Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Ernest & Scott Taproom Reviews List

Ernest & Scott Taproom

Just like the visionary and innovative nature of Ernest
Hemingway and F. Scott Fitzgerald, the Taproom’s food and
beverage programs are uniquely playful and creative.
We are a TAPROOM WITH A TWIST. We are not your
conventional beer driven taproom, we are a modern taproom. Our taps are as unique as the building we operate in. Ernest & Scott Taproom Features wine, spirits, coffee and cocktails on tap! Chef Andy Matulaitis is as inventive as the writers and his creativity is evident in his menus.
We also offer catering, a spacious bar and 2 private dining areas for happy hours, business functions, holiday functions, birthdays, rehearsal dinners and more! Please contact us for more information on booking your private event!
See more Ernest & Scott Taproom details
127 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(127 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 127 reviews
5 stars
(35)
4 stars
(57)
3 stars
(16)
2 stars
(16)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(43)
  • vibrant bar scene(41)
  • neighborhood gem(31)
  • fit for foodies(22)
  • great for lunch(21)
  • hot spot(17)
Ernest & Scott Taproom Reviews List
Review 1 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

ANNIVERSARY NON-DELIGHT

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We went here for a 10 year wedding anniversary dinner. On the light side. Turns out, we should have probably gone elsewhere. The food was very good. Get the Quesadillas as an appetizer. My wife had filet. It looked great and tasted fine. I had the turkey burger. There menu isn't huge. So, if your starving be wary. We ordered drinks, but my concept of a taproom is having special beers, etc..and a lot of them. They didn't have them either. Now, the service. First, we had reservations. Useless. We could have just walked in , and eat. And we sat in the bar area. The dining area was full. So, why have reservations. What are we reserving? To eat at the bar?
Second, they only had two servers. On a Saturday night. We sat for a while before our drinks. We sat a while for the appetizers. And we sat a LONG while for our entree. At one point our waitress asked us, "So, do you guys want your bill?" What? We hadn't even gotten the food. The excuse of the night was , "Well, it's Saturday we weren't expecting a rush." Honestly, poor excuse. If your good, and you had a rush you should expect business on a Saturday night.
At one point, our waitress was server, bartender, and server for the other side of the restaurant. Not fair to her; however, if a place has you doing multiple stations you may want to rethink this place. So, we exactly didn't have the worst experience but at least the food was good. That made up for the service in some regards. Our waitress was nice, but she was overwhelmed. That's not fair to her. So, it's a place. Not the best. Not the worst. Somewhere, oddly, in between. Oh, and if your a guy, like me, the men's room is ALL the way up the steps from the ladies room on the bottom floor. Huh?? That should change."
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2016
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sea bass was great"
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 4/04/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great spot for lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We went for lunch and the service was quick and the server was very attentive. The food was good. I would definitely recommend to a coworker as a great place to have lunch."
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wonderful hidden treasure
I love it
"
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great location. Great food.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"It's close to everything. It was a bit noisy the night my family had dinner because it was an event happening at The Grand Opera House. The service was great. There was also a live band. Happy hour rates only apply if you sit at the bar."
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pleasantly surprised

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Had never been to this restaurant but like the atmosphere as soon as I walked in. Thought it would be hard to hold a conversation but it wasn't. The service was excellent. The waitress was very attentive. Got our food quickly and was able to enjoy it before the show. Thought there was a good assortment of foods for all. I was expecting typical bar food. It wasn't. Thoroughly enjoyed my eating experience"
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2009
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dinner before the show

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Six of us went to dinner before a show at the grand. Service was good and the food was good. I had the coconut shrimp and a couple of the guys got the filet. The portions were the right size."
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food before a performance.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My wife and I took a friend out for her 60th birthday. We had tickets for a performance at The Playhouse and we ate before going to the show. The beer selection was good and my wife and friend both had Cosmos that were made to their liking. Food selection was good as well and all three of us enjoyed our meals. The interior of the restaurant has high ceilings as it is the old bank lobby for Delaware Trust. It is neat to look around and see some of the symbols from the old bank. The one problem is that the noise level is high due to the high ceilings, hard floors and lack of sound deadening materials. I found myself yelling at my wife and friend. Conversations from other tables whirl around you as if there is someone right next to you but you realize that they are sitting 10 feet away. It is like the demonstration that they do at the US Capitol in the Rotunda or at Grand Central Station in NYC. It is an unfortunate distraction to a good restaurant."
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2013
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Good architecture. Vast selection of beer at a very large bar."
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/02/2016
 2010
Dined on 3/02/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/02/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 2/20/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Awful service. Our waitress had to go ask another person anytime we had a question. They had a poster with their specials on their hostess podium and the waitress didn't even know those. It turned out that they were old and did not even offer most anymore. The specials were also on the website though, which is the reason we chose this restaurant. On top of that, the waitress was rushing us so she could leave. She would come to the table every five minutes. Eventually we just decided to leave and go someplace else for more drinks. Sure enough five minutes after we paid our waitress was rushing out the door. Food was mediocre."
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/24/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The cook needs to GO !!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2016
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Who ever runs the kitchen needs HELP. Better to go to Applebees or Texas Roadhouse."
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2004
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2004
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Me and my fiancé decided to go here for Valentine's Day because we like trying new places and it had a pretty good beer list. When we had arrived for our reservation we might as well have not made one the only people in there was one guy waiting at the bar. What made us leave before ordering anything was its small menu that only had burgers and sandwiches. The restaurant was definetly didn't match what was on the menu. I really don't suggest wasting your time with this let down."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 2/06/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our service was excellent, highly recommend the Tot appetizer, very good.
Be careful of of the crab cakes, tonight the crab cakes were a lot "hotter" than expected or advertised!!!
"
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/15/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/02/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Would recommend

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My boyfriend and I went here on New Years Eve and the staff was setting up for their party so at first we had to wait to get served. Once our waiter came, Isaac, it was nothing but excellent service. We got the quesadillas that were delicious and loved the huge beer and wine list. Both entrees (pork chop and crab cake sandwich) were the perfect size and tasted amazing. Our waiter made us feel very special and was super friendly. It was a great date night spot and I cannot wait to return."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Great for lunch, lousy for dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I have had several good lunches here, so I made a reservation for a pre-theater dinner on a Sunday evening. Big mistake - they had the audio on from a football game that was so loud when we walked in, I wanted to leave. I had no idea E&S was a sports bar. Thought it would be a little classier than that, especially for dinner. The hostess said she would turn it down, since it was "between games" but it still wasn't the ambiance we were looking for. Off the bat, they did not have two appetizers on the menu (it was only 5:30 pm), and they didn't have any dinner specials because it was Sunday. Since they have such a limited dinner menu, we ended up eating sandwiches and hamburgers. I ordered the french dip sandwich - they were out of it. They also didn't have any Kahlua to make a drink (seriously? The bar had no Kahlua?). Maybe the waitress was just screwing with us - hard to tell. She seemed to think the whole thing was hysterical. We were offered dessert on the house since the evening was going so poorly. Three of us asked for the fudge cake... they only had two... had to order something else. Then the waitress backtracked and said only one dessert was on the house... since we were celebrating a birthday. She said this after we received them. Then she changed her mind and said they were all on the house... the entire experience was a total disaster. WHY is this restaurant even open for dinner???? Won't be going back any time soon! Stick to lunch service, E&S. Or do diners a favor and close on Sunday."
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very Nice Restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great pre-show dining!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Ernest and Scott's is conveniently located a block from the Grand Opera House, making it one of our "go-to" places for pre-show dinner. The food was good and our server was great. The building is beautiful, but the acoustics aren't great if you're hoping for a quiet dinner. The happy hour crowd at the bar meant it was pretty noisy. The bar is great, though, and we enjoy coming for happy hour."
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/18/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/11/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/09/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/09/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/09/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/06/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/01/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Came a bad night. They did try to apologize about a loud party with dj that was to happen. I was offered gift cards for the inconvenience.
The bartender was extremely nice and the service was quick and efficient. Would come again if I'm in the area, hopefully without a large party going on.
Not sure if it was because of the night, but was surprised they didn't offer the full menu. The bartender said it's their late night menu, a little surprised 9:15 PM would be a late night menu.
"
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2004
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Ernest & Scott Taproom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>