Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Wildebeest Reviews List

Wildebeest

Wildebeest (winner of Best New Restaurant and Best New Design - 24th Annual Vancouver Magazine Restaurant Awards) invites you to experience unabashedly adventurous yet simple cooking at its finest, set within the historic neighbourhood of Gastown. Explore true farm to table cookery paired with a diverse selection of Old & New World wines, delicious local & imported craft beers and ciders, and a carefully crafted cocktail list.

The menus for dinner and weekend brunch focus on the delicious and decadent, and are prepared with the utmost integrity. Every component has been thoughtfully nurtured by the restaurant’s executive chef, Wesley Young, from field to finish. We work closely with surrounding farms and farmers to organically raise healthy, happy animals and grow custom produce. Employing classic butchery traditions and simple, contemporary techniques, Wildebeest presents delicious menus of the season. This is food for food lovers.
See more Wildebeest details
767 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(767 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 767 reviews
5 stars
(327)
4 stars
(316)
3 stars
(90)
2 stars
(28)
1 star
(6)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(490)
  • good for groups(289)
  • special occasion(218)
  • neighborhood gem(188)
  • hot spot(182)
  • notable wine list(114)
Wildebeest Reviews List
Review 1 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2009
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2009
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Anything can happen at dine out.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Came during dine out Vancouver for dinner late Sunday evening. Our appetizers came soon after we ordered, however the wait between dishes was quite long (about 35mins for our entrees and 20mins for dessert). Someone from our table found a nickel-sized piece of clear plastic in their polenta. We called our server over and he said "Anything can happen at dine out" with his hands in the air, shrugging and tilting his head. He had used this phrase multiple times already, and from the start his humour did not resonate much with us. He took the piece of plastic to the kitchen and returned with the question along the lines of "what can we do for you?".
In the end that person's meal was comped, which we thought was appropriate. When our bill came we realized there was a $2 charge per person for distilled water which was not mentioned by our server when he asked "sparking or distilled?" and not noted on the menu anywhere. It would have been nice to know ahead of time instead of figuring it out on our own.
In conclusion, we all agreed the food was great but not 100% sure if any of us would go back."
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A little shy of the mark

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My first impression of Wildebeast was the bass-too-high-treble-too-low loud music which resulted in a loud electronic bass sound pulsing through the restaurant without an of the actual detail of the music playing, and it never really went away.
It was crowded and busy and the waitress wasn't really paying attention, swapping my party and another's table after not bother to wait for a response when asking the party name. But hey, it's Dineout and all the staff are frazzled, so it happens.
Cocktails were very good, which was a nice surprise as I find the cocktail scene a little lacking in Vancouver. There were some inventive flavour combinations and plays on classics.
All of the savoury food was utterly delicious and would be the reason to go. Anson Mills grains were presented and cooked beautifully in a Risotto that let the flavour of the grains show and each piece of meat was cooked and presented immaculately.
The deserts were lacklustre, the worst of which had a texture like condensed glue. It's not often I'll go to a nice restaurant and not finish a course.
Overall it was okay, perhaps when outside of Dineout times and it's less busy the service and ambience would be better, but I would stick to cocktails and mains."
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"wildebeest has been on my radar for quite some time and dine out was the perfect chance to try it out. to be honest my gf and i were disappointed. we had the 3 course dinner and werent blown away by anything. i had the tuna, she had the bison for starters and we both got the fish. the tuna was super plain and the bison was nothing special, the fish was really good but if it wasnt for dineout we felt it was way too expensive for dishes you can get cheaper somewhere else. we also got poutine as a side but the poutine was just average and ive had better at late night places on granville. service was stellar but being seated in the basement is not ideal when trying a new place out. the music and ambience is cool but im sure its better upstairs in the main dining area, the basement would be cool for private functions. overall we expected more from a place ive heard so much about. i try to avoid commercial places like cactus, joeys and the like but this felt like one of those cookie cutter places, except more expensive. i wouldnt make a point of going back with so many more options downtown"
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

It did not live up to it's hype

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"WE went for dine out Vancouver, our reservation was at 8:30 and we were seated after 9:00. They brought us a drink, while we waited, but they charged us for the beverage, even though we had to wait for over 40 minutes and we booked a reservation a month ago.
The appetizers were good, I had the tuna tartare, my friend had the carpaccio and the others had the beet terrine. WE all thought they were good. However dinner entree was another story. Two of us had the striploin. We both felt it was chewy. The other two had the salmon, and they both said that seemed like they boiled it and served it with the sides. No flavour at all. The desserts were okay, nothing outstanding but not bad. Two of us got the cheesecake mousse and they both had different flavours. One had cardamon and the other didn't?
"
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Asked to hurry up

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Was barely there on Sunday for 60 minutes during brunch before I was rudely asked to hurry up. Horrible service. Also, sent an email to the restaurant about the experience and no reply. I'll take my business elsewhere. Always wondered why it was so easy to get a last minute reso here...and now I know!"
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2013
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Seating

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Some of the best food I have had for sure! However, the bench seating was not expected nor enjoyable. The seats were to close to one another and when you have to tuck your elbows in all nite it kind of ruins the evening. If we knew this going in then fine, however, when going to a highly touted place such as this, you are expecting a more intimate setting and experience. Our whole bench pretty much felt the same way. We sort of felt "wow this food is great but let's get out of here as soon as possible". We never felt relaxed is the more salient point.
Thanks for the great food and friendly staff though!"
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Cocktails

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Great drinks, the bartender that day has the spotlight of the show. Lots of cocktails selection. Food was all right."
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Friend and myself went for dinner and was pleased with the flavours of our dishes. That being said, came away feeling a lot was paid but not a lot of food. We appreciate the idea of less is more, But not if I'm paying more for less. If this all makes sense. I don't mind the portion sizes if the price was according to size.
Even though the food was good I do not find myself visiting this place again anytime soon. There are other amazing places to eat with a better price point to quantity. To clarify, portion size was good, but not for the cost."
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very cool place indeed.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I went here after seeing a few posts on Instagram for Dine Out. A friend and I arrived and were seated beside another group of people. We asked to be moved so we could enjoy time together without others sitting so close to us. This was one thing I didn't love. Maybe it's just a dine out thing to fill spots. None the less, we sat at the bar, enjoyed the 3 course dine out menu/wine sampling. Start with the smoked olives!! Oh my goodness, so good we ordered 2. The food was wonderful. I did brave it up and try the bone marrow - why not?? This included a glass of sherry you drank form the bone. Great to try once. I loved it here, will be back!"
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Decent

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Small portions, unique dishes and a good cocktail list."
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Noisy

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The food was fine and the service was good. However I found the noise level high making conversation difficult. Not much privacy either given the long table setup."
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A bit disappointed with chipped dishes on DOVF

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"It was second year in a row that we went to Wildebeest for dine out Vancouver festival. Personally I liked the prevous year's menu a touch more simply because last year the dishes were more creative. The quality of the ingredients and cooking were just as good for this year though. In addition we ordered a duck liver pate for share which was really good. My only complain was two of the dishes that serve the appetizers and main dish for the artic char were chipped. I would expect an upscale restaurant such as Wildebeest should not serve chipped dishes to their patrons. It was also embarrassing to take photos and post to social media with chipped dishes."
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2008
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 31/01/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Quality over quantity

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Food was delightful! Abundant in flavour and the plates look vibrant! However the portions were too small I was left still hungry at the end of our meal!
I did come during dineout Vancouver so I don't know if the portions are different with this menu. I will be coming back to try their regular menu!
"
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2009
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Outstanding Dine-Out menu. Was very impressed by the laid back atmosphere and service, and the food was unbelievable."
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious Dineout Double Date

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I've always wanted to try Wildbeest and I finally did during Dineout, and I was not disappointed! They definitely showed their best during Dineout, gave us lots of options to choose from. Their sauce combination and reduction were super good on their steak (I thought the meat was a bit too tough, but the sauce made up for that). Their portion size was great and I love their desserts. I'll definitely go back for dinner or brunch after Dineout's over. GOOD VALUE - CHECK!"
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food just ok. Very noisy

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Took advantage of the Dine Out to finally try it. Excellent all around. Great service, too. Would definitely go back."
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2010
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/01/2016
 2009
Dined on 20/01/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 20/01/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2008
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Wildebeest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>