Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

City Square Cafe Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

City Square Cafe

In the heart of Historic Manassas, we offer a wide selection of International/American Bistro cuisine.
Freshly prepared sandwiches, New American, and international dishes.
Daily soups and specials for lunch and dinner.
International wine list, home made sangria, craft beer on tap and a full bar, in a Bistro atmosphere.

Brunch starts early on Saturdays and Sundays with a wide range of choices for the whole family.

Join our Welcome Back Rewards loyalty program
48 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(48 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
(21)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(29)
  • great for outdoor dining(28)
  • great for lunch(21)
  • great for brunch(18)
  • fit for foodies(15)
  • special occasion(12)
City Square Cafe Reviews List
Review 1 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/11/2014
 2007
Dined on 5/11/2014
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 5/11/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2013
 2012
Dined on 12/24/2013
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/24/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Outdoor Bliss.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"City Square Cafe is a true Gem! The outdoor seating was lovely on this gorgeous Summer afternoon.The Old train passed by just down the street and that was nice .
The service ROCKED! Jose' was the best. I joined the reward program(you should join too.) This place is my new fav:-)"
Dined on 8/27/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love the weekend brunch on the patio.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Such ambiance as you sit by the historic train station reveling in the sounds and excitement of the nearby Saturday farmers market. We live in Aldie and venture to Old Town Manassas frequently in the warm months just to enjoy a family breakfast on their patio. Highly recommended!!!"
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Where's the waiter?

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife and I have dined here several times over the past few years. Our last two experiences were very disappointing, first on St. Patrick's day and the latest last Saturday. St. Patrick's day was marketed as a SP day celebration, but did not live up to the hype. Saturday the service was absolutely terrible. The waiter was very attentive to the point that we placed our order, then disappeared. We ran out off drinks for 20 minutes and finished our meals for 10 minutes (literally) before I asked the hostess to find our waiter. He finally showed up 5 minutes later. At that point, although we both wanted desert and another drink, we cut our losses.
The food was good as it usually is. I had the blackened chicken alfredo, made with macaroni, which was very flavorfull, my wife enjoyed her apple delight sandwich.
There are too many good restaurants in Old Town Manassas to put up with two bad experiences. Considering our previous good experiences we may give them another try in the future, but one more bad experience and we will never go back again."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2013
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was very good, albeit expensive."
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food was fantastic. Service was exceptional

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Menu Change Disappoints

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I and friends have come here several times for lunch, so this review refers only to lunch experience. We've found the experience quite enjoyable in the past. However, the menu has gone "upscale" recently, with largely disappointing results, due to higher prices but without a commensurate step-up to "fine dining" status. The "apple delight" sandwich is one holdover item--it was still "good," but fit better as part of a solid but unpretentious café menu. A "Crabcake BLT" at $15 on the "sandwich board" was just ok. An empanadas appetizer was decent enough, but less of a culinary experience than the menu description suggested. We can't speak to the several entrée items, such as "blackened chicken alfredo," as the entrees all appeared to be "more food" than we wanted for "lunch." The service was quite good, and the ambience was very satisfying for our purpose--to be able to linger over the meal and enjoy quiet conversation without being rushed. That may have been partly, or largely, because there were very few patrons on a Tuesday between noon and 2:00 pm."
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Saturday night 5/23/2015

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've been BIG fans of City Square for many years and have enjoyed Chef Robert's interesting dinner specials about as often as we have ordered from the menu. We appreciate how well-trained and informed the wait staff is UNTIL Saturday night. The new chef (Chef Scott) has changed the menu and we had wait-staff in training at our table. All of our favorite menu items have been replaced. When I queried from the wait-staff in training working our table what the special of the evening was, she replied with "I think it's ravioli"; and when asked for further description, she replied "I think it's in a red sauce, at least it was when I asked the chef this morning. If it's any different, I'll come back to tell you". I prefer to order from someone who is up-to-the-minute on the kitchen's changes. Disappointed to see the famous "Chicken Bravo" no longer on the menu, I ordered the new version of pasta/chicken. My opinion of that was simply "meh". A single dish of olive oil and single basket of focaccia arrived for our table of 6, but no plates for us to put the treat on. I'm disappointed with that evening's meal and hope that Chef Scott will add the old favorites back to the menu and that the experienced staff will kick up the training a couple of notches. There are several other restaurants within a block of City Square who all offer outdoor dining with entertainment, so diners may vote their opinion by going to other venues. That would be a shame!"
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food Was good. Burgers on the pricy side. Service was slow. Beverages were not refilled. Was more a single drop off to the table and then being forgotten."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Worst Service Ever

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our server was absolutely horrendous. First, he was no where to be found so we grabbed someone and gave them our order. A few minutes later, our actual server showed up with sunglasses on his head and said that he was our server and wanted to know what we ordered. I told him he was too late and someone else had taken our order. He replied that he was busy on the phone and that's why he was delayed... seriously? The rest of the evening, he took forever to bring us anything we asked for and was just rude and unhelpful. I ended up tipping the busboy who was around actually tending to customers and helping us get what we wanted. The food was great, the ambiance was excellent (live music) but that server ruined everything! It seemed like other customers with other servers were just fine so who knows what this guys problem was..."
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Juan-Giovanni

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It is always a great experience! The superb food, outstanding service, terriffic afordable wine list, supported by a sweet atmosphere makes for a very rewarding dinner. Thanks, Roberto, for another wonderful night! "JuanGiovanni""
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love the outdoor seating for Weekend Brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Perfect ambiance, in the heart of old town Manassas. Perfect spot to hit before or after the farmers market and hopefully catch a metro liner as it passes."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/07/2013
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious Crabcake Special!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Was a delicious meal for two. Thanks!"
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Disapointed in some respects but would go back

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Cod soaked in Tequila did not work - the texture was wrong and it had little taste. The bacon sauce and veggies underneath were exceptionally good. The Ecuadorian sandwich (steak and egg) was excellent. The American sandwich looked great. I was told the soup was excellent. I would have ordered the Rabbit Andouille but it was the day before Easter.
The side Greek Salad was a total waste of money - a standard side salad with a few sprinkles of feta.
So, you should go, but avoid the disappointing dishes."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Still One of My Favorites

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Another outstanding meal at City Square Café. Had the Chicken Bravo again -- their house special. Best meal on the menu in my opinion, and that's not a negative for the rest of the menu. All good. Met the gals there for dinner before heading to a show. Make sure you go in time for happy hour for great prices on wine and appetizers. Be sure to try the grits appetizers. Even if you're not a grits fan, you'll love these -- mixed with bacon and scallions with a crispy crust. Awesome!. And if you can save room for dessert, be sure to try to blondie. Served warm with ice cream. We split a dessert among us and it was the perfect topper to a fabulous meal."
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for City Square Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Endured bad service for good brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went for Saturday brunch...though there were a few larger families with quite a few kids (which made it pretty loud), the service still seemed inexplicably slow. We waited nearly 15 minutes for water and another 10 for our brunch cocktails. All requests thereafter were completed with similar delay. When the check arrived, the staff had inadvertently omitted several of the cocktails that we had ordered. While it seemed like a perfect opportunity for them to ignore the oversight and take off the cocktails to make up for the poor service, they instead brought us a corrected check with all of the cocktails added in and no apology for the service. Fortunately, the food was great, but I'd call the service vs. food trade-off to be barely breaking even, at best..."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for City Square Cafe
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
14 out of 15 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate