Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Mack and Kates Reviews List

Mack and Kates

Sophisticated Southern and Gourmet Country are great ways to describe the cuisine at the charming Mack & Kate"s Cafe. Named after two sisters, MacKenzie and Kathleen, our family owned and operated establishment will make you feel right at home. Started in a small, sleepy town, Mack & Kate's humbled beginnings took place in a small service station. This charming little destination dining spot grew over eight years, resulting in the Strawn Family relocating Mack & Kates to Franklin, TN. We enjoy seeing our friends from our early days and our new friends here in Franklin. We use the freshest and finest when it comes to our ingredients and always support local farmers and growers. We pride our self in our accommodating and knowledgeable service team and the ability to consistently feed our customers what they are looking for; the freshest from the best.
See more Mack and Kates details
464 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(464 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 464 reviews
5 stars
(278)
4 stars
(130)
3 stars
(39)
2 stars
(16)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(226)
  • neighborhood gem(225)
  • special occasion(177)
  • romantic(128)
  • great for brunch(127)
  • great for lunch(105)
Mack and Kates Reviews List
Review 1 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Special evening

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This was not my first time at Mack and Kates, however it was my Fiances. I had called ahead and put a note in my open table special requests reservation to have birthday candles put in the 4 deviled eggs for when they came out for our appetizer. To my disappointment when the deviled eggs came out there were no candles. I did not want to make it out to be a big deal, so regretfully I let my what was suppose to be my funny/cute idea for my Fiances 34th Birthday pass. Our waiter brought us our entrees (the filet and scallops... both were delicious!) and we started eating. All of a sudden, the waiter randomly brings out 1 deviled eggs with a candle and says, "I here it is someones birthday. I am so sorry I forgot to do this when your app came out. I even talked to you on the phone about this earlier today." I felt this was tacky to say in front of my fiance. The waiter did offer us a dessert of choice which we chose the Key Lime Pie (also AMAZING) for their mistake.
In all, as to be expected the food was great and I always love coming to this unique spot in Franklin!! I would definitely recommend making your way over to Mack and Kates. I just wish the service was 100% this time the special occasion.
"
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2004
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2004
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2004
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2004
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had company in town, and us being new to the area wanted to try something new. By the reviews, Mack and Kates seemed like a good option.
We started off ordering appetizers of deviled eggs and cauliflower tots. These were really good.
We then ordered our entree, with two of us ordering bouillabaisse, and the other short ribs. I will say the flavors were quite good, but the meats and Seaford were both over cooked in all the dishes. A little disappointed based on how they were described by our waiter. It being earlier in the evening, and not much of a crowd just yet, this surprised me.
My wife was craving chocolate, so she decided to order the special of the evening. I think her description describes it perfectly, "it may have been good yesterday".
We enjoyed our experience, and the service was excellent, but the food could have been better."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Friendly Lunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Wanted a restaurant where my friend and I could have a good meal and catch up on a year's worth of news. Mack and Kate's suited our needs. Loved the deviled eggs and the light pinot grigio.
The lunch menu is rather limited as such menus sometimes are. The house fries were little stale.
Our waiter was charming and took excellent care of us."
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pricey but worth it

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Bacon smoke deviled eggs were fabulous. Bouillabaisse was the best I've had in a long time and my wife loved her meatloaf. Waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful with questions."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious dinner at Mack & Kates

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"First time at Mack & Kates. The food was delicious, two of us the bison ribs special . The blackened chicken was also awesome. This is located on Franklin road which can be a bit off the beaten path but worth the drive."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Girl's night out

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I was here with a group of girls to for a fun night out. The server was very nice and educated on the menu but the service was VERY slow. From beginning to finish, we were there for 2 hours with 20 minutes of waiting for the check. I had the lobster mac and cheese which was very good. It was also very heavy so I could only eat 1/3 of it and took the rest home. I enjoyed this restaurant and will be coming back to try the brunch. The slow service may just be a fluke."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/24/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yummy

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This restaurant is very quaint and cozy. I would definitely go again for a weeknight date-night (beats fighting traffic to get downtown!). Their menu provides a very robust but special variety of options (not copy-cat). I enjoyed my Lobster Mac n Cheese but it was very rich and I think quite pricey for what it is. My husband really enjoyed the Mushroom Ravioli & had shrimp added, at the servers suggestion. The fig salad was delish. We ordered the steak & biscuits for our appetizer and I would not do that again - it was overpriced at $19 for only 4 small biscuits with 1" sizes of filet on it. The only thing we didn't like about our overall experience is we were seated next to a very loud couple and it was hard for us to have conversation. I wish I had requested to be moved, so we could enjoy the calm ambiance more."
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mack and Kate's rocks always! Herman is the best !

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We had a larger group, so were seated in the private room. J was our waiter & the service was outstanding! The short ribs, meatloaf, shrimp & grits, and lobster mac & cheese were all delicious."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always pleased with our menu choices

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Great winter menu. Attentive service without being annoying. Always glad with our visits"
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Dinner As Usual

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My wife and I stopped in last Saturday night, very short notice. Table was not a problem and were quickly seated. Wine, crab cake appetizer (great) and dinner. We had an excellent meal and that is routinely true at this gem in Franklin. We highly recommend."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our server was wonderful and the food was great! We sat at a table near the kitchen and the chairs felt a little unsteady. They weren't particularly comfortable and the noise was a bit high for that environment. However, we loved everything else and will be back!"
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/14/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A little disappointed based on other people's recs

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The menu lacked variety for New Year's weekend. It was New Year's day and they were out of several types of wine, including the best priced bottles. They also did not have some of their regular menu items on the list. Perhaps it is better to avoid smaller local restaurants on New Year's Day!
The service was still very good. However it just seemed a little like "leftovers" were on the menu (not a lot of variety)."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/10/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Shrimp and grits not the best. Didn't know what it was when brought to table. Cheese covered entire dish. Bit into shrimp tail because I could not see it. The s&g can't beat sperrys or merchants downtown.
Would go back but would not order dish."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Met for a business lunch. The service and food were great."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/05/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very dissappointed

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Planned a very different Christmas Eve for just the two of us as the kids / grands were not coming to visit until after Christmas. Heard great things? 1st time visit. Special menu for Christmas Eve but still wanted to try it. Fairly crowded at 7:00pm ...seated in back corner up against a wall...very tight...table wobbled almost to the point of loosing our drinks (waiter did not seem concerned so I fixed it with napkins...chairs light and rickety...not at all comfortable...Atmosphere cramped and depressing...Wine over priced...My scallops were pretty good actually but my wife's chicken and dumplings were like cat food...very poor! Again the waiter seemed indifferent when we left the entire plate full of food...Skipped dessert as we were tired of being disappointed ...bill still over $120...very little value for that price...would never recommend and will not give this establishment a re-try...Sorry, do not usually give such negative reviews, but they earned it...."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Favorite Romantic Spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"If ever I'm "in a mood"....I make a reservation for 2 at Mack & Kate's...it's the "whole package". The setting feels romantic...the Servers become your best friends (knowledgeable in food & wine choice recommendations)...PLUS...the food is OUSTANDING in both presentation and taste. As far as dessert ? ...well...you had best save room! We will make many, many more trips to M&K's...it's our favorite!"
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Anniversary dinner...perfect!"
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Holiday Menu night!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My husband and I were searching for a special place to dine for date night on January 2nd. We looked at the dinner menu online and got excited about the salmon, chicken, and ancho pork. I should have looked closer as we were handed the New Year’s weekend menu when we were seated. It had fewer choices.
We started with the crab cakes and although they were good they were more expensive than what we usually pay at fine dining restaurants for a crab cake appetizer. My husband ordered the Cherry Cola Braised Short Rib of Beef served with wild mushroom risotto. I ordered the award winning Shrimp & Grits. I took a few bites of mine and then one bite of my husband’s entree. He preferred mine and I preferred his so we switched. Dinner was good but I was a little disappointed as I was expected to be really amazed by the food at these prices.
Our server, Katherine, provided excellent service. The restaurant had a very romantic atmosphere so it was a great place for a date night.
"
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent local spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My wife and I were in town visiting family and in desperate need of a night out (just us!) We'd heard good things about Mack and Kates and got the chance to go. Service, food, and atmosphere were great. It could definitely be a regular spot for an excellent meal out with friends or date night. It's an intimate setting so plan ahead and make reservations!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Mack and Kates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>