch also good on weekends- but it's the dinner menu that shines. Specials are always spot on. Service friendly and excellent. Highly recommended.
"
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Cafe Joul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great spot for low key brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This is a great neighborhood spot for a low key brunch. My parents were coming into town and wanted a nice but reasonably priced spot that didn't attract the bottomless crowd. The prix fixe brunch menu is a great deal. Includes a meal, coffee, brunch drink, and delicious pastries. Look forward to coming to back."
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Cafe Joul
Based on the average of (39) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
31 out of 32 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic