Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Reviews List

The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square

The Plaza Restaurant at the Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square is proud to announce the arrival of our new Executive Chef, Matt Smith. Look for new menus and exciting changes in the upcoming months! The Plaza Restaurant and The Plaza Wine Bar & Lounge make up one of Columbus’s finest establishments, serving creative entrees of American cuisine, great wine, and outstanding drinks.
Located next to the Ohio Theatre, and always offering free valet parking to our patrons, it is the ideal spot to celebrate any occasion. Semi-Private Function Space is available in both the lounge and restaurant!

See more The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square details
32 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(32 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.3 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(14)
  • special occasion(7)
  • romantic(5)
  • great for brunch(4)
  • great for lunch(4)
  • fit for foodies(3)
The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Reviews List
Review 1 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was wonderful. 2 of our 3 meals were excellent!!"
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nothing special

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The food was just okay---nothing out of the ordinary based on price. The restaurant was either understaffed or the wait staff could not manage the time it took to serve the few guests. The manager ended up bringing out our order. I would allowing extra time if you have an appointment or are planning to attend an event."
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Downtown Weekend Oasis

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"With so few options for decent restaurants downtown on the weekends, it was great to rediscover the Plaza. Not stereotypical "hotel food" at all...surprising range of entrees made menu-reading fun. Service was attentive and there was no problem at all making it on time to the Symphony next door at the Ohio Theatre."
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food comes out too slow

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/23/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a lovely table in front of the fireplace. Our only complaint was waiting too long for our food. Talking with others, it's an agreed census that slow service and increased prices keep us from coming back more."
Dined on 11/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Breakfast business meeting

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had several clients coming in from various parts of the state for an early breakfast meeting. The downtown location was perfect. Complementary valet for restaurant guests made for easy in / easy out. Food was good. Portions were large. Service was very friendly. I can not speak for dinner, but will keep them on the list for breakfast meetings!"
Dined on 11/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 11/20/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wine list has notably high prices. Great service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Chrissy

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I treated two of my staff to lunch as an appreciation for a great job they did this past week on a special project. It was a first time for one of them. He really enjoyed the lunch, waiter, and the food. He said he will likely start using the Sheraton for pre-theatre or after-theatre times when they are downtown in the evenings. Our waiter, Alex, was simply wonderful and most attentive, he did a great job!!"
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very convenient before a show!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"To be honest, the food was average at best. However, it was the most convenient option for dinner before a show at the Ohio Theatre. The service was friendly & meals came out quickly."
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great View..Ok food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Beautiful and comfortable dining room and a short walk to the Ohio Theater. Free valet parking if you eat at the restaurant and can leave your car with them if you go to a show at the theater. Excellent view of the State House and a fountain. The food wasn't bad but it wasn't great. My wife and I wouldn't go back specifically for the food but would definitely visit again if we want to have dinner and go to a show at the Ohio Theater."
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great place to eat before Ohio Theatre events.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Team meeting

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great place for a small team meeting. Excellence service and quiet atmosphere for conversation."
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Pleasant and enjoyable Mother's Day brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A very nice restaurant, quiet. very kid-friendly and with a nice ambience. The food was fresh and tasty. The omelette was especially good, although it took a long wait to finally get mine. The single omelette cook was very good, but making one omelette at a time means diners are kept waiting. And waiting. I could also not find a toaster for my bagel, so I had to skip eating one, which was slightly annoying.
Our guests enjoyed themselves, which was what we had wanted."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Convenient downtown location

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Chose this restaurant for a relaxing and upscale lunch before the Ohio bar admission ceremony held at the Ohio Theater. Very convenient location. However, the lunch menu was somewhat limited. The service was slow and disorganized. At first, they were not aware we were seated and waiting for service, then various staff got involved in serving us. One of us chose soup and the other an appetizer. After some time, the soup arrived first, and then the appetizer and both entrees together before there was time to finish the soup. The staff explained that the kitchen was very busy because they had a large number of room-service orders. It was unfortunate that room service took precedence over the dining room, which was not very busy at that time. The food was good, and it was a quiet and pleasant dining area. There was a nice view of a park-like area; however, the area we sat in seemed more like a hallway than a regular dining area. The staff was apologetic about the service confusion, and we appreciated the quiet atmosphere and leisurely dining pace. May be a problem if you do not have time for a leisurely lunch."
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good with potential to be better.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Those in my group who ordered meat dishes received food that was overcooked. The seafood items were very good. Overall we enjoyed the food although the prices for a couple of items were a bit high including the wine. Service was very, very slow but professional and polite. I would be willing to give it another try. The free valet service for dinner guests is a big plus for a downtown restaurant."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There was no one at the entrance when we arrived. After several minutes a waiter saw us. He asked someone to clear a table even though there were other cleared tables in the area. So we waited. We viewed the menu online and knew it was limited. That's understandable for a hotel restaurant next to a state capitol. Folks gather for drinks and deal-making. Scallops were very good and well-presented with "French beans" and cottage fries. "Surf and Turf" was beef medallions with broiled shrimp. The shrimp were good. The beef was a cheap cut with a a sauce much like A-1. Our waiter was charming, but my martini was served with olives when I asked for a twist; then he brought a merlot instead of chardonnay. It was a good merlot."
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2008
Special Features: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great pre-show lunch!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Selected this restaurant as a pre-show (Palace Theatre) show for a birthday lunch for a friend. What a nice experience! I had the salmon, and it was probably one of the best lunches I've had for quite some time. The food was perfectly cooked, very appetizing on the plate, and delicious! I am from Southeastern Ohio, so about 2 hours away, but I would make a special trip to Columbus just to eat here again...maybe try dinner. Our server was very efficient and personable. It was a great experience!"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A little pricey for the quality of food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A little pricey for the quality of food, but it was a nice atmosphere for Valentines, we avoided the rush by having dinner here. The servers were great and the staff was very nice. The view is amazing, and I would love to visit again in the summer season. Great view of downtown and the capitol building!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bad Service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My friends and I had reservations at 6:00pm before seeing a show at The Ohio Theater at 8:00pm. We chose The Plaza Restaurant at the Sherton because of it's location and affordable meals. I have been to this restaurant before and it was pretty good. This time, it was different.
We were seated right away and our waiter came over soon after that. My friend asked if the bar had a certain drink and instead of taking our dinner order, our waiter kept going back to the bar and then doing other things. It took about 20 minutes for our dinner order to get taken. Thankfully, we did have our drinks.
By the time our food came out and we received our bills and we were ready to go, it was about 7:40pm. Really close to when the show started.
This restaurant has good food and a good view of downtown. However, they need more waiters. If you're a person who is wanting to go out to dinner and have no time obligations after dinner, this is the place for you. If you have somewhere you need to go to after dinner, I would advise you not to go to this restaurant."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Plaza Restaurant at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
5 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic