Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark Reviews List

Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark

NICO Kitchen + Bar, the “Italian without Borders” restaurant concept from celebrated New Jersey Chef Ryan DePersio of Fascino and Batello fame, is located in downtown Newark at NJPAC. Known for its power lunch week days, sophisticated happy hour, and contemporary offerings, it also provides a delicious prelude to guests attending performances by offering a value-priced prix fixe menu before every curtain.
See more Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark details
363 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(363 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 363 reviews
5 stars
(108)
4 stars
(144)
3 stars
(77)
2 stars
(29)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(92)
  • good for groups(84)
  • special occasion(77)
  • neighborhood gem(63)
  • great for lunch(62)
  • vibrant bar scene(53)
Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark Reviews List
Review 1 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2009
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Lame

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Less than average food dressed up. Ambiance is nice but so are 100 other places. We picked this place based on ignorance. Will not go back. Food was sub par and service even worse."
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Came hungry, left hungry

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Had dinner here before a show at NJPAC.
They offer a prix fixe menu on performance nights.
I wasn't crazy about the selection but I chose scallops, Braised pork shoulder and berries in broth.
When the appetizer arrived the scallops were 3 shaved pieces of scallop all 3 plied on top of each other may have made a half a scallop. Plus they were served Sushi style (cold).
The entree was likewise 3 small pieces of pork shoulder arranged on a medium/large bed of dandelion greens.
I was not a fan of the greens but ate them as they were the largest part of my meal. Finally the berries in broth which was nice as it was an assortment of berries in what tasted like a lemon-lime broth.
This turned out to be my favorite part of the meal.
Now I want to state that the flavors were very nice as well as the presentation of each course my only issue is that I don't feel the amount of food was equivalent to the cost.
I shouldn't be leaving a restaurant think now where can I get something to eat.
Presentation - 8.5
Taste - 8.0
value - 4.0
"
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2016
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not In Love With the Pre Fixe..But I will go back!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I made a reservation based on an recommendation. The ambience was great and the service bar none...but I wasn't overjoyed with the pre fixe choices. That happens sometimes so no harsh words here. I'll go back on another recommendation from the the manager Christopher, who was so gracious!"
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Skipped the meal

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Can't really rate their food. I was very very disappointed. I booked a reservation for the night of the Richard Marx performance. Nothing on their website or when I booked the reservation indicated that they had a special prefix menu on concert nights. Prefix wouldn't be that bad but they were charging $42 a person. When we asked for their regular menu the staff told us there wasn't one that night but if we wanted A La Carte we could try and find a seat at the bar and order there. We picked ourselves up and left. Won't go back after the poor customer service."
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Decent place if you're going to a show there but otherwise wouldn't necessarily go there. Service not great- took over 15 minutes for a soda! Was a prix fix dinner and overheard one of the wait staff at the next table say it's an a la carte menu which initially made me mad since we had no choice but she made a mistake and it turned out the prix fix was in place which made them question why they were initially told it was a la carte."
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great place to dine before performances

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Love eating here before attending performances at NJPAC. Wait staff is geared for getting you thru your meal at a good pace in time to be seated for the show. The menu has something for everyone. The portion sizes are perfect - enough to fill you up but not feeling stuffed and uncomfortable."
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/27/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/27/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/27/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

give extra time before show

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"this was my 2nd time there before a show. rushed thru dessert both times. too much time between courses, when you need to be out by a certain time. food is good. might be priced a little high. luckily we paid the bill before dessert came, otherwise we would have been late for the show."
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/23/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great pre-show dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Very attentive staff, limited menu but good variety. The food was very good, we were not rushed. If anyone went to this restaurant and didn't like it (like us) go back because it has greatly improved and we would now recommend it."
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Saturday lunch was excellent all round."
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2007
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nico's and NJPAC go together well

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We had tried Nico's when it first opened and had great food and service, but we were disappointed in the noise level in the restaurant. We decided to try it again since we had tickets for Riverdance. Once again the service was great, drinks were fine and the price fixe menu was to our liking. Unfortunately, the noise level in the restaurant has not changed."
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Very good food for the price. Service was timely and very pleasant. The restaurant is next to the NJ PAC so the night of the show it is very convenient. Next time we go to PAC we'll make sure to return."
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2011
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/23/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Just ok this trip

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Always hit Nico for the pre-fix meal when attending a show at NJPAC. I'm usually quit satisfied with dinner but this trip was so so for me. App and dessert were delicious but dinner was quite a disappointment. Chef was heavy on the garlic in pasta, so much so, I found it hard to enjoy. And I love garlic. I've been many times and this my first disappointing meal. Will keep coming back, I'll just never get this dish again!"
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Easy before NJPAC Performance

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My friend and I were attending a performance at NJPAC, and we wanted an easy meal beforehand. The prix fixe dinner menu was all that was available, and the selection was adequate. I found the pasta dish a bit too highly seasoned, and my friend's branzino was really skimpy. The appetizer fresh pea soup was however lovely. The waiter seemed to forget we were there after we ordered, and confused my glass of wine with another type. We had to be a bit aggressive to get the check. All in all, it was convenient, but nothing special."
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2005
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

disappointed with the food

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Love the bar at Nico's. We had wanted drinks and some "bar appetizers" but was told that they weren't available tonight and we would have to order the prefix dinner if we wanted to eat. It was expensive and below our expectations. We will go to the bar for drinks again but will not be dining there."
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

All food wonderful except the berry desert. xxx

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Only good for NJPAC

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Food mediocre. Service poor. Staff not familiar with menu and very poorly trained. The check came before we ordered the desert which came with the meal. I was not served any bread or crackers with my country pate. I asked for some and it came without oil or butter. I asked if there was butter available and the server responded, "Yes! Do you want some?" It was like a bad joke."
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2006
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/06/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Restaurant needs to expand it's menu

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great place for dinner before a show at NJPAC."
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/23/2012
 2006
Dined on 3/23/2012
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/23/2012
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, great location

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The food is very well prepared and presented. The staff is very attentive, courteous and professional. NJPAC is right there, so very convenient place to dine before or after a show. Highly recommended!"
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/21/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My colleague got someone else's meal. It was fixed by the hostess because we couldn't find our waitress. No one came back until the check was dropped off. Zaros Bakery got my dessert money. Disappointing to say the least"
Dined on 3/21/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2010
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/11/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2005
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very small portions, slow service yet we were rushed to order! Food was ok, but not hot, desserts were good & very pretty."
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pleasant, agreeable service, fine food, relaxed.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2006
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Birthday candle??

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/08/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/08/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"made reservations specifically to celebrate my co-worker's birthday.. mentioned it when we sat, when we ordered, when we asked for the desert menu and specifically asked for a candle with our desert... NO CANDLE or any acknowledgement of her birthday.... that was the whole point of going out for lunch... next time we will try somewhere else."
Dined on 3/08/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Nico Kitchen & Bar - Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect Night

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"NICO came recommended from a very good friend. I needed a place near Newark Airport for a conference team building dinner. NICO fit that bill. It is a beautiful restaurant part of the New Jersey Performing Arts Center. Parking - Free. Service unobtrusive & efficient. Food delicious with lots of choices. The manager was exceptional and made us feel special and at home. What a character! I was able to concentrate on my group knowing everything else was taken care of. Wine was kept up with. Courses came out when the were supposed to. We had our own semi-private room. I may not be back for a few years but when I am in Newark I will be back!"
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>