Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay

Welcome to The Melting Pot. We offer a truly unique dining experience created by the art of fondue. Whether you're celebrating a birthday, anniversary, a long overdue date night, or celebrating with a group, The Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for cheese fondue paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie. Make reservations today, and see what people are talking about.
93 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(93 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
5 stars
(39)
4 stars
(19)
3 stars
(20)
2 stars
(13)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(51)
  • romantic(43)
  • good for groups(32)
  • fit for foodies(21)
  • kid-friendly(15)
  • notable wine list(12)
The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay Reviews List
Review 1 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good but expensive."
Dined on 11/09/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2014
 2014
Dined on 8/28/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 8/28/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/03/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/31/2014
 2014
Dined on 5/31/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/31/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/27/2012
 2012
Dined on 10/27/2012
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/27/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Hmm..a bit disappointed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We went twice. The first visit was ok. On the second visit, there was too much oil in the pot, it started leaking and dripping through a hole in the middle of the table onto my friends leather shoes - they were ruined. The heat under our pot was too hot (as set up by the staff) and the oil ended up overheating and the smell of burnt oil made us wrap up early and leave. Unfortunately not too impressed.."
Dined on 9/06/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/20/2014
 2014
Dined on 3/20/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/20/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/03/2013
 2008
Dined on 8/03/2013
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/03/2013
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/18/2014
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

bad service and you cook your own food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My best friend and I went here to celebrate our anniversary and the entire experience was a bust. We made a reservation and still had to wait 30 minutes only to notice as we walked to our table that half of the restaurant was empty.
Our server was awkward and kept trying to make small talk, interrupting us at weird times, and seemed uncomfortable with setting up the fondu pot.
The food tastes good but dont come here if you're hungry! The portions are small and due to the nature of the restaurant the eating experience is very slow. Every single bite gets cooked individually and in the meantime you sit and wait. I'm not really sure what it was that we paid such a high price for. The drinks were ok, the service was uncomfortable and slow, and we cooked our own food."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2012
 2008
Dined on 9/19/2012
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/19/2012
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/01/2013
 2014
Dined on 6/01/2013
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Salty food, salty, inattentive service. Way overpriced."
Dined on 6/01/2013
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2012
 2015
Dined on 1/27/2012
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"So much fun"
Dined on 1/27/2012
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Just not very good at all. The cheese and bread they use is awful. Not very good quality. Embarrassing to Swiss visitors who are hoping to have a taste of home.
The chocolate fondue is not bad."
Dined on 2/07/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/20/2012
 2012
Dined on 5/20/2012
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/20/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I love this restaurant! Have been many times but the service this time was horrible!!!!"
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Delicious food, although I could have gone to Abe and Louie's or Capital Grill for the $$ I spent at Melting Pot for 2 people. I'm not sure why you have to pay so much to cook your own food, but I do enjoy the ingredient quality very much. Recommendation: skip the meals here, and go to Melting Pot for their dessert fondues after dinner elsewhere."
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Bar is for drinking only

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Don't eat dinner at the bar. The waitress is also the bartender for the whole restaurant and has to rush to take care of dinners seated in the bar area. The slowness takes away from the experience."
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The ambiance and service were impeccable! Thanks!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The Melting Pot in the Park Plaza is an ideal location for a special evening. From the Cheese to the Chocolate fondue the experience engages the diners and enhances the conversations to provide an ambiance that is second to none. Thank you Park Plaza Melting Pot for a romantic dining experience!"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A special time

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We hosted a sweet sixteen gathering. Six girls got their own table, and we we sat at a table across the restaurant. Wait staff was friendly and available. They helped make the girls feel special. A fun destination for a special something."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

My thoughts on The Melting Pot

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"To start off, I would like to assert that I am a very picky eater, so I urge you to take this review with a grain of salt. I have heard from many people that they had a very enjoyable experience here, and I'm almost sure that opinion is shared by a majority.
For the positive aspects of this dining experience, I thought it necessary to mention that there is an actual melting pot in front of you sitting on top of a heat source. What happens then is you order some sort of food item to melt in the pot (e.g. chocolate or cheese), and you dip various food items (bread, fruits) into the pot and eat. I thought this was cool in the beginning, but for the entree we were given pieces of raw meat to dip into a boiling broth. I did not like that we had to cook our own food, and that too for a sizable price tag (~$50/person on average). However, I'm sure there are many people who enjoy eating like this, and so I guess whatever floats your boat. I suppose I should mention one of the more popular items on the menu: the chocolate fondu experience. This was without a doubt my favorite part. If you haven't tried chocolate fondu, I recommend the Melting Pot over any other restaurant I've been to. Good luck!"
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food is delicious!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Love the food and atmosphere but did not like sitting near the bar. Takes away from the romantic experience. Slow service if bartender is also your waiter/waitress."
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Worts experience in a MP location

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I'm a fan of melting pot I normally go to other location but I will never go back to this one the service was extremely bad and the manager is worts"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very Helpful

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"As with most of my plans, things changed quickly once the evening started. The melting pot was able to quickly and politely alter the time and number of my reservation, and even seamlessly included two more last moment participants (my friends don't do plans, clearly). Not only was the bill correct at the end, the staff was incredibly polite and accommodating. This is seldom the case at restaurants, particularly nicer ones."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Worth it

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went out with one other person. It was a special occasion so we got a cheese, meal and dessert. A little pricey for something you cook yourself. Worth it for a special night out though."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The theme is a very good idea. But the delivery was disappointing. The cheese fondue was good but not great. The meat was the same. The sauces were ordinary."
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

I felt rushed.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a Saturday night 5:30 reservation. Being in the business I understand trying to get people in and out. Unfortunately I don't think our server was as good at doing this without making it obvious. I felt very rushed the entire time but was determined not to let that ruin our time. I was also extremely upset that their website stated they did validated parking at the Stuart Street garage, which I was informed they weren't currently doing when I went to have my ticket validated. That was the reason I parked there. Nobody seemed to know anything about it except a manager who relied on young girls to deliver her message"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Service is terrible

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Took us 3 hours to get in and out and it wasnt because we were eating slow. It took them 30 mins to bring us our glass of wine, then about an hour and half to bring us out our food that you cook yourself. I'd understand the hold up if you had to wait for them to cook it."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I dined at the Melting Pot Ina whim because we were staying in the Park Plaza. What a great experience! It's more than just dinner. My only critique is that some of the meats lacked flavor unless you used a lot of sauce. Something different!"
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not worth the time and effort

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My SO and I went to the Melting Pot in Savannah, GA for our first date 3 years ago. We decided to try the one in Boston this year on New Years Day, and we were very underwhelmed. The service was spotty, as we didn't talk to our waitress until she was bringing our first course out, and while the staff was very friendly, they seemed almost panicked. The food wasn't bad, but it was nowhere near as good as it was in Savannah. My waitress was explaining my dinner and she either mixed up the descriptions, or my chicken had somehow turned into steak while it was cooking. The wait times were good once things finally got rolling, and the drinks came out quickly. Overall I will not be returning."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delixius

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"In my house we always make fondue, but I never had one like in the restaurant, very different and very delicious!"
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pretty Perfect

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My fiance and I went for dinner on Christmas Eve. The food was delicious. The waitstaff and hostess were a bit overwhelmed as they were understaffed, but still remained incredibly pleasant. Will definitely go back."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a good choice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Love dining here, always a nice experience. Brought the god kids for a Christmas night out and they had fun here."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service was slow and very, very poor. We weren't greeted for ten minutes, no water or acknowledgment. Granted they were clearly understaffed there seemed to be no attention to detail. The server forgot about my allergy restrictions multiple times throughout the meal, delaying food and pacing. No apologies for any of the errors.
I get this isn't a higher end restaurant and maybe my standards are higher since I work at a restaurant praised for service and food...but again, not worth the money for what you're getting. Thankfully we had a gift card."
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Fun different type of night out. Had a blast for dine out Boston making our own meals. The chocolate fondue was the best."
Dined on 8/25/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great night

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Dinner was delicious and fun! Although a bit pricey, cooking at the table was enjoyable."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

good for dessert

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was average. The dessert would be the only reason to return.
It is a fun place to bring kids and for a group of friends just for the fun of the cooking pot at the table.
Good spot if you have a table on the Arlington Street side for people watching .
The servers were friendly and attentive
"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious cheese, good food, helpful service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Three of us went to the restaurant for an early 6:15pm dinner before an event. Waitstaff was very friendly and service was attentive and helpful. We had limited time so our waitress recommended a cheese & salad course, and then some food that they can cook in the back and you don't do on your own with the hot pot at your table. Only bummer was they were out of four things on the menu (and we'd wanted 3 of those things). Food was pretty good. The cheese fondue in the beginning was AMAZING and it the reason you'd go in there. Our salads were also very good. The rest of it was small plates and they were fine but overpriced for what you got and tasted fine but nothing special (luckily it was happy hour so some of them were 1/2 price!). If we'd gotten entrees and had time for the full experience of cooking them it probably would have been better. Apart from us, most everyone in there looked to be couples so looks perfect for a date night where you want to linger and have multiple courses. I recommend going for an extra portion of cheese because it's just so delicious!"
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun night out with the kids

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My girls loved it! Our server, Sunny, was patient, friendly & kind & walked the girls through their first fondue experience. Made for a special night out with Mom. Can't wait to go back."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Melting Pot - Boston - Back Bay
Based on the average of (53) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
42 out of 50 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic