Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Castagna - San Francisco Reviews List

Castagna - San Francisco

Castagna is a chef-owned neighborhood bistro and wine bar featuring "sun-kissed" cuisine from Provence and the neighboring coastal regions of Southern France and the Italian Riviera. Dine al fresco with a leisurely weekend brunch at our sidewalk tables, enjoy a candlelight dinner in our intimate dining room, or grab a glass of wine at the bar for a view of our lively exhibition kitchen. We offer dinner six days a week (closed on Mondays) along with weekend brunch service.
See more Castagna - San Francisco details
190 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(190 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 190 reviews
5 stars
(100)
4 stars
(66)
3 stars
(16)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(114)
  • fit for foodies(95)
  • romantic(57)
  • special occasion(42)
  • notable wine list(34)
  • great for brunch(23)
Castagna - San Francisco Reviews List
Review 1 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful Dinner

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2003
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2003
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We had dinner at Castagna last night and we all loved it.
The food was amazing! Our favorite were: foie gras, tuna tar tar, muscles.
Great services and nice atmosphere.
We will be back soon.
"
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/02/2016
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Steak cooked to perfection

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Wasn't expecting this, but the Filet was one of the best steaks I've ever had, for much less than most steaks I've had. Almost beat out my Buenas Aires steak for the win. Was seriously happy with my experience here! Small, but that makes it intimate. Just make reservations. Wine (by the glass) list ok, staff friendly enough. Looking forward to trying the desserts next time I'm not so full from a great meal. All in all a great night!"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2004
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sweet place, authentic and creative

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We had a lovely meal and attentive service, especially as restaurant was not busy at our early hour..The wines , with offered tastings, were the best, as were all first courses,moules and salad."
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2007
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food with fair prices!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We were looking for a reservation for 8 p.m. last minute & I found this gem! We had the Bolognese (meat sauce) & Vongole (clams in white sauce), both of which were TO DIE FOR! I would also highly recommend for dessert ordering the Beignets with some Port to go with it!"
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/16/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Paris as Near as Chestnut Street

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This is next best to dinner in the Marais. The menu includes beef daube & tuna tartare, vegetarian galette & tarte tatin, a daily fish special; all done with contemporary flair and tres delicieuse. Even the classic kir is made to perfection. The cozy space & Parisian-friendly service makes this my go-to for French R&R."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

HIdden treasure

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We, with another couple, visited Castagna midweek. We had a reservation and were seated immediately. We had never been to this restaurant before and wanted to explore what they had available. We shared several small plates and had a main course per person. The food was very tasty and reasonable. Their influence was Southern French and Northern Italian, so we had pasta as well as a delicious onion soup. The two desserts were wonderful. The meal plus corkage, tax and tip came to $91 per couple, a real bargain. This is truly a hidden treasure."
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great place. Amazing French food! Very tasty."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Quiet, lovely dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Had a terrific meal here on a Tuesday night. Friends in town and they loved the coziness of the place and the attentive service. Food very good as well - the lasagna, pesto pasta, and fish dish were all excellent. Wine list nice too."
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2005
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food. French service.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This is a very small place and the food is great. The place is small enough that the servers must be the owners also. Alas, they are efficient but to a fault. It is the quintessential French service - not too friendly. But I would still go back. Neighborhood gem and doesn't disappoint."
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Neighborhood gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Wonderful little restaurant, cozy, southern France inspired. Delicious dishes served with great service. Great location too!"
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/19/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2005
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious French Cuisine With Charm

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband picked out this restaurant for my sister and I as we were meeting up in San Francisco and because he knew my love for all things French. It was a cozy, quiet bistro and we sat at a seat by the window which was perfect for people watching and enjoying the neighborhood scene. We were greeted by the host/owner, with his notable french accent (yay!) and the bistro itself has it's own charm - rustic, quiet and with french being spoken by the staff it definitely made me feel like I was back in France. I started with the moules (mussels) and they were delicious, I couldn't stop dipping my baguette in the sauce once I was done eating all the mussels. I opted for the peche du jour, which was a delectable cod fillet, with a crispy polenta, haricots verts and I can't even remember the sauce but it was creamy, light and paired perfectly with the whole ensemble. My husband and sister opted for the lasagna which appealed to the eyes just as much as the taste buds. I tried a bite and it was yummy! To top it off, we all shared a bottle of Chateauneuf du Pape, followed by dessert of apple tart and beignets. And of course in true french fashion, I had to end the night with an espresso. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and family and I hope to go back there again on my next visit to San Fran!"
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and attentive servicE.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food, intimate space, lending itself to couples , but no larger than a group of 4."
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2002
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2002
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2002
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 11/28/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 11/25/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2004
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2004
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Most satisfying dinner in months!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and friends had never been to Castagna, but after seeing some reviews and reviewing the menu we were in. We were looking forward to a dinner that wasn't the latest food trend on the food scene and happy to have a hearty provencal meal from a neighborhood restaurant. Wow did Castagna deliver. We can say enough about the mussels appetizer, the sweet potato gnocchi, the housemade seafood linguine and beef stew ravioli. Nothing disappointed and beyond delivered in expectation including the portion-size--huge hence satisfying. For good measure, we had ordered 4 entrees between us and the gnocchi as a 5th because we didn't miss out. We. ate. it. all. And then rolled out of there. We will definitely be back. Oh, it was a nice touch that we were complimented by Gerome with divine beignets for dessert. They would've gotten 8 stars if I could give it even before the complimentary dessert. We'll be back."
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"we love it , great wine , great food and the owner was so nice with my sister can beat that.
being there done that be back again again
"
Dined on 11/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2002
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2002
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/14/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was a very small restaurant, we had brunch and I wasn't very adventurous. But my friend had benedict and a tell tale sign is a good hollandaise, they succeeded. The best was the owner? Mananger? I was early and saw a wine from a remote place in southern france I had been, he brought me a taste, then said let me bring you tastes of whatever you want and proceeded to bring 5 tastes of wine so I made sure I ordered my favorite (I didn't ask for this many, he just offered them all). When the nicer table next to us became availabe, he moved us over. Very nice gentleman and I will come back!"
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2000
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2000
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2000
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

San Francisco find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went to Castagna based on Open Table reviews with my family Saturday night. The place is cute, small, intimate. The staff is very friendly and service is excellent. Food excellent as well. I had the Pistou (pesto) and French onion soup. My wife had the Boeuf Bourguignon, my sister a veggie dish with chick pea and eggplant I think. All agreed it was a great evening."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2003
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2003
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Castagna - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>