Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Masina Trattoria Italiana Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Masina Trattoria Italiana

Authentic Italian Cuisine
29 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(29 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
(8)
4 stars
(6)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(17)
  • special occasion(8)
  • romantic(7)
  • fit for foodies(5)
  • good for groups(4)
  • great for outdoor dining(4)
Masina Trattoria Italiana Reviews List
Review 1 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great scenic view

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurants was awesome beautiful ambience food was absolutely delicious the view of the water was great also I just wish our waiter would have not kept disappearing for long periods of time"
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Expensive and Generic/Mediocre Buffet Brunch

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We found out on arrival that they only serve a buffet brunch on Sundays, and it was about what you would expect from a hotel brunch: mildly stale pastries and deli platters, soggy trays of breakfast staples, an unstaffed omelette bar with a non-self-service golden malt waffle maker, and wilting mixed fruit- all for $25 a person, with an automatic 20% tip added for your convenience.
At least there was a scenic view of the harbor, and the waiter checked in a couple times with more coffee..."
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was ok. The food was just ok. Nice view."
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great views, Average Food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I went mostly for the location (NYC skyline). I found the food about average. Not bad, but not great. It was not overly pricey ($65 for 2 including 2 glasses of wine - no dessert)."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Italian Food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Its a good place, very good service. Good options for vegetarians ..they don't add egg in their Pizza dough thats a plus.. Very nice view of NY city."
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I chose the restaurant for its proximity to the city for guests coming across the river and because the pictures made it seem like it'd be a nice place to enjoy a dinner. I made reservations for 6:30 on a Saturday and walked in when there was a rowdy and offensive group at the bar. There were children around having dinner when there were people cursing and screaming at the bar, which is located in the center of the restaurant with only a half wall which didn't block any sound. It seemed that the only thing management did was to turn up the music and try to drown the group out. Very disappointed by their lack of response. That was my primary disappointment but I was also turned off to see that the tables were dressed with a picnic-like table cloth that made the experience feel more like a pizzeria than an Italian restaurant."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great restaurant great prices

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food, great wait staff, great view. Penne vodka with shrimp was perfect. Chicken special recommended by waiter was excellent. Good size portions. Mozzarella caprese was great. Molten chocolate lava cake was awesome"
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

1st impression, not good.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The bar was so loud that we could not hear ourselves at the dinner table. Pork chops were dry and the vodka sauce tasted chef boyrdee. Side to a pork chop dinner was lettuce and 1 cherry tomato cut in half. The restaurant was nice though. Beautiful views. Service was lacking also. Had to call the waiter to get a glass of water. Never got bread on the table. No reason to return."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I didn't know for two people you can add gratuity to the bill? Didn't even state that the gratuity was already added. felt like they thought I wasn't going to tip good so added a service charge. That just turned me off completely about this place"
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Huh?

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I went to Masina for restaurant week, made a reservation a week ahead of time. We arrived, waited about 3 minutes for our table to clear. The hostess brought both the regular menu and the restaurant week menu and strongly reminded us we couldn't mix and match. Obviously because it's restaurant week we each had our three options already selected from the provided menu. While the hostess is telling us about the "rules", our waiter came over and told us that some fryer was broken and started to list a HANDFUL of options that were not available, which included absolutely everything we planned on ordering. The waiter was extremely difficult to understand and then he walked away. We have never left a restaurant before, and this was the first time. Fortunately, we lived 10 minutes down the road and thankfully chose to drive and not get a cab because that would have been wasted money.
I called to confirm my reservation and they didn't make a mention of the broken equipment, if they had I would have happily just rescheduled.
Very disappointing. I will go back, but definitely not any time soon."
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing view, Very good service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Amazing view, Very good service, well prepared food and drink. Como was one of the best I've had and it was served in a chilled glass - nice touch :) Service was very good and food was creatively prepared. This restaurant is our go to restaurant for a special occasion."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

This review was for 2009, things may have changed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Went there for Valentine's Day. They had their Valentine's Day menu going. The food we originally wanted had been sold out. Our entrees came out and we never received our appetizers. The also did not get asked for refills on our drinks. The manager did try to make up for it by not charging for our meal, which was very nice of him, but I'm not out looking for a free meal. They even offered free desert which we declined. Just wanted to leave. Had desert elsewhere. I can only expect they have modified things since then. It was years back."
Dined on 2/14/2009
 2007
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

delicious!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"already been here twice this year, once with a big group another time with a few friends. food is delicious, drinks are reasonable, the view is amazing."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Masina Trattoria Italiana
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic