Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Straw Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Straw

Straw is a fun and comfortable restaurant in Hayes Valley that serves carnival-inspired comfort food.
52 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(52 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
5 stars
(19)
4 stars
(20)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(22)
  • kid-friendly(17)
  • fit for foodies(16)
  • great for lunch(15)
  • great for brunch(9)
  • special occasion(8)
Straw Reviews List
Review 1 for Straw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun place interesting food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2014
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Loved the cotton candy martini, amazing tater tots."
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Straw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/14/2014
 2014
Dined on 4/14/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/14/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Straw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/10/2014
 2014
Dined on 8/10/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/10/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Straw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/13/2013
 2008
Dined on 9/13/2013
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/13/2013
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Straw
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Straw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always fun food and fare!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Dare to eat a donut hamburger? How about sharing a Swedish Fish cocktail in a "fish bowl". Always fun, imaginative and tasty! It's like being an adult at a carnival...gourmet touch yet you can eat with your hands."
Dined on 5/16/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Straw
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Straw
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

#deliciousdonutburger

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It seemed like it wouldn't work. It seemed like it was just a little too much. A donut AND a burger? But, the first bite almost made us cry. So sweet. So savory. So yummy.
Coming back for the chicken and waffle monte crisco... chicken, waffles, jelly and powdered sugar? Bring it on."
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Straw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

cute

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"cute neighborhood place. we live nearby - call in if you want the special seat. food was good buut some things felt like they came out a bit cold. good service, and good experience overall"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Straw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The kind of dinner you brag about for weeks

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I came with my boyfriend for an anniversary dinner and I'm so glad we chose Straw. We had a reservation for Sunday night but didn't really need one (though it might be busier when there isn't pouring rain out). We shared sweet potato tots for an appetizer (I love their BBQ dipping sauce) and then he got The Ringmaster and I got the Fried Chicken n Waffle Monte Cristo and we split both. Oh my God. So sweet, so meaty, so everything. Everything was amazing, but I'd choose The Ringmaster over the Monte Cristo next time - there was just so much waffle I was stuffed before I was halfway done with it.
My favorite thing, though, was the drinks - I got the Big Dipper (vodka-infused sake, lemonade, strawberry and a Fun Dip rim, YUM) and my boyfriend got the Cotton Candy Cocktail, which is a MUST. They bring you a glass overflowing with blue cotton candy and then pour a sake-champagne mix over it so the cotton candy melts down right in front of you, and the final product is like a delicious bright memory of youth... plus booze.
Service was also friendly and great, and I love that they bring you a little book and crayon at the end of your meal. This is definitely a place I'll re-visit, if only to prove to people that SF isn't all fancy healthy salad restaurants - we do the opposite quite well too :)"
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Straw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

YUM!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was sooo good! yum! Nom nom nom :) Will definitely go back."
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Straw
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Straw had an interesting menu

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The theme of the restaurant is based on carnival/county fair. You receive popcorn as an appetizer. There is one "chair" from a carnival ride in one corner. My husband had a hamburger that has a donut as the bun. I had a grilled cheese. The dessert was deep fried candy bars.
It was not what I expected but we had a good time. Probably better for lunch than dinner. Our waitress was very friendly and very attentive.
"
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Straw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun/delicious food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Burger between two donuts was wonderful. Chicken and waffle Monte Cristo was fabulous. Jambalaya was flavorful but not too spicy. The chef even let us have a taste so we could decide on orderi g it. For dessert, a mystery selection of mini candy bars fried to perfection."
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Straw
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

meh

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"First time here, cute idea but very crowded. Hours listed online are incorrect. Small space, poor service, took order delivered food and that was it, had to ask for a check and refills on water came after we paid, never asked if wanted another drink or how the food was. Was never provided a drink menu or list of drinks, had to guess!"
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Straw
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Optimisitc: Maybe Worth a Second Try

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"For fair food it's kind of expensive; we got out of there with a shared appetizer (amongst three people), a glass of wine and an entree for a little more than $30 with tax and tip each, but hey fairs are kind of overpriced too and it's San Francisco so . . . . The portions are big but I did not find the food amazing. I love indulging in sinfully bad for you food but only when it's worth it. It's not that the food was horrible, it's that nothing really stood out. I got the monte cristo waffle and chicken sandwich, my friends got the trip-tip skewers over garlic mash potatoes and the pulled pork sandwich with homemade potato chips. The pulled pork was the best of the three and that was not something for which I would definitely go back. I have to say the grilled cheese looked amazing, and I might venture to Straw a second time to give that a try. I'd also like to try out their desserts. I had rave reviews from friends about Straw, so maybe it was just an off night or maybe I didn't try the right dishes. I think it might be worth a second try."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Straw
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun dinner with my daughter

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My 8 year old daughter and I were going to a show at the Opera House, and I wanted a place that was tasty and not too fancy. The restaurant is very small and has a lot of charm. Cute decorations with a carnival theme. We even ate at the one table that is made of an old Ferris wheel seat (with pillows for comfort). Unlike traditional carnival food, there were plenty of healthy options too. Although the menu had some kid friendly options like corn dogs and mac n cheese, my daughter opted for the BLTA and I had portobello & pepper skewers. She loved the Aunt Sally salad with a lightly dressed vinagrette too. The proximity to the Civic Center is great too. Fun place to take kids that had plenty of options for Mom too."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Straw
Based on the average of (36) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
28 out of 32 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic