Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Savona Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Savona

SAVONA, SCARSDALE is the second location of ZAGAT Top 5 Italian Restaurant, SAVONA, in Philadelphia. Consistent, creative, high quality dining and seamlessly orchestrated service has been the hallmark of SAVONA's success for 15 years. Now, Executive Chef, Andrew Masciangelo, and Chef de Cuisine, David White, offer their soulful regional Italian cooking here in Westchester, New York. Their farm to table philosophy involves handling products as few times as possible to capture the natural flavor intensity of each ingredient. Culinary excellence is supported by a killer wine program featuring an extensive array of wines by the glass created by Fred Dex, Master Sommelier. A 20 foot white marble bar, sexy lighting, dramatic drapery, contemporary leather chairs and thick butcher block tables set the stage for high quality dining. We look forward to welcoming you to SAVONA.
85 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(85 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
5 stars
(25)
4 stars
(49)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(53)
  • fit for foodies(45)
  • good for groups(21)
  • special occasion(20)
  • notable wine list(18)
  • hot spot(17)
Savona Reviews List
Review 1 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/04/2013
 2014
Dined on 11/04/2013
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/04/2013
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Savona
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

beautifully designed, ok food, horrible service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"They spent all of their money decorating this place and none of it on training the staff. What a disappointment. can not recommend."
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was good. Restaurant was very noisy and I didn't like where we were seated."
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Savona
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Savona
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Savona
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Savona
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Savona
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious food and excellent service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I chose to dine at Savona on Wednesday night for our wedding anniversary. We have had consistently good meals here but this night was especially wonderful. I hadn't mentioned it when I reserved the table but the sommelier asked us what brought us out that night. He congratulated us. We enjoyed our delicious dinner of branzino and pasta. When we ordered dessert, he brought over champagne to toast our anniversary. It was a lovely touch to end our evening."
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Savona
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Savona
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We came here expecting a nice elegant Mother's Day dinner. We expected the restaurant to be quite busy, but were surprised to find the bar empty. Despite this the service was quite slow. I noticed several staff members socializing with each other rather than observing the customers and our needs. Eventually I got someone's attention for the desert menu. After this, no one came to ask us what we wanted for over 10 minutes. When Someone finally did come we had lost our desired for desert or an expressO so we asked for the check and left.
Lastly, my Mom felt the food was over priced for the portions and quality served.
"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Savona
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Really Nice Mother's Day Lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Crabcakes were outrageous. Fish was fresh and prepared very well. Sauces/dressings are never overpowering.
Service is consistently good.
I am never dissapointed here!
"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Savona
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I would not recommend for a single diner. Hostess offered only the bar or high tops for a single diner even with a reservation and empty restaurant. Did not make me feel welcome at all. Eventually the manager came over but it took quite awhile. The experience was not as enjoyable and relaxing as I had hoped."
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyed our anniversary at Savona

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Savona, and it was our first visit. The food was excellent (I had the short ribs and my husband had grilled salmon), and the wait staff and general manger were attentive. When they found out it was our anniversary they sent over champagne.
The bar is really lovely, and we will definitely will go back for dinner or drinks at their beautiful bar."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/29/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

No complaints

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Good was good. Service as well. Hostess not too welcoming & disappointed we were squeezed into a very tight space even with a reservation"
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Savona
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Savona
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great! Loved the food and atmosphere"
Dined on 10/24/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent service and the food is consistently delish. The fried artichoke appetizer is a must. We will continue visiting this neighborhood gem."
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sienna in Scarsdale

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Very good food and service, though the tables are a bit tight. Ask for the chips, before dinner."
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Savona
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous Find!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Savona was wonderful! The food was delicious , the service outstanding, and the ambience was great.
My party of three ladies would all reccommend it to others. Half price bottles of wine on Tuesday was a surprise treat too!
"
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Savona
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Upscale Italian

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Savona offered a nice selection for restaurant week...interesting choices of their regular menu. The flavors, presentation and preparation of the meals were very well crafted and well balanced. The beef carpaccio was delicious as well as the chicken liver with a fruit jam. The tender short ribs just melted in your mouth. The risotto was nice and creamy. The salmon was prepared as requested and the spaghetti and big veal meatball was creatively presented and delicious. All the entrees had great flavors, not overly salted. The desserts were not overly sweet and so yummy. The bomboloni were little dough balls, like zeppoli, accompanied by sauces, the bownie cake was delicate and the panna cotte was smooth. We will definitely make a return trip to Savona."
Dined on 3/09/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"good as usual. one thing always strange is that we never see the waiter after he/she takes our order. also, think you should have a soup that is vegetarian/lactose free friendly- one had pork and the other was creamed."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, bad service as usual

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2007
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"While the food was good, service (as usual) was mediocre at best and completely inattentive to rude at other times. Our waiter was fine for most of the meal, but it took asking twice to get a 2nd glass of wine and asking someone else for our check (he never came back). The person the did finally bring our glass of wine said very abruptly "did you order this?" and then slammed it down on the table as if mad about it. We've been here several times, and it just seems like service is consistently poor."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2007
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food and service good, but the noise level bad

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The noise level made it very difficult to talk to friends who we have not seen in a long time. Guests should be given an seating option when they make reservations."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Savona
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Dinning

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My husband and I enjoyed a great Saturday night together with a wonderful selection of appetizers and entrees as well as a few specials that made you wish they offered a sampler platter to try them all. We were too full to enjoy dessert, but the selection looked divine. Both of our main dishes were cooked to perfection and seasoned appropriately, we would not have changed a thing. Since we ate at an earlier time the noise level was not too bad, however the level was rising by the time we left."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

eatoutalot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Other than being seated all the way in the back of the restaurant after asking for a table close to the window (which i was assured had only "two tops" that night), the food and service were excellent.
Interesting dishes, prepared and presented well. The braised short ribs were very rich and nicely prepared as were the artichoke hearts and the lamb meatballs shared by the table.
I did have to ask the waiter not to pour bottled beer at the bar but to bring the bottle and serve at the table, which for the second round he did.
I would go back but ask in advance to reserve a table near the front.
"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Savona
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Gracious service. Loved the fried artichoke appetizer and the salmon entree."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Savona
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice find in Scarsdale village

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The restaurant has a large bar area and comfortable table seating. There are chalk boards around giving it a comfortable Italian sort of flair. All of our food was very good: crispy chicken with delicious winter vegetables; salmon; and steak. Nice wine and cocktail list. Tiramisu for desert was good. Overall nice feeling and good service , would go back!!"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Savona
Based on the average of (50) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
43 out of 44 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic