Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Troy Mezze Lounge Reviews List

Troy Mezze Lounge

Allow yourself to be transported to Turkey by the rich flavors and intoxicating smells of authentic Turkish cuisine in our ethnic restaurant. One must only travel as far as historic Blake Street in downtown Raleigh, NC to obtain their pass to the Mediterranean. Owner Arif Denk, a native of Troy, provides his guests with the opportunity to experience the warm hospitality of his hometown where he learned the secrets of authentic Turkish cuisine firsthand. Upon entering you will feel as if you have stepped off a boat onto an authentic beautiful Turkey Mediterranean Restaurant.
See more Troy Mezze Lounge details
21 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(21 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
(5)
4 stars
(5)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
1.5 / 5
(Fair) 1.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • neighborhood gem(8)
  • romantic(4)
  • good for groups(2)
  • special occasion(2)
  • kid-friendly(1)
Troy Mezze Lounge Reviews List
Review 1 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Go literally anywhere else

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I had never met a cup of Turkish coffee I didn't like, but Troy Mezze Lounge rectified that for me. Not only was it singularly the worst Turkish coffee I had ever tasted in my entire life (once they actually got around to bringing it out, which took 30 minutes after I ordered it despite there being only one other occupied table in the place while I was there), Troy Mezze also holds the unique distinction of being the first time I have ever been served lamb and didn't enjoy it. Ever. The "lamb clay pot" was minuscule in portion, the lamb was overcooked to the point of being unrecognizable as lamb (the six tiny bits provided), and the "vegetables and spices" were overcooked zucchini, onion, and canned tomato sauce. I have had better, and frankly more authentic, Turkish food in airports than I had at this place. If you find yourself in downtown Raleigh hankering for Turkish food, take the extra time to drive to Bosphorus over in Cary and spare yourself the agony of Troy Mezze."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Friday night, two big reservations and they only had one server working!! She did the best that she could to keep up with everything and everybody. Need to hire more help! The food was good, but we had to wait a long time for food and drinks since the waitress was taking care of all the customers in the restaurant."
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2013
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The clay pot is to DIE FOR! Definitely recommend.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice gem of a restaurant in market area

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is one of our favorites in downtown. Right in the middle of the market area, great food, friendly service. I'm amazed its not busier given how good it is!"
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This was a perfect location after going to see a movie at the downtown IMAX theater. I was surprised it wasn't crowded in a Saturday night. The food was great and the service very good. We got there before our reservation, but they were already ready for us. The menus is great with just enough unusual items to peak everyone's interest."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

MOTHER'S DAY ...over priced & under served

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Because it was Mother's Day, the dinner menu was used, as opposed to lunch. P...l and I ordered the same thing, a salad with chicken. It was tiny, And it had iceberg lettuce rather than the advertised Romaine. The cost was $12. Powell questioned the size, as well as the price, and everyone, Including the server, agreed. The children complained about their chicken, because it was frozen. There was found me one person serving the entire restaurant; consequently, the service was lousy, but it was not the fault of the of the server. The beverages did not come for 15 minutes after they were ordered. W... and P...l were really quite disappointed, since they wanted a Mother's Day lunch to be special.., I would give that restaurant an F minus."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Average Food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food here is just average. There is nothing special about this restaurant."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was good but the lamb was "very gamy" !!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A bit unusual in taste compared to other Turkish resturants I've been to."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Troy Mezze Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

City Market Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a great little restaurant in the City Market area of Raleigh. The food is excellent, and the portions are huge. Best of all, the ambiance is quiet and laid back. The night we visited, though, our wait person was obviously a trainee and tended to hover. There was also some problem with the liquor license that prevented us from purchasing wine at the restaurant or drinking the bottle we brought with us. I trust these issues will be addressed in the near future, and I look forward to many more visits to Troy Mezze."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Troy Mezze Lounge
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
4 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate