Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

SOLETO Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

SOLETO

Introducing Soleto Trattoria and Pizza Bar, a Downtown Los Angeles Italian restaurant that features an Exhibition Pizza Bar, Outdoor Patio, and Large Bar area perfect for Happy Hour. With exposed beams, reclaimed wood floors, white wash brick walls, and a glass chandelier, this ‘Industrial Chic’ restaurant is the perfect addition to the growing downtown dining scene. Soleto combines straightforward elements of an Italian street-side café, with the comfort of a neighborhood bar, and the warmth of an inviting staff. Offering Southern Italian cooking and distinctive cocktails in a soaring and elegant space, where anyone can experience honest Italian food pared with great wines, makes Soleto the perfect place for denizens of downtown to unwind and relax.
57 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(57 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
(19)
4 stars
(20)
3 stars
(15)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(26)
  • great for lunch(23)
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • great for outdoor dining(9)
  • special occasion(7)
SOLETO Reviews List
Review 1 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/22/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/22/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/22/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went here for a quick work lunch. Everything about it was fine, not outstanding, not bad....just good. Perhaps it was because we all decided on salads. I ordered the cobb and it was mostly lettuce. The cauliflower was pretty good. One thing that was annoying is after leaving the restaurant I got a call from someone there saying I missed my reservation. I checked in with the hostess and she marked me down as showing up, or at least I thought she did. The follow-up call would have been a nice gesture but the woman who called was RUDE. She was challenging me saying "where did you sit?" "who did you check in with?" "what did you order?" It was very confrontational. Relax lady, it's 100 pts....sorry, I didn't know I should get the hostess' life story so I could justify attending my reservation. This left a bad taste in my mouth, I won't be going back any time soon."
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Solid menu and good execution

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The menu is broad and the food is consistently good. Took a client here for dinner. All five in attendance liked it and we were able to talk. Good place and it's a block from the 7th and metro stop"
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great for happy hour

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went here for cocktails and apps, was not disappointed. Drinks were stellar... off the happy hour menu try the calimari, cauliflower and meatballs. I didn't like the brussell sprouts (egg over the top!) but my friend loved it. Service was really great."
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

It was good

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"There wasn't anything mind-blowing about this place, but it was a nice, chill location. I went with a group and the place looks great and we expected more of a hubbub since it was a Friday night. It took a while for our orders to be placed and the food was okay. We had a Margherita pizza, Cesar salad, as well as some other pastas. Most agreed that the food was okay, but nothing oh too crazy. As we left however, I did notice that the bar was picking up a pace, so maybe it's a good place for drinks. Good for a one time experience."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2010
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Brian and his staff are outstanding! They are friendly and verly attentive. The food is always delicious and served in a timely fashion!
It's on the way to the Staples Center, so it's a great place to stopy for a drink and a snack!
"
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Another great dinner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always look forward to dining at Soleto's. The food and service are always great!"
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice find!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was my first dinner at Soleto and it won't be my last. Food was delicious and the service was very good. Very reasonably priced for downtown LA."
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The pizze and flatbread were outstanding, and I thoroughly enjoyed both my and my date's cocktails. Service was impressive, and the pumpkin bread desert"
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Stake

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The stake was the best thing ordered at our table. The burger was just ok. Stake bread. Pulled pork pizza was good. The garlic fries are delish!"
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Liked the food. Setting is nice

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Fun atmosphere. Food was really good. Website says valet pkg but no valet. Not clear where to park. Apparently, the parking is off 8th and $5 with validation. Would have been good to know that before parking somewhere else."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We come here for lunch frequency, the food is good and the outside dinning."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Date Night Gem

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My girlfriend and I went to SOLETO for Valentines day. Overall we really enjoyed ourselves, and the food and service was great! Our only critique was that the menu is a little small and that the portions tend to be either really small or massive. However the food is so delicious that portions are easy to ignore.
I highly recommend SOLETO for a date night."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

They try hard but the food is just ok.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice space,good service, but the food leaves something to be desired. The pizza crust was rubbery."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It was great food and service.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I went to this restaurant for having a dineLA lunch menus with my friend. We ordered the 3 different courses like Brussel sprouts, Roasted beet salad, Charred cauliflower, Pacific rockfish arabiat and desertd, etc. we really liked them. Manager came to our table to greet to us was great experience. Thank you for the nice lunch time do us."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great place to watch fooltball and have some wine after work."
Dined on 1/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"great place Brian is really accomodating and is always helpful if you need something!"
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"great place Brian is really accomodating and is always helpful if you need something!"
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Don't bother

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was lousy, the place was loud, the food was so so...once it finally arrived (the coffee I ordered never did arrive). Best part of our lunch was desert. Very disappointed overall, and this was a birthday lunch for our boss, so no bonus points scored there."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Spanky

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I ordered the Burger and while the burger was excellent the bun was stale and dry and I could not eat it."
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for SOLETO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Always look forward to dining at Soleto! The food and staff are consistently great!,"
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for SOLETO
Based on the average of (27) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
24 out of 25 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic