Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Nix's Newburyport Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Nix's Newburyport

Newburyport's Landmark Tavern. Nixs Newburyport makes it simple to get together with friends for Lunch or Dinner, serving dishes that are easy to share and easy to enjoy! Also offering NFL Sunday Ticket, Weekday Specials, and Private Event Space.
74 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
(74 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
5 stars
(18)
4 stars
(25)
3 stars
(14)
2 stars
(13)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(21)
  • good for groups(19)
  • fit for foodies(18)
  • vibrant bar scene(16)
  • special occasion(10)
  • kid-friendly(9)
Nix's Newburyport Reviews List
Review 1 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/07/2013
 2011
Dined on 6/07/2013
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/07/2013
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/20/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We had a reservation and when we arrived they informed us that someone had rented the upper floor. We, along with others, were relocated to the pub area and restricted to the bar menu. This proved to be a disappointing experience so we opted to leave and eat ate Mission Oak instead- which was fabulous!"
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was pretty good, but did not come close to the quality of its predecessor, 10 Center. The soup was not quite warm enough. The service was plainly awful. There was no drink list, and the waiter did not know--at all--which wines were available by the glass. It was not clear that he even knew what Malbec was. We probably waited at least 10-15 minutes for our drinks. We were never asked if the food was ok. The second round of drinks was just as slow. We won't be back."
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2010
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Last visit to NIXS Newburyport

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We made a reservation for this past Friday evening, before we got our 1st drink, I received a cancellation notice from Open Table. We bill was $121 and the host agreed that the cancellation was a mistake and could rectify it but he never did. Their cocktail and wine selection is pathetic and we were told the owners don't care about this location. Not going back although we used to really enjoy it in the past."
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service here was not good. Our waitress didn't come to the table very often, but even worse, it took over 20 minutes for our salads and cup of clam chowder to come out and then at least another 20 for our meal. The place wasn't even crowded so I have no idea why. Also, three in our party ordered from the specials menu and the portions were ridiculously small, more like tapas. We won't be back."
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just OK

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wine was a little pricey. Oysters good but small. Clam chowder tasty. Fish and Chips horrible. Sorry, but the breading was way too thick. Fewer fries and a little coleslaw? Think we'll try the big come on, BURGERS NIX TIME! Wanted a fireplace seating and only downstairs which meant just burgers."
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2006
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was tasty but not good enough to make up for the horrendous service.
Restaurant wasn't busy and there were plenty of waitstaff but food/drinks took way too long to come out... Servers were not attentive... Food came out cold... Served soup without a spoon... All pretty inexcusable. Overall poor experience."
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/03/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nix's first encounter

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service from the entire Nix team was excellent in our first trip to the restaurant, but not our last. Our waitress, Kristen's service was outstanding explaining several dishes, meeting all our requests and ensuring a super dining experience. We'll be back again on our next trip to Newburyport!"
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Service is the pits!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Seasonal Sangria was basically watered-down punch.
Outside seating would have been lovely had it not been for scattered chairs and tables. How about some tablecloths and flowers?
We waited 30 min for clam chowder and crab cakes, both were lukewarm.
Steak frites was ordered MW, came red which I had to send back. Telling a paying customer they had a bridal shower that night is never a good excuse.
"
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just OK.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The former 10 Center St. Restaurant now being run as Nixs is middle of the road fare. The service was acceptable but certainly not exceptional. The food was nothing to get excited about. With the array of different restaurants in Newburyport this is not a first choice. If you can't get into some place else it works."
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

I would recommend with reservation-no pun intended

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Orders got confused. Food was pretty good but not great. New management seems to be still working things out."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nix is a satisfying night out

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2008
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2009
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Saturday evening dinner at Nix's

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were quite happy with the our dinner at Nix's on a busy early Saturday evening in Newburyport. We've wanted to give this place a try for awhile, and since we were dining out with our teenage daughter, we were glad to see a few more casual options on the menu ahead of time. The dining room atmosphere was very nice, and our table was far enough away from bar noise to allow for easy conversation.
We mostly stuck to some simpler fare - the burger and Margherita flatbread, which were both quite good. My wife's mushroom risotto was also well liked. Some items that we saw online (parmesan tater tots) were not on the menu when we arrived, but were available when we asked our server. I'd personally vote for a few more casual entree options to make the menu more rounded, but overall we really liked this place and would love to return sometime soon with friends to sample drinks and explore the other menu items."
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Lucy, our server, was outstanding. She had good knowledge of the menu and her ai m was to please."
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Adorable atmosphere, slightly rushed service.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The ambiance of this restaurant was perfect for us. We met up with two of our old friends for dinner and drinks, and the restaurant was a perfect mix of classy and casual. I had a delicious sangria while we waited for our friends. However, our one concern was that our server seemed to rush us a little bit. We had very little time to make decisions. The food was slightly under par for the price, but imaginative and unique for New England standards. We were here on a warm 80 degree night and the restaurant was a cool refuge. I can imagine with the brick interior and the fireplaces that it would be cozy in the winter. I love the old building atmosphere, and the wine list was a highlight, but the food just didn't match up, and the service was below our average expectations."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nixs Newburyport

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We met friends for dinner at Nix's - other nearby places in Newburyport either weren't accepting reservations or weren't answering their phone. Its in a very old, reconditioned building with simple, but tasteful decor - lots of dark wood - and suitable for dinner conversations without screaming. Food was good and reasonably priced; the service personal and attentive."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great service great good!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

I'm ready to nix Nix's

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Just generally disappointing. Soggy fires. Tiny portions of protein with entrees (skirt steak and fish tacos) and I had ordered gluten free tacos and they first brought the regular kind to the table. Careless. I miss 10 Center. Nix does not measure up. I won't be rushing back"
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Easter Sunday Brunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went for Easter Sunday Brunch with a group of 7. Our waitress was awesome, the drinks were great, and the service was wonderful. The food was good. The menu looked great, but we were a little disappointed in the quality of the food. It was good, not outstanding as we thought it was going to be :( We loved the idea of a jazz band, but it was way too loud, we couldnt talk to each other and all left with really bad headaches. Overall, we had a good time, we will go back for dinner I think next time. Brunch is tough meal and they did an average job with it! The restaurant is beautiful inside, parking is very tough so try to plan that out a little bit if you need to be there for a reservation time."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Pretty decent restaurant option in Newburyport but not a standout. Always like the bar, beer selection and look and feel of the restaurant. We felt that the menu was still in winter comfort food mode and needed to be lightened and freshened up for Spring."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Clam chowder was oily. They add sesame oil as if clams needed lubrication?
Ordinary white bread dinner rolls, hard as a rock, vintage last week.
Nachos: no guacamole, no sour cream no dipping sauce. Just a bland glob of congealed cheese and tomatoes.
Baked stuffed haddock: dry on top, wet in the center, greasy on the bottom from half cooked bacon.
"
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We did show up for this reservation , ! I'm not sure why it says we didn't ."
Dined on 1/02/2008
 2007
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Nix's Newburyport
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great neighborhood joint that we drive 20mi to :)

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2006
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This a charming historic building but, in the end, it's the staff that makes it. It's a fun place to eat and in the bar at least, it's great to take your time and interact.
The new ownership has done a little remodeling (it was previously 10 Center St), the most controversial element of which was painting a brick wall in the bar white. While I cringe at the mere thought of painting historic brick, that one change completely alters the ambiance. It was DARK before and it's just right now; still cozy, but no longer a cave.
Menu is relatively short (as it should be) but with something to interest everyone. Keeping it simple allows he chef to focus on quality and it shows.
"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>