Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Tamarind - Chicago Reviews List

Tamarind - Chicago

Since 1989, the Ko family has been in the restaurant business, including such sites as Charming Wok and Charming Cuisine.

This newest incarnation is hip, and slightly Swank, in the up-and-coming South Loop neighborhood. Our Comfortable, casual interior is warm and welcoming.

The eclectic Asian cuisine is a fusion of Japanese/Thai/Chinese/Vietnemese, offering specialty original dishes like Asian Pizza.

Hailed as one of the best Asian restaurants in a city known for its cuisine, locals love us and have us on speed dial!

Enjoy!
See more Tamarind - Chicago details
51 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(51 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(22)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(19)
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • great for lunch(14)
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • kid-friendly(6)
  • great for outdoor dining(4)
Tamarind - Chicago Reviews List
Review 1 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/10/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2013
 2007
Dined on 6/12/2013
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2013
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Waitstaff needs help

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was generally good & inexpensive.
Service was terrible. We to hail our waiter to order drinks. We had to ask a 2nd time for the drinks to be brought to our table.
Soups arrived AFTER the entrees.
One dish never was brought and we had to ask for it.
The wait staff could not understand English and mixed up our orders.
We had to chase down our waiter to pay the bill.
"
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

There's a reason I keep coming back

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"With it's amazing food and -usually- stellar service, it is one of my favorite places for food in Chicago. I have been to Tamarind many times, and each time I am greeted with a smiling face. The wait staff is usually extremely accommodating, especially with groups with strollers and young kids. The staffbseems to go above and beyond for their customers.
I've had only one issue on one occasion, which was when the waitress added a 20% gratuity automatically. It seemed uncalled for, and although my group and I are good tippers, it seemed pushy.
Overall the food is killer. The spinach rangoons are perfect for those who have a shellfish allergy, but want to indulge in fried, cream-cheesy goodness. I am a huge fan of their Vietnamese Pho soup, too.
Highly recommend this place. It is open every day from 11-11, so it is a fantastic joint for late night cravings."
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

It was good

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant was easy to get reservations at in downtown Chicago on a Saturday night. There were a couple of items on the menu that the kitchen was out of. One of the guest ordered the Thai Iced Tea and it was overly sweet thought the Orange Martini was great! We ordered a couple of sushis that were good for appetizers. The pad thai was a little bland. Overall we were satisfied with our meal but good is the highest rating I can offer."
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was delicious"
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always On Our List

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We hit Tamarind whenever we're in Chicago. The food is better than average, and the price is fairly inexpensive. Generous portions can be shared by two if a light dinner is desired."
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great spot to try out many Asian cusines at once.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/20/2013
 2011
Dined on 7/20/2013
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Vietnamese Egg Roll were as good as any I've had elsewhere, the glass bean thread noodles are just perfect within the roll. All of our food was delicious and well prepared."
Dined on 7/20/2013
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pleasant Surprise

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I discovered this unassuming place through Open Table about 3 years ago. It is a smaller place with excellent food and service. A menu complete with excellent sushi, sashimi, as well as Chinese and Thai dishes. The food comes quickly and is very very good. The service is great as well. We stay at a hotel 1 block away for an annual convention. I take my team there at least twice per trip because everyone loves it. I have now been there about 7 or 8 times, and it is always consistently good."
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and value

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We wanted a quick and convenient place to grab a something before a show.
We picked this place and were pleasantly surprise. Great service and food. Really good martinis and all at a very reasonable price.
We will definitely be back."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great and service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went to Tamarind after the Nutcracker. This was a ladies outing with sister, sister in-laws, cousins, and nieces. The food was great and the service was excellent. Two in our partyr receved their meals a little late but overall we enjoyed our meal.
meals"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Big menu and lots of choices.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This place is in my neighborhood and I eat here frequently. I love the stir fry bar. You pick your veggies and they cook and add whatever protein you want. The tofu is really good here. There is a mix of Chinese, Japanese, Thai and everything I have had has been really good. I usually order a few appetizers and share and then end up with part of the entree to take home, but it's good reheated too Their lemongrass beef is great, lettuce wraps, dumplings all great. Sushi is very good."
Dined on 11/01/2014
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Tamarind - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Asian mix

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2008
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went there as a group of 8 and shared Sushis, so I cannot comment on the rest of the menu.
The sushis were very good, especially the Tamarind specials.
Reasonable price, good wines, friendly waitress.
"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tamarind - Chicago
Based on the average of (21) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
16 out of 16 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic